We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here with my fiancée last week. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, we could not fault this hotel at all. Unlimited use of the leisure centre too went down a treat, the water was nice and warm. Very helpful staff in the bar, made recommendations for us as my fiancée was drinking non alcoholic beer. The rooms were nice and spacious and the shower was nice and powerful and spotless also. The bed was very comfortable. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear chris657,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. Your kind words and comments about the staff and facilities are gratefully received. I hope I get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clayton Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 2,009 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely hotel, Room was really nice and bright, bed was really comfortable. Restaurant is nice. Plenty of room. Food was very good
there was a hen night also. They all got to sit together, Which was great for them. Good variety for breakfast, scones were lovely. Plenty of parking, which is great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel as part of their "girly breaks" package for a hen party. Emer in group reservations made organising the weekend so easy. Their package is brilliant and the bride to be felt so special for the whole weekend. The food was amazing and so plentiful, and the barbeque went down a treat! The reception staff were friendly, efficient and happy to help as were the housekeeping, restaurant and bar staff and I have to mention the lovely Francis who had us all in the party spirit after our cocktail making class!
The hotel also organised to have us on the VIP list in Karma nightclub with free champers for all!
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend away and with prices so reasonable I will definitely be back! Well done to everyone in the Clayton and thanks for a great weekend! Keep up the good work!
Cathriona

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathriona924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel was part of our Aer Lingus fly/drive/hotel package. It is about a 10 minute drive to central Galway sites. All day parking in downtown surface parking lot was 8 Euros. This breakfast was included in our package and had a bit of everything. We would rate this at 4 to 4.5 stars on a 5 star scale. We had a larger room. Beware of the noisy rooms that face the highway. The windows do little to block the noise. We requested and got rooms that have no view but face inner "U"s on both sides of the building which effectively block out road noise. We do not care about the view as we are out visiting sites during the day. There is plenty of free parking at this hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms that face the highway. Request rooms that face the indented "u" s on each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHChicagoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

just back from a conference in galway and we were put up in this very pleasant hotel. The rooms were lovely, the food was lovely and the atmosphere was lovely. Usually at conferences they throw any sort of food at you but the food was lovely throughout, It seems they can transform the conference hall in a matter of minutes to become a dining/ball room. Only drawback was the air con in the room going on at 4am. Wouldn't have any hesitation in staying here again as I can still taste the food. Well done Clayton.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasonedtraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our stay at the Clayton was so enjoyable, we were greeted by Stephanie at reception and she is just brilliant, very helpful and friendly. The staff in the restaurant were also lovely, as was the food both dinner and breakfast. The room was immaculate and modern, it also had air conditioning and had everything you would need for a very comfortable stay. There is wifi in the rooms as well as public areas. We also took advantage of the pool, my son loved it. There are a few shops directly across the road which could be handy, and the location is just a few minutes drive from the city. I have to say it was the most enjoyable stay ive had in a hotel in a long time! We were so relaxed there we could have stayed so much longer. We will definitly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronaghMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the Clayton for 2 nights in March 2014. We found the staff to be polite and helpful and friendly.
Our room was good, the bar area was very busy all weekend with various events taking place day and night but despite that it is a pleasant area with a good atmosphere. There is live music there in the evenings.

Breakfast was plentiful and fine, the cooked breakfast was self service and not the best I've ever had, the teapots looked a bit the worse for wear and needed a good polish.
We didn't use the leisure centre or restaurant in the evening.

The beds were exceptionally comfortable.

I would rate our overall experience as a positive one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,097 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £57 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing