We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayton Hotel Galway
Nearby Hotels
US$142
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Salthill Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ardilaun Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,059)
Filter reviews
2,059 results
Traveller rating
1,024
664
250
74
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,024
664
250
74
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstribes restaurantdunnes storescity centrenice hotelbar foodbus serviceexecutive roomleisure facilitiestop classbusy roadhotel barbus stopkids clubfamily roomenjoyable staywould highly recommend this hotelhen party
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,181 - 1,186 of 2,059 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

JUst writing this review to hopefully wake up the catering staff in the clayton,,,ive had dinners in the clayton numerous times in the last year and the food was absolutely delicious when i got it right,...the third last time i decided to treat myself to dinner in the bar there though i got scalding hot reheated food which from the taste of it had been cooked around two and reheated in a microwave when i had arrived at around 7.30pm....that isnt acceptable considering the beef dinner wasnt exactly a cheap option...i was back in galway again afew months later and was hungry so said id give them another chance...and this time the food was fine...no complaints at all...back in for another treat again recently and this time i got a pretty poor dinner again..and some of the garnish on the side was actually stale!!.there was no care or effort put into the dinner..if i had attempted to make it myself at home it would have been way nicer.....and that should never be the situation...i dont treat myself to dinner out too often and when i do eventually afford to treat myself out i expect the place to put in a good effort,,,

the hotel needs to address this issue as they cant afford to offer this standard of food to the public and its going to drive away lots of potential returning customers like myself who is goin to find it hard to justify spendin my hard earned cash there after the last experience

the hotel itself is lovely and the people serving are lovely....so why let the experience down by not ensuring top class food is served all the time there...please guys..address this issue

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleHarris, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear p b,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent dining experience in the Clayton Hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will help assist us in our continuos efforts to maintain and improve the level of service we aim for. It is dissapointing to hear that the last time you dined with us the quality of food was not satisfactory. I appreciate that you brought this matter to our attention and we will be working to maintain a consistent level of service and quality of food that we provide to our guest.
Once again thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dale Harris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 days on our anniversary trip to Ireland. We stayed in their suite and it was amazing and huge. The bathroom was so spacious. The staff at the reception were very friendly. The breakfast every morning was fresh and lots of option. We had a fantastic stay here and would recommend to everyone. It is only 10mins from Galway city and 1hr from Cliff of Moher and other attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I just spent 12 days at the Clayton and was very pleased with the stay. The room was an excellent size and with just about everything that I would want in a room (a fridge would have made it perfect). The breakfast had what I like and the food in the pub was just right. When the dinning room was open on the weekend I had one of my best diners. The front desk people were always available, fast, professional, and a pleasure to deal with. I felt very spoiled by the great treatment. :-)

Room Tip: I only stayed in one of the rooms (322) so I can't comment on the others, but I would pick the room that I had again.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

just returned from staying here on a package deal for 2 nights bed breakfast and dinner , hotel was clean , rooms were clean comfy bed and good size tv, staff were very friendly and helpful , and food was very tasty , wasnt expecting much as part of a package but was pleasantly surprised food was very tasty. we went to pool as well to get rid of the cobwebs , little on the small side but ya can get over that ! we got engaged here on our stay and i was given some flowers by my fiance with a lovely vase as a memento which i forgot :( weve emailed hotel but they have not gotten back to us , will be really disappionted if we cannot arrange something :(.

Room Tip: we were on the left of hotel view of the back of apartments , were we witnessed some domestic violence , not nice . prob best staying on main hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleHarris, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Shivtullamore,
Firstly I would like to congratulate you on your engagement and we at the Clayton Hotel wish you the very best. I am sorry to hear that you did not hear back from us regarding the flower arrangment that was left behind form your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this matter further.
Thank you for writing the review and let us wish you everlasting happiness from all here in the Clayton Hotel
Kind Regards
Dale Harris
Guest Relations Manager
dale.harris@clayton.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just had 3 nights here with a tour group.A large hotel and busy. My room overlooked road at the back and you could here the traffic but it wasn't too bad. Our rooms were off to the left after reception and there was only 1 lift. The bedroom was large and cool, not happy having two adjoining doors in my room, but luckily no one noisy next door. High beds lovely and comfy. The lights were a bit dim for beside reading, but otherwise plenty of lights.The room had iron and board, no fridge, plenty of hangers.A roomy bathroom and a slip mat. At dinner the first night our group was served by Eileen who was very good and looked after us well. Food was wholesome but a bit plain. BF the next morning had a very good choice of food.When leaving the bedroom you need to check you door is locked, as previously we had been told someone had entered when not properly shut. The hotel is oppposite a small shopping mall with Dunnes which has a foodhall, so very handy. Would stay again.

Room Tip: ASk for one away from the traffic.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews