We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime Saturday Satisfaction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Latin Quarter Bistro

The Latin Quarter Bistro
Ranked #14 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of Galway city, Latin Quarter Wine Bar & Bistro offers good quality & affordable Irish food in casual & relax surroundings. Our chef Patrick carefully sources his ingredients to create classical bistro dishes with a modern Irish twist. Our wine list mostly consists of reasonably priced European wines and a few more upmarket houses.
Balla
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime Saturday Satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I arrived at 9.30 with the intention of having a bowl of chowder which I enjoyed immensely on my last visit in May. On arrival I noticed the special of seared scallops on bacon and leek risotto and couldn't resist! A glass of prosecco was the perfect accompaniment. This was followed by a chocolate pot and espresso, simply divine . Easy to find and fabulous food and service, give Your tastebuds a treat and pop in for a glass or a bite.

Helpful?
1 Thank FaelaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    92
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As you enter this cosy bistro you feel immediatly relaxed and confortable. We ordered two fish main courses, both lovely, and we recieved two starter soups with the chef compliments. Service was excellent. We truly enjoined our time hear.

Helpful?
1 Thank serendipity054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Thank You Rebecca! Delightful Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This restaurant is a must if you are on Quay Street. The mussels are to die for. My husband had the tuna steak and it was perfect. Great wine list and super service, makes this a great place to enjoy a quiet dinner off of the noisy street. I cannot say enough about the quality and devotion put into the food by the chef, Patrick. Magnificent!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GLFCHK228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaMiton, Manager at The Latin Quarter Bistro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our bistro. We really appreciate it and are delighted you had a nice experience with us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Recently had a meal here and was very impressed with the food, service, and atmosphere. We both had crab claws to start which were excellent. For the main I had the seafood platter and my wife had the lamb. Again both were really great. One of the best meals out I've had this year and was great value in comparison to more expensive restaurants I'd usually associate with this quality of food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a small gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I had dinner here on a dreary, wet Saturday night in Galway. We had no reservation but were received graciously and seated at a window which gave us a very entertaining view of the street action. The food was outstanding as well as the service. One of the best meals we had during our Irish vacation. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeJeune_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaMiton, Manager at The Latin Quarter Bistro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Sir,

We all would like to thank you for your review. We are delighted yourself and your wife enjoyed your meal at the Latin quarter bistro. Your feedback means a lot to us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Latin Quarter Bistro also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Latin Quarter Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing