We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Easter Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Easter Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just back from a great break in the Clayton, the staff are great, so helpful and pleasant. Food both in the bar and restaurant was very good, lots of healthy options for children included on the menu. Family rooms are spacious clean and very comfortable. The children loved the kiddies club, it ran for over 2 hours each pm. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosyTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear RosyTee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed so many aspects of your visit. Our kiddies club will run again for the summer (July & August) and again at the school midterms so I do hope I'll see you back here later in the year.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    585
    216
    61
    35
See reviews for
408
639
58
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I brought my two nieces here for 3nights over the easter period and I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the place. All staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Food was lovely in restaurant. We had breakfast, dinner and lunch all lovely. Ill defo be goin back

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit and I hope we'll see you all back here again in the very near future.

Warm regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

only getting time to review now,stayed here last summer and had a amazing time. stayed for three nights. We were three couples and a young baby. from the min we arrived to the min we left i could not complain. rooms were amazing and clean. staff we fab and food was amazing. will defiantly go back. maybe this summer ;)

Room Tip: 4th floor amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieireland4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear SuzanneLouise2014,

Thank you indeed for posting a review of your stay especially after so much time had passed. Rest assured our standards remain as high now as they were last summer. Please get in touch if you are thinking of visiting Galway again. I can be reached at rory.fitzpatrick@clayton.ie.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

First class from the friendly reception to lunch in the bar to the very comfortable room even the extra bed couldn't fault it at all thanks very much Clayton we'll be back again soon for the relaxation and friendly staff

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Rod G,

Thank you for your brief review of your recent stay. It's great to learn everything was to your satisfaction and I do hope indeed that it won't be too long before we see you again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend for one night in the executive suite. The room was spotless. The facilities in the room were very good. There wasn't a hair dryer in the room.
The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower and the bath on the eve of the arrival were lovely but the following morning there seemed to be no hot water after a few minutes of using both.
A lovely,peaceful,relaxing stay. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 76lucyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear 76lucyd,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I'm glad you liked the room, our beds get a lot of praise and i think the ones in the Executive Rooms are that little bit extra special. Thanks also for pointing out a couple of areas we can improve. I do hope that you will return sometime in the very near future.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from 2nights..family room had two double beds very spacious.check in quick not overly friendly.pool very basic no kids section but 1.2 metres in depth all over.changing are small.had dinner second night lovely food (but limited kids menu and not willing to veer off menu)as was the buffet breakfast.got BLT sandwiches in bar ok bacon very fatty so removed same but staff very friendly and helpful.had balcony off room which was lovely.arrived at half two in afternoon and breakfast dishes still on floor in corridor from room service.folder explaining services of hotel had butter wrapping stuck to pages which suggests that thorough cleaning of rooms not done.grand stay will go elsewhere next time

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Aileen S,

Thanks indeed for taking the time to post a review of your family stay in the Clayton Hotel. I appreciate your positive comments and kind words in regards to the staff. You raised some interesting points that my management team will be working hard to ensure we address. I would encourage you to stay again should you travel to Galway another time and I'm sure you will notice some significant improvements.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a pitty that such a beautiifull contemporary hotel has so many cons.: Rooms need more mantinence, cleaning and management of the hotel team needs a revolution, ASAP !.
CONS. : They gave us a room facing a six lane road wich had one of the double-galze window glass broken so the noise was very annoying, they changed us to a quiet (and with no broken window glass) room, thanks for that but trying to sell a faulty room is not a good practice. Hospitality is about details and poor cleaning and maintinance of the rooms is not a good thing (see photographs examples). Smiles are hard to be seen among the hotel team. We dinned at the hotel informal restaurant and it take more than an hour to get our main dish after finishing the starter and we never got the desserts: service was a disaster. Could continue with cons ...
PROS. : Plenty of space and natural light in the room and amazing confi beds. Nice pub-informal lunch-dinner restaurant at the ground floor. Good food and plenty of options at the breakfast buffet. Free parking and swiming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Eduard V ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comprehensive review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I do appreciate all the feed back I get from our guests as I believe we can use this input to improve what we do. I'm sorry your stay wasn't as good as you had expected. You have brought up some valid points which I have discussed with my management team and we will be working to address these concerns on a continued basis. If you would like to discuss any of these issues with me personally I would welcome that opportunity. I can be contacted directly via email at rory.fitzpatrick@clayton.ie.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,816 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing