We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renivated and cleaned.”
Review of Dun Aoibhinn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dun Aoibhinn House
Ranked #173 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Hostel level is exactly what we thought of this B&B as mentioned in an earlier review. Carpeting is worn and dirty, dirt on wood floors and baseboards, bedspread looked dingy and old, bed looked lumpy, and power cords were strewn about in view. We decided to forego our deposit and stayed in a hotel nearer to Quay Street for the same price, cleaner, nicer and we were much happier.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This isn't a typical guest house. If you think of it more on a hostel level, it's a quiet place to sleep, shower, and get a basic breakfast. As a guest house/B&B, it's lacking in cleanliness, comfort, amenities, good plumbing, and professionalism.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Packlighttravelright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A friendly welcome by the owner and the price reasonable for Galway hotels, an easy walk to the main part of town. But our double room was a cramped corner with a view of the untended back yard and cluttered tool shed. Need some sheep to mow the grass. Room full of bed. Hard for two people to dress at the same time. Closet (open) blocked by the dresser where the little fridge hung cords in mid air. The bathroom was clean and updated. Sheets on the bed were crisp and clean. The floor needs work and a good cleaning throughout. A less than average "full Irish breakfast" offered. Instant coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed at this B&B for three nights and it was an enjoyable stay. The host, Jim, is very friendly. The B&B is not far from the city centre and is in the university/hospital area of the city. It is not far from the promenade. My room was clean and I liked the relaxed nature of this B&B. The cook was sick, so there was no cooked breakfast, but there were still plenty of continental options to choose from and Jim reduced my bill. A very nice stay and I would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in a single and a double room for one night at Dun Aiobhinn House. We were greeted warmly, friendly, and with much trust; we were even given a map, instructions to get to town, information on pubs with live music, and other places to see. We could drop off our luggage earlier and come get it later, without any problems. The rooms were comfortable and in a bit of an old-fashioned way very cosy. It was clean and warm and the Irish breakfast was excellent. It was a very good idea to stay there, even if only for one night, and we would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuKo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night in January and we really liked it - charming old building, clean, a very easy walk to downtown (10 mins through a very safe area), and an amazing breakfast included. Bonus - we booked the cheapest room the day off, and were upgraded to a lovely 2 room suite with a recently renovated bathroom.
We had considered booking a guest house right in the centre of downtown, but we were so happy we didn't - it was Friday night and the whole area was teeming with "over-watered", underdressed univeristy students!
The only downside was that was cooooold! It was around 9C outside, and I'd be surprised if it were much warmer inside when we were having breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My friend and I stayed at Dun Aoibann House on a recent trip to Galway. Overall we had a charming experience at this B&B. Upon arriving we were welcomed and had help bringing our bags to the room. Additionally we were provided with a map of Galway and locations of some of the best pubs and dining. The owner also shared with us some great dining deals. The room itself was what you picture when you think B&B: cozy and timeless. If you are fond of standard hotels the room might suprise you, however we purposely chose a B&B and were thrilled by the antique furnishings and room. What is most important was all of the appliances, bathrooms, and outlets were updated and working. Also, the WIFI is excellent.
One of the best things about Dun Aiobhinn house was the provided breakfast. On economical purposes alone, breakfast in Galway could easily cost you 10 Euro so a meal included is nice. Additionally, for the international traveler curious to try a traditional Irish breakfast this provides and excellent opportunity to do so. However, if not everyone in your party is interested in a hot breakfast that have several continential options available.
The only downside of the B&B was potentially the location. It was a little further out from downtown than the maps indicated. You can be garunteed pretty much a 10-25 minute walk to anywhere. However, if you don't mind walking it is a great deal compared to some of the more centrally located places.
Overall, I would reccomend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josalyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
5.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
950 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,804 reviews
2.5 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Aoibhinn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Aoibhinn House

Address: Dun Aoibhinn 12 Saint Mary's Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £41 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dun aoibhinn house is a beautifully restored period style residence in Galway city. It is located within 5minutes walk of the city centre and within 5 mins walk to the beach in Salthill, National university of Ireland(nuig)and university college hospital Galway(uchg)Dun aoibhinn house is an ideal base from which to enjoy the capital of the west and its beautiful surroundings,enjoy the wonderfull shopping on offer, go to the theatre, museum, relax and enjoy a meal in one of the citys fantastic restaurants,or visit any of the numerous city pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dun Aoibhinn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing