We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #53 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Clean, modern, comfortable b&b. excellent location. Staff extremely friendly, professional and helpful. Such good value for money, can't believe my luck. Would recommend it to anyone and book it again myself in a heartbeat :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Aoibheann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    92
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
69
116
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast while on a 10 day tour of Ireland. We will always remember this place--we felt welcomed from the time we entered. We had a room on the 2nd floor---it was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. It was a small room, but one where you didn't feel cramped. Nice view from our window, overlooking the street---very quiet and peaceful. There were warm and inviting sitting areas with a fireplace, TV and videos. The breakfast was very good and cooked to order, with an array of pastries, cereals, fruits, and condiments. I would definitely recommend the Amber Hill B&B. WE stayed at several B&B's and this one comes to my mind when I think back on where I would want to stay again. Nice job!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clayjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I booked two nights at the Amber Hill B&B based on good reviews I had read here and on other review sites and was bitterly disappointed. The rooms are neither clean ( if you bother to look beyond the surface) nor well maintained. Broken window locks, broken shower head, cement cracked away in between tiles, mouldy edges in the bathroom, rusty radiator knobs. Dead bugs in the lamp shade. The beds are oldish, worn out and give a back ache. The room was very cold, so I begged the staff to crank up the central heating - but they were either not willing or able to do so. There was a dusty old electric radiator that made the air unbearably dry. The worst was probably the bathroom - low water pressure and the water (especially from the shower) had a really nasty, mouldy smell. Bad B&B for people with respiratory allergies, asthma etc. We decided to not take showers and washed our faces only reluctantly. After the first night we wanted to move out but couldn't because the whole town was booked out. Another unpleasant fact, housekeeping dumps the "fresh linen" straight on the corridor floor..

Room Tip: I've seen two rooms from the inside, they were both really not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ANym0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Palmas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

With a modern and elegant decoration and plenty of complimentary services, this Bed and Breakfast is the perfect accommodation for an in-depth exploring of the beautiful west coast of Ireland.
The staff is helpful, and the price is reasonable. The breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YerayDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed just one night passing through Galway. A pleasant enough B&B away from the bustle of life. The breakfast room was overcrowded when we ate, but there was a real effort to make breakfast a pleasant start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were a family of four touring Ireland. We stayed in the "Chateau" in back because it was larger and had a washing machine. We found our room and Amber Hill in general to be clean and well cared for, and the staff was quite helpful. We had a rental car so the location was very good, not too far from the city center and with easy access to major roads. Parking was quite convenient. We liked that breakfast was an add on since we are a family of late sleeping cereal eaters and we could get coffee from the machines in the sitting rooms. This helped keep our cost down.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WorldOysterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallai, Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were impressed by the thought that had gone into the design of the property. Excellent in all respects. The comfort and décor was great. Free wifi is essential today and was easily accessible in our room. Coffee machines in the sitting rooms were a great touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny57218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Jenny,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#18 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Heights Guesthouse
Amber Heights Guesthouse
#96 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#29 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: Amber Hill 12 Bishop o'Donnell Road Cuan Glas | Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Hill is one of the best guesthouses in the Galway area. We always go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hill b&b
Amber Hill Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing