We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

stayed for 2 nights really enjoyed it the hotel was really nice and very comfortably when we got there it was late and were upgraded to a larger and more upmarket room it was beautifull
everything about the room was lovely encluding the bed the food was fab also on the morning we were leaving we decided to have breakfast in room of all the hotels we have stayed in and had room service in it was the hottest food we ever received in the room .all the staff were very helpful and friendly .i would really recomend to our friends and families to stay there also we got a good deal price wise,and hopefully we will be back again in sept or oct .thanks

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleenryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,399 - 1,405 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here with my wife for one night. Very nice room- executive style- breakfast was buffet and very tasty. Staff friendly and eager to please. All in all a nice hotel convenient to shopping centre (Briarhill) if you have forgotten anything. Out of the madness of Galway city centre traffic- a major plus!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Custardx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during the Galway races. It's a fantastic hotel with friendly staff and a great breakfast. After the races there's live music and extra bars open at the hotel creating a great atmosphere. Clean, good sized rooms. Some with views, or balconies. Restaurant served good food. Expensive but was expected during the races.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egb884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Aussies travelling & found this hotel on Laterooms. Very large hotel on busy road just outside Galway. A hotel that knows what a disability bathroom really is. I need this for reduced mobility. Clean rooms & good size, large, very high bed. Staff efficient & friendly. Very noisy room with party going till early hours in carpark. A busy hotel, especially on a Saturday night, which meant you had to fight for a table in the bistro & have breakfast early to avoid the rush.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canberra39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Group of four down for the Galway races. We arrived early and were given a suite to get changed in and reception held our baggage until we returned from the races that evening. We were very grateful for this. We asked for rooms that were ajoining ( we could open a door within the rooms and to get from each others room without going outside) we didn't get this even though it was requested at booking,it was slightly awkward as we were two males and two females, one a couple and one not a couple! We soon got over this though. The rooms were lovely, bathroom spacious. The water in the sink did smell slightly though?! The boys used the leisure facilities, they were pleased with it. We ate in the restarant, it was fab. Everyone enjoyed there meals. The hotel itself at night was very quiet even though there was a massive crowd for the races. We all enjoyed and would recommend a stay in the Clayton.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaoisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

if your looking for a hotel that has extremely noisey rooms - located on an industrial park, next to a major road interchange, 8km from galway centre, with exremely discurtious staff then this is the hotel for you

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
8  Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here on the Sunday and Monday of the August bank holiday. We knew the hotel was out of town and we were happy to drive into the city (about 15 minutes). The room was lovely - modern and bright and spotlessly clean. And the bed was fantastic! It was really high and the mattress and pillows were sooooo comfy. We had great sleeps. Air con came in useful as it was very humid. Our room was very quiet and there was no door slamming or neighbouring room noises (which is a big plus for me). The interactive tv with a choice of pay-per-view movies is also a nice touch.

The gym was disappointing. It is a small room with some aerobic machines and weight equipment and a CD player playing in the corner. And the pool was very narrow - probably two lanes.

The food in the hotel was good - especially the dinner, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We were not affected by it, but noticed the long queues into breakfast if you came down near the end of the service time on both mornings. On the second morning, the queue was almost to the top of the stairs when we left the restaurant. Also, at dinner, it took 30 minutes from when our starter was finished to when our main course arrived, which we thought excessive.

Housecleaning left an empty shower gel bottle in the bath and didn't remove the newspapers I left by the door, which I found unusual.

The most important things for me in a hotel in a nice room and good food and the Clayton delivered on both scores. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicnac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear nicnac37,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I really do appreciate your detailed feed back as I think it will be useful in helping us improve both our product and service. Certainly you've raised some valid points which I will be discussing with my management team and I hope that on your return visit you will notice a marked improvement in the service times in the restaurant.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,245 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing