We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive positive positive ”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with my stay at the meyrick hotel galway . Warm and friendly atmostphere, accessable with someone with a guidedog, everything is just fantastic about this hotel, i couldn't fault anything. if you are coming for a stay you just have to try the scones and homemade cookies, i even brought some for the trip home, i will be coming back to this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Jackie M,

Thank you for taking time post this comment.

we are glad to see that you loved your stay with us and most certainly will pass on your compliments to our chef who bakes the Cookies and scones.

Please come for a visit once again as we will be happy to look after you.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meyrick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recently had my wedding in the Meyrick (July 18th) and myself and my new wife couldn't have been happier. The staff (Paula, Siobhan and everyone else who helped us in the build up and on the day) were fantastic, the service was superb, the room and breakfast was A1 and the food during the meal couldn't have been better. I would highly recommend the place to anyone getting married in Galway and also considering staying in Galway.
Thank you to everyone involved, made our day go so smoothly!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_shad0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear The_shad0w,

Thank you for taking time to share your Wedding experience at Hotel Meyrick with other Tripadvisor users.

It was our pleasure to look after you and your guests and we are delighted to see that we made you Big day that bit more special.

hope you had a Great time at your Honeymoon. We are looking forward to meet you for your wedding anniversary or maybe even earlier.

Kind regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

When you read a review here it is often obvious that one small thing turns average to excellent or turns average to terrible. My one small thing with the Meyrick was breakfast. Slow, limited choice of indifferent foods and poor service even from the M'd. And all setup in the basement! But I am only docking one star for that.

Front of house staff all very friendly and helpful.

Room was good but the whole place really needs decorating, housekeeping was efficient and discrete. And there is no aircon, with a busy, noisy, central location this might be a problem for some. (Also noted free standing heater in suite so winters might not be warm enough!)

Valet parking at EU5 is a snip.

I would stay again here but because of the one thing can't recommend it. Jury's Inn might be better located and benefit from a more modern design.

Room Tip: Sq View is a must, Bay View looks over railway and factories.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear hazy_amersham,

Thank you for this review. All your comments have been taken on board by our management team.

It was disappointing to read that you found our breakfast food and service quality poor, as this is not what we expect of ourselves. We will raise there issues with relevant personnel.

You comments have been duly noted, we at the Hotel Meyrick are continuously reinvesting in the product and it is always important for us to hear where guests feel we need to improve on our Décor.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope you will visit us again to see an improvement on all the points raised above.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has so many issues that it won't survive if it doesn't do something urgently. The telephone is not picked up for hours. No baggage storage facility, no option to pay by credit card at the bar unless you have a type of pay as you go top up. Our room must have been used in a previous life for vacuum cleaner storage. Met another guest after checking out who paid EUR80 for room after negotiation rather than EUR200.The breakfast in the basement is terrible such potential over lovely Eyre Square but what was most shocking is that the hotel reception staff are ashamed to work in the hotel so much so they said it's hotel managements fault and the hotels fault not theirs. The best thing about this hotel is the lovely man who works for Brinks security for the train station. He was very helpful and said no way can you leave luggage unattended in public areas of the hotel and especially without a e

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MsEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear MsEuro,

We are grateful for you taking time to write this review. We at Hotel Meyrick take all of our guest feedback in a constructive manner as without it we are at loss as to know if we provide the service we expect of ourselves. With that said we have to say that we feel that your review is not very honest.

First of all we have a very efficient team at a Front Desk and I can assure you that all phone calls are answered promptly and in a professional manner and every staff member is proud of working at Hotel Meyrick. Regarding your comment on the room rate, prices might variate depending on the room type and day of the week, but under no circumstances would there be such a big price difference on two standard rooms during Galway Race Week. Regarding the size of the room; you were made aware that the room you were getting was the last room we had to sell and that it was on the small side. We were under the impression that you understood this on the day. I would like to remind you that we did offer you a room move on the second day to a nicer and bigger room and a complimentary upgrade.

We do have luggage storage facilities for our guests if they leave their bags with us long-term otherwise we bring the bags to guests room or have them in the Reception Area which is manned at all times.
We did not understand your comments regarding the top up system in our bar as we do accept credit cards, cash and room charges as any Hotel Bar in Galway City.

We are disappointed to hear that you did not like our newly refurbished No 15 on the Square Restaurant for breakfast. But I guess it is a personal choice. It would be great if you could specify what food choices were "terrible ". Was it our cold buffet selection of Cheese,Cold Meats, Smoked Salmon, 5 different types of cereal, pastry selection,different juice variation and homemede scones/breads?Or was it our Full Irish Breakfast buffet that included bacon, sausages, puddings, grilled tomatoes hash browns and scrambled eggs? Or was it the fact that if you did not find anything to your liking at our breakfast buffet you could order directly from the kitchen?

We hope that you still did enjoy Galway as it is a beautiful city and if you ever come to visit The West of Ireland, please pay us a visit.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Meyrick, the first being last year. Everything about this place is nice - the staff particularly - and the good is excellent. We had an unexpected room upgrade, too - a superb bonus and very comfortable. Already planning the next visit...:

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank iduggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear iduggan,

Thank you once again for such a worm review of our hotel.

It is great to see that return guests once again had a great experience here at Hotel Meyrick. We were happy to have you back and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My stay here was excellent. Couldn't ask for any better. Location was great. Shops/ restaurant all walking distance.Lady at reception was very polite and check in was very quick. Also great you don't have to worry about parking car as hotel has car valeting. The room was big enough for me. Had dinner in bar and couldn't fault it and service was good. I hadn't a great view from bedroom which didn't bother me. Uses spa aswell which was great and so relaxing. However there wasn't much power from shower and room vertmy warm at night. Overall stay here was great.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Marie B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Meyrick with other TripAdvisor users.

We are delighted to red that your stay was so enjoyable, as we expect nothing less than excellent service of ourselves. Your comments have been taken on board and addressed with relevant department.

Thank you once again for your time and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent 3 very pleasant nights here and travelled out each day to visit Connemara (don't miss Clifden) and The Burren. Service was faultless, cheerful, friendly staff. Breakfast was delicious - feasted on soda bread, scrambled eggs (freshly made in the kitchen if you ask - better than from the buffet) and Galway bay smoked salmon. Highly recommended! Our room was a suite on the 5th floor, overlooking the square - a better view than the bay view, which is a bit industrial and the sea is rather distant. That said, there was noise from the square at night which didn't bother us - we enjoyed the experience of being in a lively town. There is no air con, so in warm weather you'll need the windows open. We were very helpfully provided with an extra fan.
There is an 'Executive lounge' on the 5th floor with complimentary coffee (gaggia machine) pastries ad fruit. Lots of offers at the spa but I didn't try it - seemed reasonable prices.
We didn't eat in the restaurant - Galway town is bursting with good places to eat, mostly walk in ( no reservation), great to walk out at night and hear live music everywhere. A MOST enjoyable stay at a slightly faded but fantastically friendly and helpful hotel in a brilliant location.
Valet parking at €5 per day was super - just pull up outside and the concierge arranges parking!

Room Tip: Front is noisy at night but nicer view!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMeyrickManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Anne H,

Thank you for taking time to write this review, we at Hotel Meyrick value our guest feedback and take it in a constructive manner.

We are glad that you have enjoyed so many things about our Hotel, such as prime location, excellent service and Our Spa facilities. Hopefully on your next visit you will get a chance to avail of one ( or more) of our relaxing treatments.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to be welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Meyrick
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
903 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £104 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing