We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for visiting Connemara while making the most of Galway city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Magny-le-Hongre, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect location for visiting Connemara while making the most of Galway city”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I visited Periwinkle B&B with my mum and 2 daughters.The B&B's location is ideal, it's 2 mins walk to the seafront, 10 mins walk to Spanish Arch so you can walk to town without having to worry about where to park your car.
Breakfast was yum, Joan served the best porridge I ever had and there was a large menu to choose from. Joan was very friendly and helpful and even gave us scraps of bread when we were leaving so we could feed the swans & seagulls (great fun for all ages, never seen seagulls catch bread in mid-flight with such ease!)
Joan is also a fine artist so anybody with interest in painting and sugar minifigures would enjoy visiting Periwinkle.
Yes so defo would recommend it. Joan's family room is not very big and the second bed is on the small side but it was perfect for 2 adults and 2 children (9 and 11).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophdelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    32
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Everything about our stay in the Periwinkle was perfect.
Its in a quiet area, is very clean, cosy, friendly and just a short 10 min walk to city centre. The lounge and dining room were beautifully furnished and had many of Joan’s fabulous paintings on walls around the house. Our room had all we needed in it, coffee, hairdryer, tv, WiFi and the best beds of any B&B we stayed in, we even had electric blankets which I loved but had never used before!, a lovely ensuite, towels changed daily, the room even had a limited sea view! The host Joan couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were amazing and we had a choice of 7!!, (she gave us the recipe of her delicious brown bread!) Everything needed for your comfort is provided.
Joan enjoys chatting with her guests and is very knowledgeable about her locality and history, she even phoned the tourist information office for us to help us arrange a walking tour of the city as well as a ferry ride to the Aran islands. We stayed two nights and really hated to leave, because we knew every place we stayed would pale next to the Periwinkle
Thank you Joan we will be back and send our friends to you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrej C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We wished that we could have stayed longer than our two nights at the Periwinkle! It was a very clean, comfortable and convenient B&B. Joan provided us with a map and directions upon arrival and shared her favorite restaurants and pubs with us before we went out, it was just a short walking distance to the center of Galway. Breakfast was an amazing experience where Joans artistic skills made us want to photograph before our breakfast and it tasted as good as it looked and all was served in a very elegant dining room full of her wonderful paintings and amazing sugercraft flowers and figurines!. We were the last in the dining room and Joan asked if she could join us with her cup of tea, she sat and talked to us about Galway and Ireland in general, she was very interesting and knowledge and had some very amazing stories, she enjoyed her guests and it was great fun, we really enjoyed our chat and would have liked to stay longer. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Galway! We can't wait to go back some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

After a long day driving from Dublin, we arrived at the periwinkle. We were greeted? by the owner, Joan, who gave us the room by the front door. My friend, who is a little overweight, was told "Oh I guess I know who will be getting the larger bed "which was rather uncalled for. We were then told to place our breakfast order and then Joan disappeared behind a locked door never to be seen again. There was nowhere to go and the lounge was locked...could not leave because it was a long walk to city center and we were unfamiliar with the area so sat in the room and looked at each other, finally deciding to go to sleep...morning arrived and we went to bet breakfast. The door was still locked so we knocked ..bad move!!! We finally ate and left..thank goodness. Very uncomfortable very unfriendly and no wifi even though it was advertised as an amenity. Stay away..stay far away unless you like solitude in a small place.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemann25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This review is long overdue. My wife and I stayed at the Periwinkle in May, 2012 while attending the wedding of my wife's sister, after traveling from the US where we live. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel "at home". Joan made us feel as though we had "stopped in at mom's home". We even got to meet and chat with her neighbors. We highly recommend the Periwinkle to anyone wanting heart-warming, clean accomodations.

Room Tip: Tell Joan what you need, and she will provide it, if its within her ability to do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_B102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Periwinkle B & B. After a long day on the road we were greeted by Joan and it was like staying with family. The rooms were clean and comfortable....the breakfast delicious, and Joan is just a joy to be around. All our questions were answered and Joan went out of her way to help us with directions and suggestions on where to go and how to get there. It is just a 10 minute walk from town and the area is just lovely I am hoping to travel to Galway again next year and the Periwinkle will be where I stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My family and I had an incredible visit to Galway - primarily because of our stay at The Periwinkle B&B. Joan was unbelievably helpful - providing information varying from directions to the city center to tips on exploring the Cliffs of Moher to commentary on various events in neighboring areas, all of which was instrumental in informing our trip. Breakfast was great (prepared by guest chef Tom), the rooms were comfortable (ideal for resting up after a night at the bars), and the sitting area was very welcoming, full of beautiful pictures of Joan's family. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#31 of 46 in Galway
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 188 in Galway
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 188 in Galway
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#20 of 188 in Galway
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawndale B&B
Lawndale B&B
#73 of 188 in Galway
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Periwinkle 14 Grattan Road Grattan Park | Grattan Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing