We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place in a cosy city”
Review of Dun Aoibhinn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dun Aoibhinn House
Ranked #171 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy place in a cosy city”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in a single and a double room for one night at Dun Aiobhinn House. We were greeted warmly, friendly, and with much trust; we were even given a map, instructions to get to town, information on pubs with live music, and other places to see. We could drop off our luggage earlier and come get it later, without any problems. The rooms were comfortable and in a bit of an old-fashioned way very cosy. It was clean and warm and the Irish breakfast was excellent. It was a very good idea to stay there, even if only for one night, and we would definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuKo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    11
    17
    18
See reviews for
5
33
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night in January and we really liked it - charming old building, clean, a very easy walk to downtown (10 mins through a very safe area), and an amazing breakfast included. Bonus - we booked the cheapest room the day off, and were upgraded to a lovely 2 room suite with a recently renovated bathroom.
We had considered booking a guest house right in the centre of downtown, but we were so happy we didn't - it was Friday night and the whole area was teeming with "over-watered", underdressed univeristy students!
The only downside was that was cooooold! It was around 9C outside, and I'd be surprised if it were much warmer inside when we were having breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My friend and I stayed at Dun Aoibann House on a recent trip to Galway. Overall we had a charming experience at this B&B. Upon arriving we were welcomed and had help bringing our bags to the room. Additionally we were provided with a map of Galway and locations of some of the best pubs and dining. The owner also shared with us some great dining deals. The room itself was what you picture when you think B&B: cozy and timeless. If you are fond of standard hotels the room might suprise you, however we purposely chose a B&B and were thrilled by the antique furnishings and room. What is most important was all of the appliances, bathrooms, and outlets were updated and working. Also, the WIFI is excellent.
One of the best things about Dun Aiobhinn house was the provided breakfast. On economical purposes alone, breakfast in Galway could easily cost you 10 Euro so a meal included is nice. Additionally, for the international traveler curious to try a traditional Irish breakfast this provides and excellent opportunity to do so. However, if not everyone in your party is interested in a hot breakfast that have several continential options available.
The only downside of the B&B was potentially the location. It was a little further out from downtown than the maps indicated. You can be garunteed pretty much a 10-25 minute walk to anywhere. However, if you don't mind walking it is a great deal compared to some of the more centrally located places.
Overall, I would reccomend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josalyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed 3 night in Dun Aoibhinn House and all in all had a great experience. We were told there wouldn't be no breakfast, wrong. There IS a breakfast, and really good one.
Our room was cozy (I especially liked the wooden floor and the shape of the windows). Jim was very friendly and helpful.
One more thing: the location is just perfect. You're close enough to centrum (5-10 mins by walking) but far away enough to have a good night sleep.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkeri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in downstairs room. Room was clean and good size although slight smell of cigarettes. Great location for exploring the city. Jim and staff were very friendly and provide a good breakfast. Would stay again if we were visiting Galway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Anse au Clair, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Clean, close to town, good parking, excellent breakfast. Jim very friendly and helpful - loads of local tips. Caroline who does the breakfast etc likewise very helpful and friendly. We stayed for 4 nights, our friends 3 nights and all enjoyed our stay very much. Useful tip! If you wish to leave in the morning pay up the night before. It's not being unfair to Jim to suggest he's not an early riser!

Room Tip: Small doubles are small (exactly as the name suggests) two people my like to consider the larger dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandKWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at Dun Aoibhinn House in December 2011. Jim, the owner, has been doing lots of renovations on the place, bringing the place up to date. We stayed on the ground floor in a very clean and modern room- flat screen TV, updated bathroom (I am a real stickler for a clean bathroom and it was spotless), comfortable large bed. Jim is a great guy- very friendly and has valuable knowledge of the city. We had studied at the University a couple years prior and know the city well, and yet he still gave us great tips about those hidden gems that have the best Guinness around and live jazz. Definitely take the time to chat with him, he's awesome. We also just chose to have some cereal at the B&B one morning, then ate in town for breakfast all the other days, so Jim was nice enough to knock some money off our bill. Very fair, and something you'd never find in the U.S. :)

If you aren't familiar with Galway, just note that it is more like a 10-15 min walk to town, but a very lovely walk at that. Dun Aoibhinn is a bit removed from the hustle and bustle in a safe/residential area.

Can't wait to see the house completed with renovations! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meaghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#31 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
#133 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sliding Rock
The Sliding Rock
#51 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#147 of 186 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#24 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Aoibhinn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Aoibhinn House

Property: Dun Aoibhinn House
Address: Dun Aoibhinn 12 Saint Mary's Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dun aoibhinn house is a beautifully restored period style residence in Galway city. It is located within 5minutes walk of the city centre and within 5 mins walk to the beach in Salthill, National university of Ireland(nuig)and university college hospital Galway(uchg)Dun aoibhinn house is an ideal base from which to enjoy the capital of the west and its beautiful surroundings,enjoy the wonderfull shopping on offer, go to the theatre, museum, relax and enjoy a meal in one of the citys fantastic restaurants,or visit any of the numerous city pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dun Aoibhinn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing