We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Race Week Delight”

The Latin Quarter Bistro
Ranked #23 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Galway city, Latin Quarter Wine Bar & Bistro offers good quality & affordable Irish food in casual & relax surroundings. Our chef Patrick carefully sources his ingredients to create classical bistro dishes with a modern Irish twist. Our wine list mostly consists of reasonably priced European wines and a few more upmarket houses.
Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Race Week Delight”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My partner and I ate here on Friday night of Galway Race Week. The Latin Quarter Restaurant was very attractive from the outside, white painted walls and flower boxes with candelabras in the window - very romantic appearance. Without a reservation we were offered a window table upstairs with view out onto Shop Street. I must say that our meal was absolutely beautiful - the recommended white wine was perfect with our fish starters and main courses. You must try the Passion Fruit Cheesecake with Granola Topping - absolutely fabulous. I am so glad to have tried this beautiful restaurant. The food was excellent, the ambiance was relaxed and romantic and the staff were really friendly and helpful - I look forward to returning when next in Galway. Geraldine (Wicklow)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    95
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent on two occasions.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've eaten here twice, both times with friends and both times the food and service have been faultless.

They have a small menu which I think is why every dish I've tried has been so good. I think the twice baked duck is the best duck dish I've ever had, it literally falls off the bone and melts in your mouth.

Nice spot for people watching. Good coffee and lovely waiting staff as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emsmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Epicurean delight ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Went here with family when we visited Galway this week from Ca, USA. Amazing food and wine ! Well worth making a reservation and enjoying the ambiance of this gem.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“right place, right price”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The most expensive restaurant of the five we ate in during our trip to Galway, but the best food, good service and located right in the heart of the pedestrianised area, where the nightly promenade during race week is worth seeing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank InningsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect birthday lunch for my friend”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I took my friend to Latin Quarter for her birthday lunch. I'd been before and it didn't disappoint. We were warmly greeted and seated.My friend had perfectly cooked sea trout and I had chowder equal to Cape Cod. Our desserts were sinfully delicious we didn't worry about calories!.Once again a delightful experience. We'll be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ffwaldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Latin Quarter Bistro also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Latin Quarter Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing