We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed their with my husband he went there on business two years ago and thought I would like it. The hotel itself is very modern clean and bright staff are very friendly and helpful it has a swimming pool steam room sauna and gym which were ace, I always use them if the hotel has them. It also has a very good car park.

Our room was very nice we were on the fourth floor which was more like a studio flat,it was very big with modern we had a balcony as well to watch the world go by, a massive bathroom which I would love to have in my own home, a sitting area and massive soft bed all was extremely comfortable the room was never cold or too hot the cleaning staff left it looking like new every day.

The food at the hotel was great, especially breakfast buffet (I love soda bread now) with a wide choice of hot and continental foods

Thank you for having us we look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra for the 4 Th. floor it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    601
    221
    63
    35
See reviews for
423
656
60
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Friendly staff, large clean room, in a nice neighborhood. The only shortcomings are the location - we had to take a cab into town and breakfast is not included.

Overall, a good value for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RShekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slieverue, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Both my partner and I stayed in the Clayton Hotel for a weekend break, the hotel is located outside Galway City (approx 2 miles). Taxi costs €10 into the City. This hotel is really nice, the decor is modern, bright and open. Our room was large and very cosy, Our bed was very comfortable (memory foam). It also had a small balcony. Breakfast is buffet style with a variety of delicious food. I would definitely recommend The Clayton Hotel and will also be booking it again for our next visit to the amazing city. Galway is a must see City and the Clayton is excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieArdfert_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Clayton Hotel Galway in June 2013. There were 2 adults and 2 teenagers in our group. This Hotel was very clean the food was lovely especially in the bar. It's outside the city but the bus stop is right outside the hotel, so you have the benefit of being away from all the hussle of the city yet you can be there within 15 minutes. There is a small shoppin area across the road with Dunnes stores and other small shops. The pool area is lovely and very well cared for.
We will return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollycat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templepatrick, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I booked a two night over 55's deal which was to include 2 dinners. The telephone booking was very satisfactory and check- in welcoming. We were informed that as the Dining Room was not being used we would be served dinner in the Bistro Bar and we were given a complimentary voucher for afternoon tea and scones. which we used shortly after arrival. This was beautifully served and our first impression of the hotel and staff was very positive.
When were arrived down for dinner it soon became obvious that the Bistro Bar was almost full and we had difficulty getting a decent seat. The menu was good but it appeared that the waiting staff were overwhelmed by the number of diners and the service was very slow. The vegetables were cold but were replaced upon request. The staff were apologetic about the situation and said it was because the dining room was not in use although no one could offer an explaination why this was so!
The following morning we went to the reception desk to book dinner for that evening and told the receptionist about our experience of the previous evening and she appeared to be most sympathetic and said she would speak to the Manager when he came in about the matter and see what could be done.

When we arrived down for dinner the situation was even worse than the previous evening. We were shown to the last available seat under a TV on which the Man Utd,V Liverpool soccer was being shown. The sofa type seats were far too low for eating comfortably and the noise was intolerable. The service was so slow and although the waiters were polite and apologetic we did not enjoy the meal. We were offered a complimentary drink before leaving but we were so fed up by this time that we did not accept this.
The staff were all very polite and friendly,the hotel clean,leisure facilities limited but adequate for numbers using them. It is such a pity that the dining experience on both evenings spoiled the break and disappointing that there has been no satisfactory response from senior management.

Room Tip: Our room on 2nd floor was very well equipped , comfortable & Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleHarris, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Harry M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. The dining experience for many of our guest contributes to the overall enjoyment of their stay. I am sorry to hear that we could not make this enjoyable for you. The feedback we receive from our valued guest, like you, enables us to identify areas that are of concern to our guest and I can assure you that the restaurant opening times are being reviewed by the management team. It was unfortunate that during your visit our restaurant was closed and you had to dine in the Bistro Bar, which at times do get very busy for dinner. However this should not have affected the service you receive.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clayton Hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit to Galway.

Kind regards
Dale Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is appears to be a recently built Commercial hotel on the outskirts of Galway.
It is clean, quiet and the perfect place to start exploring Galway and the surrounding district.
The staff are so helpful and go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible
The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated and the beds make for a perfect nights sleep.
As for the food I could have eaten everything on the menu and the presentation is exactly what you would expect from a quality hotel.
I stayed there for 6 days on business and I am determined to return and bring along my wife so that she too can enjoy that beautiful Irish Hospitality.

Room Tip: From what I saw if all of the rooms on the second floor were as good as mine they will all be perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleHarris, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Allan S

Thank you for taking the time and write a review about The Clayton Hotel and making us aware of your delightful experience. We all like to receive an acknowledgement of such positive nature. It is truly rewarding when our guest recognise the efforts of our staff. Once again thank you for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your family in the future.

Kind regards
Dale Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week for a 3 night mid week break. The staff were very friendly and helpful from check-in to check-out and everything in between. The food was superb for breakfast and dinner with great choice. The rooms are immaculate and spacious. Location is great for all activities in and around the city. The City Centre is approximately 10/15 mins drive and just 12 euro by taxi.

I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing