We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks for comfort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend for one night in the executive suite. The room was spotless. The facilities in the room were very good. There wasn't a hair dryer in the room.
The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower and the bath on the eve of the arrival were lovely but the following morning there seemed to be no hot water after a few minutes of using both.
A lovely,peaceful,relaxing stay. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 76lucyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear 76lucyd,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I'm glad you liked the room, our beds get a lot of praise and i think the ones in the Executive Rooms are that little bit extra special. Thanks also for pointing out a couple of areas we can improve. I do hope that you will return sometime in the very near future.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from 2nights..family room had two double beds very spacious.check in quick not overly friendly.pool very basic no kids section but 1.2 metres in depth all over.changing are small.had dinner second night lovely food (but limited kids menu and not willing to veer off menu)as was the buffet breakfast.got BLT sandwiches in bar ok bacon very fatty so removed same but staff very friendly and helpful.had balcony off room which was lovely.arrived at half two in afternoon and breakfast dishes still on floor in corridor from room service.folder explaining services of hotel had butter wrapping stuck to pages which suggests that thorough cleaning of rooms not done.grand stay will go elsewhere next time

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Aileen S,

Thanks indeed for taking the time to post a review of your family stay in the Clayton Hotel. I appreciate your positive comments and kind words in regards to the staff. You raised some interesting points that my management team will be working hard to ensure we address. I would encourage you to stay again should you travel to Galway another time and I'm sure you will notice some significant improvements.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a pitty that such a beautiifull contemporary hotel has so many cons.: Rooms need more mantinence, cleaning and management of the hotel team needs a revolution, ASAP !.
CONS. : They gave us a room facing a six lane road wich had one of the double-galze window glass broken so the noise was very annoying, they changed us to a quiet (and with no broken window glass) room, thanks for that but trying to sell a faulty room is not a good practice. Hospitality is about details and poor cleaning and maintinance of the rooms is not a good thing (see photographs examples). Smiles are hard to be seen among the hotel team. We dinned at the hotel informal restaurant and it take more than an hour to get our main dish after finishing the starter and we never got the desserts: service was a disaster. Could continue with cons ...
PROS. : Plenty of space and natural light in the room and amazing confi beds. Nice pub-informal lunch-dinner restaurant at the ground floor. Good food and plenty of options at the breakfast buffet. Free parking and swiming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Eduard V ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comprehensive review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I do appreciate all the feed back I get from our guests as I believe we can use this input to improve what we do. I'm sorry your stay wasn't as good as you had expected. You have brought up some valid points which I have discussed with my management team and we will be working to address these concerns on a continued basis. If you would like to discuss any of these issues with me personally I would welcome that opportunity. I can be contacted directly via email at rory.fitzpatrick@clayton.ie.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Modern and beautiful design. Clean and not worn.Efficient and Friendly staff .good food., plenty of choice.Excellent stay. Highly recommend and would stay again. However pool is 1.2m without a kiddie section .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear fatmoma,

Thank you so much for posting a brief review of your time in the Clayton Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I appreciate your recommendation. I do hope it won't be too long before you are back to visit again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Clayton is a modern hotel close to the centre of Galway and has all the facilities we now expect with a modern hotel. I enjoyed my brief stay and found the rooms to comfortable. I dined in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The staff were very helpful and did everything to make my stay a pleasant experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthsideEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear SouthsideEddie,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of your stay. I'm delighted you had a great time and I look forward to seeing you again back here in the Clayton in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here with my fiancée last week. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, we could not fault this hotel at all. Unlimited use of the leisure centre too went down a treat, the water was nice and warm. Very helpful staff in the bar, made recommendations for us as my fiancée was drinking non alcoholic beer. The rooms were nice and spacious and the shower was nice and powerful and spotless also. The bed was very comfortable. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear chris657,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. Your kind words and comments about the staff and facilities are gratefully received. I hope I get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clayton Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely hotel, Room was really nice and bright, bed was really comfortable. Restaurant is nice. Plenty of room. Food was very good
there was a hen night also. They all got to sit together, Which was great for them. Good variety for breakfast, scones were lovely. Plenty of parking, which is great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Family Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £56 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing