We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights with toddler.Had a wonderful stay.room was spotless, breakfast and dinner were lovely.Pool was great.The most outstanding thing about this hotel was the pleasantness and welcoming of all the staff.I can't praise them highly enough. This is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eucharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear eucharia,

Thank you so much for your brief review of your recent stay, I'm delighted that you enjoyed yourself so much and your kinds words about all the staff you dealt with are gratefully received. I do hope it won't be too long before you are back here with us again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very pleasant check in - the man at the desk - Donal was very efficient and courteous a great asset to any hotel. Bedroom and bathroom spotlessly clean. Bar food very good and very reasonably priced and staff very efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear christina d,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, I'm delighted you choose to stay in the Clayton and I'm glad that everything met with your expectations. I know for sure that Donal will be thrilled with your recognition of his hard work and from all the team here at the Clayton I hope to see you back here again in the very near future.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Were just back from a stay at Clayton hotel Galway and it was excellent, Staff were friendly and helpful it was clean and bright, plenty of clean towels were available in our room, Breakfast and dinner was good and staff were very nice, short drive to Galway city, will be returning again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear rea_flood,

That you so much for posting a brief review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel and thank you for choosing the Clayton as your base in Galway. It's great to learn that you enjoyed yourself so much, I really do hope that you'll be back to do it all over again real soon.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place stinks! No literally, it smells like an old folks home, musty and stale. It smells like they tried to cover up cigarette smoke but couldn't do it. The lobby and underground parking lot are the best thing this place has going for it. We pre-booked two nights with this place and regretfully so. The Extremely poorly lit hallways and sitting areas might be on purpose so you can't see how dirty the carpet is. When you first walk into the lobby it appears to be a "modern" hotel, but once you make your way through the dark and gloomy unmarked hallway torward your room that's where you might start to question who did the decor or lack there of when you walk in your room. It looks as though they hired a couple of high school students to figure out the "modern" look. Basically it's blank white walls that make you feel like you are visiting your grandmothers hospital room. Now let's move to the bathroom. The shower head leaks and makes noises all night long and when it's time to hop in the shower it's very small (and I'm a normal size guy 185lbs). Also, not enough towels were given. Beds were soft and the pillows were hard. We also had the fire alarm go off at 1am! We never received a phone call from the front desk so I was frantically awoken running around gathering my junk together and decided to call the front desk before I headed downstairs, front desk said "oh.... it's just a false alarm". no, sorry sir this woke you up and blew your left ear drum apart, as if this is a normal every sunny Friday afternoon event or something! It's 1am DUDE! Have a little respect! Woke up the next morning and headed down to my wobbly breakfast table and sticky tea cup and walked across the sticky breakfast floor line to find the normal hot and cold items and asked twice for hot tea that came out at the end of my meal, perfect timing. The stinch alone is a good enough reason for not coming back to this place. Look elsewhere for someplace with charm and class.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very small and only have room for a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbetz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear jbetz78,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. All feedback is appreciated especially if it is balanced and reasonable. Guest experiences really are the best way for us to judge if we're delivering the service and experiences our customers have a right to expect and I am sorry in this instance if we weren't able to make you happy. Thankfully what you described is not the typical experience our guests have as can be seen from the many other reviews listed here. That said you've brought up some valid points and I will be reviewing them with my team in an effort to ensure we can improve both the facilities and services in the hotel for our future guests benefit.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Arrived mid afternoon on a Friday coming up to a BH weekend. Parking at the hotel no problem and plenty of spaces. Reception was manned by one person ( Badge name = Donal ) We were welcomed with friendly smile and check in was swift. Donal answered all questions we asked concerning the hotel and our stay and was very helpful. A few other people came to reception as we were being seen to and other receptionists appeared and dealt with them .
We took a lift to our room on the second floor. The room was spacious containing a double and single bed. All facilities were there ie, TV, Hot drink (kettle and tea tray), Safe , Iron, Air conditioning etc.En suit Bath/shower sink Wc. Windows could be open. Adequate wardrobe and drawer space.
The Wi-Fi is available free throughout the hotel. Our gadgets were able to use the wi-fi except our APPLE gadgets which had hi security on them which decided the wi-fi was to public to allow us to use it .

We had a drink at the bar and all was clean and tidy there and friendly staff.

We had breakfast and this was buffet style. It catered very well for continental and cooked breakfasts. If you wished to have a fried /poached egg etc you requested it and was cooked fresh but if you wanted the scrambled egg you could help yourself to a slice as to a spoonful as it had been cooked for a long time and it showed but hey ho I took a slice and it was ok for me. You made your own toast through a machine so watch your fingers no tongues available to help getting the toast out.

We did not use the leisure center facilities so cannot comment on them .

This hotel is situated on a busy road traffic light junction and some rooms do face onto the road so keep it in mind ( can request quiet rooms )

The hotels cleanliness was excellent from outside through reception, lifts , corridors ,rooms etc. It was nice to see a hotel getting it right.

The staff we met during our stay were helpful, friendly and had SMILES so well done and I hope that if management do read this comment they may just congratulate their staff for being so.

Would we stay there again ? ..... that would be a big YES from us.

We always write a comment on Trip Advisor prior to reading any previous ones and give an honest stay for future people wanting advice and also for the hotel to see what we write and note our opinions

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonFrancisWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear JonFrancisWhite,

Thank you so much for posting such a comprehensive and honest review review of the time you spent here in the Clayton Hotel. Your insights are valuable to me and I hope other potential guests as well. I appreciate your candid and fair comments and your recommendation is gratefully acknowledged. I do hope you find another reason to visit again soon.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here on Monday night. The male receptionist on arrival was so friendly and helpful and again, the female receptionist when we were checking out. We were given an end room so our room was entirely glass and a had a massive balcony. It was fabulous. The rooms and bathroom are lovely. The bed was the comfiest bed I have ever experienced! :-) We had full use of the pool, sauna and steam room which was lovely. The taxi into the city centre only costs €12 as the hotel have a deal with the taxi companies so that is very handy. The Dunnes Stores and KFC are right across the road which is perfect. I will definitely be staying again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Leah A,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay here in the Clayton. I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit and I really do appreciate your recommendation. The comfort of our beds and the warmth and friendliness of the staff are what most people take away from here and we look forward to welcoming you back to more of the same in the near future.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Fifty two members from the MG Owners Club in Northern Ireland spent 5 days at the Clayton Hotel in Galway. We had a great time there with good food, good service all round. there was also secure parking for our 26 classic cars. If you stay in Galway then the Clayton Hotel is the place to stay. Desie Boyd ( Hon. Treasurer).

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had a great view from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGCGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Desie,

A heartful felt thanks to you and the rest of your members for choosing the Clayton Hotel in the first place as your base in the west and for your kind comments. We all certainly enjoyed having you here and we got some great photos for our facebook page. Hopefully you'll consider swinging this way again the next time you're on tour.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,152 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,143 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,737 reviews
2.4 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Family Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £53 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing