We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff. Made feel very welcome”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Ire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent staff. Made feel very welcome”
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Stayed for a weekend break in the Meyrick Hotel in Galway. Staff were very professional and welcoming from those on reception to those in the restaurant and bar. They really couldn't do enough for us and it made the hotel stand out from others. It made the trip more enjoyable as you don't just want to be paying for an overnight room but a full service. Thanks Meyrick!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreMuse_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    429
    217
    107
    78
See reviews for
211
666
39
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

My 15yr old daughter and I stayed here for an overnight. On arrival our car was whisked away by a valet which was wonderful. Check in was pleasant and speedy. We were offered the service of someone bringing our bags to our room which we declined as we only had one bag each. The room was quite small for a twin double but as only there for one night it did not matter too much to us. It had everything one could need. We availed of the use of the spa on the 5th floor which was very relaxing, before we went for dinner.

We did not have dinner in the hotel as we were anxious to have a walk around Galway before having dinner out. However breakfast was absolutely delicious so I can only presume that dinner would have been the same standard.

We were able to leave our bags, securely, with reception after we had checked out and we were also able to leave our car with the hotel until we left Galway later that afternoon. There was a surcharge of five euros for the parking facility which i felt was very reasonable. Once again our car was delivered back to the front of the hotel and our bags brought out to the car. We had a lovely experience and we will most definitely return there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cailinruadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

I absolutley adore Galway and my experience at The Meryick Hotel made my visit to Galway even more special. Upon entering the hotel there was a lovely warm atmosphere there and a great felling of grandeur. This was further enhanced by the welcome we got at reception. It was quite busy there but the receptionist was extremely helpful and thoughtful towards all of the guests from what Icould see. We checked in with ease and were very entertained by the reception staff. They would certainly lift your spirits. Whe we reached th room my breath was taken away it was truly magnificent with a bathroom almost as spacious as the bedroom. It was extremely comfortable and I felt like I was in another world. The receptionist was very accomodating in organising food for us and was very helpful in recommending new places to go to in Galway. I would recommend this hotel any of my friends and would like to say a huge thanks to all the staff there who were extremely helpful and welcoming!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Booked a room for the wife and child over the phone and got a good rate for the weekend. When we arrived at the hotel, the car was whipped away and not seen again until we were leaving.
The room was perfect with a cot for junior and a nice view of the square. Experienced the sports bar downstairs for a match and the restaurant for a meal on the Saturday evening - all good.
Service was friendly and efficient - will be visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

It was a treat for my birthday and we decided to stay in the Merrick Hotel (4* luxury, spa, fancy dining - or so we thought) but boy were we dissappointed!! Arrived at reception where i got ignored for over 5 or 7 minutes because the receptionist (only one at the desk) was busy checking people in/out and answering the phone. This was a sign of how our stay was going to be. The lift was broken so we had to walk up the stairs to our room which was on the 3rd floor. The room was dated but had a nice view of Eyre Square. The bathroom, my god - the shower was a health and safety risk. The window/door of the shower which is supposed to be attached to the bath was not stuck to the bath edge so the water dripped from the shower all over the floor - it was like a swimming pool. we requested another room but they were full that weekend so they sent up extra towels and a handy man to check the shower - he could not fix it because he did not have the materials. So we had towels all over the bathroom floor the whole weekend to stop us slipping on the bathroom floor. We had a treatment booked in the spa the next day and we were to go to the 5th floor. You had to swipe your card in the lift to get up there but it wouldn't work. even the bell boy couldn't get it to work. eventually after 20mins of trying to get the lift up to where we were to have our treatments we got there. The hot tub and waiting room were disappointing. the waiting room was bright (they try to make it dark by having blinds over the windows) and wet and dirty, not relaxing at all. We had our dinner in the restaurant one night and the food was lovely. the buffet breakfast is also good. however the price of afternoon tea etc. is a rip off. Also, we had breakfast to the room one day and got charged per person €6 each ,which was confusing to us - it was not clear on the breakfast order forms if the charge stated was per person or per tray ,so we rang reception and queried this prior to ordering. we were told by the man who answered the charge was per tray (we presumed one tray for two people - how often do you see two trays comign to a room with breakfast?). However, on checkout we got charged €12 for the morning we got the breakfast to the room - we queried this with the receptionist but she would not budge, despite the fact we told her we checked with reception before ordering and were told it was €6 per tray. She said this was incorrect. Then we reminded her about our complaint about the bathroom and all she said she could do for us (after checking with her manager) was give us €5 off the car park for the weekend. The attitude to the Merrrick was disgusting, they made no effort whatsoever so please us and we told them before we left we would not be staying there again or recommending it to any of our family or friends. Would not stay here again. Terrible experience. We have stayed at a few hotels in Galway (the Harbour, The Ardiluan) and we would not recommend the Merrick at all. We go to Galway at least three times a year and had the staff at the Merrick only reached us half way we would have considered staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GmMeyrick, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, 12 February 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us in August.

All feedback, whether positive or negative is crucial to the ongoing growth of our product.

The hotel prides itself on the customer care and attention it affords to its guests and valued customers therefore it was naturally disappointing to hear the experience you had whilst staying with us.

The points you have raised have been forwarded to the relevant Heads of Departments and personnel.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the Oyster Grill Restaurant and hopefully you will dine with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

My wife and i had the most unpleasant expierance of staying at the Meyrick Hotel .On our arrival at the hotel we had a very embarrasing encounter with a receptionist who had no people skills whatsoever.Our son who is in Australia booked our stay and informed the hotel that he was paying for our stay by credit card and this was accepted,but when we were booking in the receptionist insisted we pay up front despite us explaining the situation. We were left with no option but to contact our son which was 1.30 AM in Australia,he was extremely annoyed but he rang the hotel and spoke to the manager and the situation was resolved.The following day we recieved a bottle of wine compliments of the hotel we were not told why but we presumed it was because of the missunderstanding on check in,we very graciously but unwislely accepted the gesture.At about 11.AM we noticed that our room was very cold but as we were going sightseeing this was not a problem.We arrived back at the hotel at about 2.30 PM. and to our surprise there was still no heating in our room,we waited until approximately 5.30 then rang reception and informed them of the situation,they told us [unbeliveaby] that the heating would be on shortly.By 7.00PM the heating still had not come on and as we had made plans to meet friends for dinner[at a different hotel thankfully]we had to come out of a hot shower into a freezing cold room.As we were leaving we approached reception and again asked if they would have the heating in our room checked we were assured this would be done.Upon our arrival back at our room at approximately 11.30 we were astonished to find that we had still had no heating, we contiplated leaving the hotel but after lenghty discussions we felt by leaving we would demean our sons gift so we decided to stay. We again contacted reception and were responded to by the night porter who apologised and said he would bring us up a blow heater.He arrived in less than five minutes and plugged in the appliance, he told us he could not understand why our heating was not working as there was not a problem anywhere else in the hotel.Within five minutes of him leaving our room our heating was back on which leaves me logically to believe that our heating was deliber is a true reflectionately left off possibly because of our altercation with the receptionest upon our arrival.We have made a written complaint to the manager Cian O Broin but, no surprise to us it has been totally ignored.We intend to make our complaint known to the relevent athorities and we urge anybody with a similar complaint to do likewise.I am a very proud Irishman and i am disgusted that people would think that the service and treatment dished out by this hotel is normal practice nothing could be further from the truth.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quinnersnewbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stayed at Hotel Meyrick for one night in December 2009. It was a great deal on Hotels.com. £65 B&B. Free valet parking was handy as Galway can be bit of a nightmare driving about looking for parking, so pulling up at the front door was a treat. The hotel has a great feeling about it, as though you can imagine how it was 100 years ago. High ceilings and decor to suit its age. Our room was spacious with a view over Eyre Square. Couldn't be in a more central location. Only thing was the bahroom could do with an upgrade, was a bit grubby. Bed was firm but comfortable. We had a meal in the hotel in the evening which was delicious. Breakfast was in the restaurant in the morning and didn't disappoint. Choice from a full Irish to fresh fruit, cereal, cheeses, smoked salmon, croissants, and as it was almost Christmas, the most delicious home made mince pies! Would defintately be back at Hotel Meyrick.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#30 of 46 in Galway
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing