We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special 9th Birthday Celebration”

White Gables Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 503 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$59
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving the Galway community for over twenty years, White Gables specialises in traditional cooking with a modern flair. Visitors to this atmospheric restaurant are guaranteed the greatest experience in every way: service, comfort, hospitality and plenty of good classically cooked sumptuous food. Mains include grilled rib-eye steak with pepper sauce, or, one of the most popular dishes on the menu, traditional lip-smacking crispy roast half duckling with orange sauce. Fish is also a speciality here with timeless classics featuring such as, Sole on the Bone, Scallops Mornay and many other favourites, depending on market availability. Wines are hand-picked by Ann herself with choices to suit every pocket, and a great selection of half bottles too. Prices are matched to suit all budgets. A set menu is available every evening, with plenty of choice and two courses cost just €30 per person, with four courses at €38 per person. A la Carte dining is also an option. Located in Moycullen, 8km from Galway, White Gables Restaurant , Enjoy…from White Gables food shop and Enjoy…More cafe were established by Anne and Kevin Dunne, in a cottage dating back to the 1920s. White Gables is recommended by Good Food Ireland, Bridgestone Guides, Georgina Campbell’s Ireland and Lucinda O’Sullivan’s Little Black Book.
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We visited the White Gables on Friday evening to celebrate a 9th birthday, and all of us had a wonderful evening. The food was absolutely amazing, and Ann ensured that the Birthday Girl was made to feel very special!

Starters were Lobster Cocktail, Crab Claws and Deep Fried Brie, all of which were excellent. The Birthday Girl followed up with Rib Eye Steak (perfectly sized for a 9 year old), two of us had the Rib Eye of Veal which was really tender and delicious, and the others had Turbot and Black Sole, which were also pronounced delicious. Portions were so generous that we were not able for dessert, but a ‘Happy 9th Birthday’ plate arrived for Beth with ice-cream, gingerbread girl, chocolate and candles, making her evening complete!

We had a fantastic time, and all 5 of us agreed that we will be back to celebrate the next occasion. Thank you so much Ann, Kevin and team for a very special evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clairec13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thrilled that the evening was a success – we try to make everyone feel special.
Come back again soon
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Found this little gem of a restaurant just outside Galway. I just could not believe the quality of the food on offer, I had smoked black pudding with scallops, followed by grilled rib eye of veal; that cut like butter. I then washed it down with fresh fruit pavlova and homemade strawberry ice cream. The food was that good that I returned to their adjoining cafe next door for breakfast the following day and purchased some treats to take home with me from their shop; including their own White Gables brown bread, which had been served at the dinner table.
Lovely rustic decor with friendly staff, do not miss the opportunity to experience this restaurant if you are in the area - definitely returning in the future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 309MrsKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Delighted you found us and took the time to tell everyone here. We really do appreciate the effort you made.
Hope to see you back again soon
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had dinner in White Gables in Moycullen last night - could not be faulted. I had smoked black pudding with scallops and then a very generous portion of turbot in a Martini cream sauce. Very good food indeed, and presented with impeccable service. The other three people in our group also enjoyed their meal. Would recommend without any reservations. A local gem that has a lot of return trade

Thank zippyfromrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Your recommendations are humbling. Thank you so much for posting here.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent food and service. Raises Galway further up the ratings by serving great seafood and filet steak. Duck is popular and also fresh lobster. Wine selection fits food selection and there is possibility of a 'pint'. Staff are friendly and very efficient. Aperitif is served in small bar area before your are invited into beautifully decorated dining room, typically brimming with happy, talkative frequently local customers - booking is essential in peak season. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Railwayman024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

You have it in a nutshell- what we strive to achieve. Many thank for posting this review- it is much appreciated.

-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

There can be no better Restaurant in Ireland. From the moment you walk through the door to the time you leave everything is just perfect. Super Menu with something to suit everyone's taste. Food preparation and presentation is superb. Friendly and very professional Team. I could go on and on. A must return. 12 out of 10 to Anne, Kevin and all the Team.

Thank gakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We are humbled by your words. Many thanks for taking the time to tell us what you think of our restaurant.

-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Gables Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to White Gables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing