We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet Graduation Night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar

Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #73 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We at Vina Mara are dedicated to providing a friendly dining experience in Galway. All our menus are created using fresh Irish produce and an excellent selection of wines. Our aim is to create great food at great value prices and a warm friendly service for all of our customers. We are open Monday to Saturday for lunch and dinner. On Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evening all our main courses are just €10. Great quality, great service, great value.
Kilkenny
1 review
“Gourmet Graduation Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

As a party of 9, reduced from the original booking of 12 due to no-shows, there was some confusion and delay about seating us, however once we had our table the night went swimmingly.

Orders were taken quickly and very professionally and despite the busy night, with great humour and friendliness. As ours was a late booking, 8:30pm, some main courses were not available but this still left us with decent a choice of some very, very good food.

The lamb-shank was meltingly delicious, the 10oz steaks, each cooked perfectly to order, were superb, the ham hock was very good as were all the dishes ordered from the a la carte menu. We also ordered some extra side dishes.

We had two bottles of the house Merlot, glasses of rose, a house Cabernet Sauvignon, and house white, sparkling water and the iced-water jugs on the table were replenished swiftly.

Nine desserts and three coffees later we got the bill which we rounded up to €240 in total or a bit less than €27 per head including service and our tip.

Great value, great food, wonderful atmosphere and brilliant staff. A winner on all counts in my book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calves_Uncle_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    140
    42
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value set menu and food quality very high”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I had my stag night meal here during the galway races this August. We had an excellent meal here and were very well looked after. We had the set menu for 2 sharing a bottle of wine for 10 of us. The service was top drawer and they were very accommodating keeping a main dish warm for a late guest. Couldn't fault food or service, can confidently recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NonnoandNonna_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level Contributor
358 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Really interesting menu with loads of options!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Ate here recently with a group of friends and really enjoyed the meal. The menu had some great choices and the Specials were really different. Ordered the Wild Venison and it was delicious. Sampled some of the other main courses and none of them disappointed. Very good offers available also. Only thing that I wasn't mad about was the Frozen Cocktail for dessert - found that it had way too much sugar so couldn't really eat it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Portions are plenty big enough also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food with friendly service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Was in town for a couple of days and we went there TWICE! Sirloin Steak was excellent. So was the Tiger Prawn Spaghetti. 2-Course Set Meal for 20 Euros before 7pm (w extras for certain main courses) is good value for $$$. Will go back again if I'm back in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarod999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value, Quality Food and a Warm Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We often dine in Vina Mara and have sampled their lunch and evening menus. We like it because it is a proper restaurant which is friendly and down to earth but consistent and professional. Food is presented to a very high standard with generous portions. Some starters are particularly filling and could easily pass as main courses. Wine is served by the glass, carafe and bottle and there is a good choice with sensible prices. With Milano, Cava and Da Tang within immediate proximity Vina Mara compares very favourably on price in general with some very good deals at lunchtime in particular. Service is attentive, with a warm welcome for return diners.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peregrinatio_IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing