We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
“Wonderful!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our room was neat, clean, and comfortable! And Joan! A wonderful hostess who went out of her way to make sure we had clean clothes and, in spite of a busy morning, made reservations for us to take the ferry to the Aran Islands (PLUS booking us the last the room at the Pier Hotel on Inishmore). The presentation of the breakfasts (we were there for two) were the best, by far, of any we had during our three week stay in Ireland - plenty of yogurt, fruit, cereals, orange juice, and the eggs and salmon, with their topping of greens, were perfect. My husband and I would stay at the Periwinkle over and over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    32
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Tartumaa, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

It was a nice stay in a lovely house with very lovely hostess Joan. Just 10 minutes walk from city center. Lovely breakfast every morning, possible to choose between different dishes. Feels like visiting your granny. Lovely!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We've visited the Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast for the Ironman 70.3 this year and it was a wonderful Stay. The lady of the house explained the Irish history and culture to us and we had a most comfortable room to sleep. We were racing the 70.3 Ironman and Joan, the lady of the house, was with us every second. She prepared us breakfast at most inhuman early times. It has a fantastic location one row down to a beautiful coastline just a minute away. The bay has a wonderful scenery and downtown is a walking distance. On top it Joan is so well connected that she is able to arrange things for her guest, other people would hold for impossilbe. The wonderful Irish weather and landscape close by is a treat.

Room Tip: Ask Joan, what you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Joan, the owner, is a very pleasant woman who was more than helpful in everything. She helped with directions, travel arrangements, where to eat, what to see and even told us of a great show that night we would otherwise would not have known about.

Joan and her B&B are welcoming, but also let you get on with your trip. This being my first experience at a B&B, I did not once feel like I was intruding. To my surprise, there was a toilet in every room to allow more privacy.

The Periwinkle is just a short and pleasant walk from Galway city center or the Salthill area. The only issue was that pictures of the area made me think that we would have a view of the sea, but it was a block away. It was not something I missed as it was unnecessary to the overall stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuplace-Igo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Sorry folks, but our raised expectations after reading the positive reviews were not met by Joan or the Periwinkle. We had room 6 on the ground floor, where the bin had not been emptied after the previous occupants, the toilet door stuck and needed a ferocious amount of strength to open (my mum wouldn't have managed!) and the shower worked only as a hand held but you could not stand underneath it. Most surprising of all was Joan's apparent surprise when we told her about all 3 issues. The room was clean, but had a double and single bed in it so there was no room to out luggage down or sit, and guests do not have use of the lounge. Decor is a matter of choice, but the dark wood 'surround' in the room, comprising a wall-length headboard which went around the wall, accross the window at a height of about 4' was a bit weird, and shaped like 'waves' - presumably part of the 'nautical theme' of the room. We didn't share other guests' appreciation of the wonderful breakfast either - the sausages were burned and the eggs overcooked, and accompanied by the 'peep peep' of the microwave before it was brought through. Two dishes for fruit/nuts to accompany the yoghurt were empty. We'd booked for 4 nights, but left after the first, forfeiting our deposit for the remaining nights rather than stay. Sadly, we can't recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great location for city centre and Salthill. Lovely breakfast each morning. Had all the facilities, i.e. hairdryer, electric blanket, tea/coffee facilities, TV.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed with Joan in 2009, returned to stay with her in 2011 while in Galway, and will return again if we travel to Galway. She is a wonderful hostess who will help with arrangements for local tours and events. The Periwinkle is within easy walking distance of Salthill and Galway City.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy33853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#31 of 46 in Galway
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 188 in Galway
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 188 in Galway
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#20 of 188 in Galway
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawndale B&B
Lawndale B&B
#73 of 188 in Galway
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Periwinkle 14 Grattan Road Grattan Park | Grattan Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing