We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of McDonagh's

McDonagh's
Ranked #36 of 467 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mc Donagh's have been tantalising the taste buds of both Visitor and Local for four generations. The Family knowledge of Fish and dedication to their customers has earned them the reputation of being one of Ireland's best Seafood's Houses. Mc Donagh's is divided into two sections: In the Seafood Restaurant you will find a great variety of fish dishes on our menu. From native Clarenbridge Oysters, Salmon, Crab, Scallops,Prawns, Hake, Lemon Sole, Plaice, Haddock, Wild Mussels and Ray. Smoked Salmon from Connemara and whatever else the Fisherman can get his hands on. A new addition to our menu is Irish Rib Eye Steak from Mc Geough's Butchers Oughterard Co. Galway. In our Fish & Chips Bar the fish is cooked to order, and you are guaranteed the freshest of Chips, as our potatoes are peeled and cut on the premises. Our Fish & Chips can be eaten on the premises or taken away, we also have outside seating during the summer months.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
207 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Decent fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

fish was fresh and you had plenty of choices. Good place to go if you want fish and chips but that is really all they have.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank misterjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    680
    268
    83
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great fish, busy atmosphere, worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We ate at the restaurant part (there is also a take away part). We were seated after a few minutes and service was very nice and fast. We had the grilled mackerel which was outstanding and oven baked trout which was also good. chips were good and the guinness fresh and cold.
The prices are very good and I will be back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Delitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Taaaaaasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Really nice fish & chips!! tables aren't great. Everyone has to sit down together at the same tables. But the food is good for a fast food restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marbar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best mussels and fish in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I was shocked to read the reviews of this place. Maybe they are expecting too much. As the title said its simply the best and I did eat my way across the country.

This was a great stop. I suppose it can change daily as with the catch of the day. Perhaps I just went on the best possible day.

The stay were busy but friendly.

As far as the seating, yes it is limited, but you can find a seat. Sometimes it will require you to talk to people with empty seats, but that us definitely a way to meet new people.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I ate here last month will my family. We hadn't been there in years so were curious to go back. We were very disappointed. You have to queue for the restaurant part of the place as opposed to the fish & chip part where you just grab a place at the table. There was a man on his own occupying a table for 6 while we waited for a table for four. We persevered though and eventually got a table. I ordered mussels and have never had such sad, tiny mussels in my life. There were so small and shrivelled with hardly any sauce. Won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chocwaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McDonagh's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to McDonagh's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing