We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Barna, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Clayton Hotel Galway is an Amazing structure and looks even more fabulous inside. The Staff are wonderful and made us feel right at home.

It is located just outside of Galway city in a great location.

We loved the fact that in the Main bar they had Big screens so himself could enjoy the footie while we had a few quiet drinks, before heading upstairs to one of the fantastic function rooms to enjoy a charity show. We had a great night and at the end of it we retired to a lovely toastie bedroom and may I add a Very comfortable bed.

Thanks again

Regina

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina731984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    590
    218
    63
    35
See reviews for
413
647
59
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

As a family of five we booked two rooms here and I am sorry to say I will not be staying here again. Apart from the fabulous and courteous reception staff, the rest of the staff leave a lot to be desired. I know it was a busy Saturday night and the foyer was full of people waiting to be accommodated at a function upstairs, but the service at the bar was dreadful. We were refused service three times, totally ignored. But the best had to be dinner. We booked for 8.00pm and were seated at 7.30pm in anticipation and by 9.00pm after much negotiating we finally got served, eventually after all the too and froing with the Restaurant manager we got served our dinner at 9.40pm,People were in long after us and they were served straight away. Answer to this from staff was that we were not having a starter. Unbelievable. In all fairness the restaurant manager apologised and offered us a courtesy drink. Noise level all night was intolerable by girls singing up and down the corridors, so if you want a hotel where you want total relaxation and most importantly sleep, I wouldn't advise staying here. Pros: The rooms are lovely and comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear carmelbCoMayo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I greatly appreciate it when I get any feedback from our guests as I believe it can often help us become better at what we do. I'm sorry your last stay wasn't as enjoyable as you had expected or as good as the previous times you stayed with us. I have brought your comments to the attention of the team in the bar and I know they will work hard to ensure we don't let ourselves down in this manner again. From your previous stays I'm sure you know this is not typical of the experiences our guests usually enjoy and I do hope you'll be able to see past this as the one-off incident it is and give the Clayton another chance the next time you are travelling to Galway.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Spent 2 nights in an executive room, Stayed early January last year and the same this year, Faultless service and exceptionally clean and spacious room. 4th (Executive)Floor exceptionally quiet - no kids running around. Ideal get away within reach of the city. We'll be back no doubt whatsoever

Room Tip: 4th floor is Accessible only with room Key - Executive floor no kids exceptionally quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
365 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I spent two nights at the Clayton with my husband.
We have absolutely no complaints on the hotel's facilities - it's modern, clean and has the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in.
It's located a bit outside town, but it has ample parking and a taxi into the city centre is only about 10-12 euro.
The leisure centre is good too, with a 20mt pool, steam room, sauna and a small room with exercise machines.
What really disapponted us was the service and the quality of the food in the bar/restaurant as well as breakfast.
All the f&b staff gave us the impression they didn't want to be there and treated us quite rudely. The hot breakfast wasn't great, I could just about eat the beans, the rest didn't taste good. The second day I had bread and croissants which were ok but far from delicious.
We were on a two night + 1 dinner package so we had dinner at the hotel on sunday night. There weren't many people around but it still took ages to get acknowledged and when we finally got our food it was quite bad. I understand that we were on a package but still, you'd expect something better. On top of it, the waiter that served us was possibly the rudest I've ever encountered.
Overall, I would go back just to sleep in those amazing beds, but I would not go near the bar!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Marla7,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comprehensive review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I do appreciate all the feed back I get from our guests as I believe we can use this input to improve what we do. I'm sorry your stay wasn't as good as you had expected. You have brought up some valid points which I have discussed with my management team and we will be working to address these concerns on a continual basis. If you would like to discuss any of these issues with me personally I would welcome that opportunity. I can be contacted directly via email at rory.fitzpatrick@clayton.ie.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This Hotel is a real gem. Had every thing I love about a hotel. Food in the bar was great and the service was fantastic. Lots of car parking spaces and a good bus service from the road. Also the hotel will give you a €10 voucher towards a Galway taxi. The bus fare is only €1.80. The room was very clean and warm. The bed quality is 100%. I just love the Clayton hotel

Room Tip: Bed is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann19602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,169 reviews
295 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Myself and a few friends book the 2 night New Years package in this hotel. It's a lovely modern hotel with a nice swimming pool and decent rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the restaurant staff. Breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. The included dinner was excellent and the service was fantastic. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

A large group of us stayed here in early January. The hotel is lovely, modern, spotlessly clean. We only stayed one night so can't comment on the leisure facilities. Food in the bar was very good, as was breakfast. Every single member of staff we met was fantastic, so friendly and helpful.
Location is a bit out from city centre but only a short taxi away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Flame1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing