We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, cosy, friendly and spotless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming, cosy, friendly and spotless”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with group of friends we were so impressed with the welcome we received. We had dinner in the restaurant the food was wonderful and loads on the plates. Staff were so polite and helpfull . Our rooms were cosy, warm and clean. All round a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    589
    218
    62
    35
See reviews for
413
646
59
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel! The room was beautiful, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was very nice. The bathroom was kind of strange, as the shower had a glass wall that only blocked half of the tub, but otherwise, it was very classy. We got a room with a double bed and a twin bed--thankfully my mom let me have the double bed as I'm 5 inches taller than her! The breakfast was excellent, and included in our stay, so anything free is better than having to pay for it. The staff were friendly and willing to make suggestions when we didn't know what to do or where to go. The hotel is on the edge of town-near the highway, but there is a bus stop literally across the street from the hotel, and it'll take you downtown in 20 minutes. The hotel staff were great at letting us know what time the bus came and what to do once we got to the heart of the city.
There's a shopping center near the hotel as well, which is where we ended up getting dinner one night. We wanted to save money, and ended up in a grocery store just buying some easy to prepare food.
Our hotel was included in a tour of Ireland deal, so it's hard to say if the price was reflective of the hotel, but we thought it was wonderful and comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLarson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
283 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Booked last minute on a reference from hospital. Got there after 9pm and was happy the check-in was fast and the receptionist was really nice.

The room was a fantastic size...couch, tables, balcony and huge closet. Bathroom was big and the floor was heated! Separate shower from tub. Bed was big and luxurious with fresh smelling sheets...like fabric softener. All bathroom goodies like soap, shampoo, hair cover, shoe shiner, moisturizer. Bathrobes and slippers.

Ordered room service and it was there in a shot and correct! A biggie in my books as the last few hotels were not on the mark at all.

Great nights sleep and went down to breakfast in the first floor dining room. Buffet and they will bring you eggs of your choice if not scrambled which is ready. I had scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns and mushroom with croissant. They had much more than that and loads of danish. The biggest buffet I've seen in Ireland for breakfast. All I had was delicious.

Ate at the restaurant in the bar one night and it was great....fast and perfectly cooked vegetables. Most places way overcook them in Ireland. Had chicken parm and wish it had spaghetti instead of potato...but was so tasty i didn't care. Service was fast and they were very nice.

Everything you could want for business purposes in the room. A coffee shop in the lobby open all day. There was a pool, but didn't get to check it out. Drove to center of Galway about a 10 minute trip to all the shops. There is a Large Dunnes, convenience store, vitamin shop, nail salon all across the street.

Will most definitely stay here on any trip to Galway. Recommend it highly and can't say enough about the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have separate key for elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights . Check in was very quick and the lady on reception was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was lovely it was spotless the bathroom was a bit small but did fine. The shower was fab great power.
Breakfast was a let down though it was all self service and when we went to get breakfast some trays were empty so we were waiting on some items to be cooked if you wanted a fried egg you had to ask as it was only scrambled that was pre cooked and by the time we got the eggs we had finished our breakfast. So i think breakfast should be improved.
We found the bar very expensive 5.10 for a pint , we had our dinner in the bistro which was really good.
The bed was so comfortable you would not want to get up , on the saturday night there was a lot of noise from girls singing and running up and down the hallway but the sunday night was nice and quiet.
Overall the Clayton is a lovely hotel and i would return, they just need to improve on the few things mentioned.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite dual carriage way much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maud11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barna, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Clayton Hotel Galway is an Amazing structure and looks even more fabulous inside. The Staff are wonderful and made us feel right at home.

It is located just outside of Galway city in a great location.

We loved the fact that in the Main bar they had Big screens so himself could enjoy the footie while we had a few quiet drinks, before heading upstairs to one of the fantastic function rooms to enjoy a charity show. We had a great night and at the end of it we retired to a lovely toastie bedroom and may I add a Very comfortable bed.

Thanks again

Regina

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina731984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

As a family of five we booked two rooms here and I am sorry to say I will not be staying here again. Apart from the fabulous and courteous reception staff, the rest of the staff leave a lot to be desired. I know it was a busy Saturday night and the foyer was full of people waiting to be accommodated at a function upstairs, but the service at the bar was dreadful. We were refused service three times, totally ignored. But the best had to be dinner. We booked for 8.00pm and were seated at 7.30pm in anticipation and by 9.00pm after much negotiating we finally got served, eventually after all the too and froing with the Restaurant manager we got served our dinner at 9.40pm,People were in long after us and they were served straight away. Answer to this from staff was that we were not having a starter. Unbelievable. In all fairness the restaurant manager apologised and offered us a courtesy drink. Noise level all night was intolerable by girls singing up and down the corridors, so if you want a hotel where you want total relaxation and most importantly sleep, I wouldn't advise staying here. Pros: The rooms are lovely and comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear carmelbCoMayo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I greatly appreciate it when I get any feedback from our guests as I believe it can often help us become better at what we do. I'm sorry your last stay wasn't as enjoyable as you had expected or as good as the previous times you stayed with us. I have brought your comments to the attention of the team in the bar and I know they will work hard to ensure we don't let ourselves down in this manner again. From your previous stays I'm sure you know this is not typical of the experiences our guests usually enjoy and I do hope you'll be able to see past this as the one-off incident it is and give the Clayton another chance the next time you are travelling to Galway.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Spent 2 nights in an executive room, Stayed early January last year and the same this year, Faultless service and exceptionally clean and spacious room. 4th (Executive)Floor exceptionally quiet - no kids running around. Ideal get away within reach of the city. We'll be back no doubt whatsoever

Room Tip: 4th floor is Accessible only with room Key - Executive floor no kids exceptionally quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,689 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,862 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
1,030 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing