We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #58 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed just one night passing through Galway. A pleasant enough B&B away from the bustle of life. The breakfast room was overcrowded when we ate, but there was a real effort to make breakfast a pleasant start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    92
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
116
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were a family of four touring Ireland. We stayed in the "Chateau" in back because it was larger and had a washing machine. We found our room and Amber Hill in general to be clean and well cared for, and the staff was quite helpful. We had a rental car so the location was very good, not too far from the city center and with easy access to major roads. Parking was quite convenient. We liked that breakfast was an add on since we are a family of late sleeping cereal eaters and we could get coffee from the machines in the sitting rooms. This helped keep our cost down.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WorldOysterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallai, Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were impressed by the thought that had gone into the design of the property. Excellent in all respects. The comfort and décor was great. Free wifi is essential today and was easily accessible in our room. Coffee machines in the sitting rooms were a great touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny57218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Jenny,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Whatever happened to the good old Irish B&B? When checking in we were greeted by a foreign lady (possibly eastern European) who just lacked the warmth and friendly personality that the Irish are famous for. If you want to experience the Irish hospitality stay somewhere else.

The location is in a rough neighbourhood next to what looked like council flats. A taxi to city centre is approx €10. The room was adequate but shabby and dated. Wallpaper peeling off the walls, and stains on the walls. Bathroom basic and could do with a proper clean. Bed linen and towels again well used / worn. Room was small with stained furniture. Shower was adequate but took almost 5 minutes to heat up. Would never stay here again and could not possibly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redwineIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

They provided clean lodging, an excellent breakfast and a personal touch when needed. A very extensive and comfortable common area. We had a rental car so location, being a bit from downtown, was no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wolfmtnctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nice bed and breakfast, well-kept, clean and friendly, helpful staff. Nice to have coffee and tea etc. available during the day. Good breakfast and good location, although initially it's difficult to find without the aid of a good map or a GPS.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gerryrickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Gerry,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Galway Bay and restaurants are within walking distance. Buses to the city centre are close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Paul,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Heights Guesthouse
Amber Heights Guesthouse
#98 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#24 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: Amber Hill 12 Bishop o'Donnell Road Cuan Glas | Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Hill is one of the best guesthouses in the Galway area. We always go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hill b&b
Amber Hill Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing