We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Large bright hotel, lovely place for a coffee and meeting place. Cannot thank Niamh on reception for being so professional and helpful, she went completely out of her way to be very welcoming and ensure that we were well cared for. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear EMC40,

Thank you so much for your brief review of your visit to the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted that all was as expected and I know Niamh will be very grateful for your recognition of the excellent job she does for us here in the hotel. I do hope it won't be too long before you are back again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    601
    221
    63
    35
See reviews for
423
656
60
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at the Clayton hotel in June, the rooms are just fab, so clean and the beds are very comfortable! breakfast was really good although i couldn't say the same for dinner the night before unfortunately! The hotel is a good 5-10 minute drive from the city centre which i didn't really mind but not ideal for going out in Galway at night time. great car park at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauram1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lauram1261,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton hotel. I'm glad that everything about the rooms met with your approval and I appreciate your enjoyment of breakfast but rather disappointed with your comments on dinner the previous evening. I know that my F&B Manager was trying to contact you to get more details as I'm sure your feedback would prove helpful. If you do get the chance by all means please contact me directly on rory.fitzpatrick@clayton.ie.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
522 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It is a very large, modern hotel in Galway. True - It is far from the lovely city center but it has its own advantages. Big rooms, nice food, good service, large parking lot. close to shopping center - very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadi O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear nadi O o,

Thank you for posting a brief review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and I hope it won't be too long before you find a reason to stay once again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were here for 3 nights for a wedding nearby, the clayton was one of the hotels on the list given to us and we were pleased that it was the one we chose, we had room 205 which was very spacious and spotlessly clean, the room was quiet and the aircon was a godsend as was the free wifi, we really enjoyed our stay and all the staff were quick with a smile and a hello and were a credit to the hotel. We would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in a large group and spread over different floors and aspects, all the rooms were of a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baljordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Baljordan,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you choose to stay with us from what no doubt was a long list. Your kind words on the staff and the rooms are really appreciated.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room was wonderful, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean. Highlighted by the spaciousness of the place and the wonderful rain type showerhead. The breakfast selection was what appeared to be typical Irish fare with a nice selection of cereals and fresh fruits. The absolute highlight of the stay was the staff whom which we spoke with from the time of entering to the very last conversation upon departure. I believe the receptionist that checked us in was named Emer and she was quite accommodating and truly professional. We then worked with Stephanie. She is an absolute delight. She was able to answer (or find an answer for) every question we could come up with, assisted us in excursion planning, and made recommendations for dining in the city center. I hope the Clayton management team realizes what a great asset they have on their front line.

Room Tip: Seek a king size room. Ample space for two travelers. Make sure you ask for face clothes as not al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Doug B,

Thank you so much for posting such a glowing review of your time in the Clayton Hotel. Your feedback on every aspect of your stay is really appreciated and I known that Emer and Stephanie in particular will be thrilled with your recognition of their hard work.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I attended the evening reception of a wedding in the Clayton. I got a special rate as I was a guest of €100 for the room without breakfast which in 2014 I would say for this hotel was reasonable but
the online rate was €180 for the room before I had said I was with the wedding which I would have felt was an exorbitant price for this standard of hotel.
The room was spacious with a double bed and a single bed, clean and comfortable, with a decent
travel sized iron and ironing board, the tea making faciltiy was poor with only tea or coffee (for this price id expect a auld plastic wrapped digestive). The bathroom decor was the rooms strongest selling point with pretty glass mosaic tiles, a drench shower and a section of the mirror heated that didn't for up. However it took a few flushes of the toilet to work.
My overall reaction would be a bit "meh" and they clayton would not be on my list when I return to galway again, I can't think of anything particularly special about the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess_PeaReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in,from we arrived at reception to when we checked out it was just perfect.The staff were so friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel.The bedroom was so big and bright and a lovely bathroom,bed was so comfortable.Food was top class and was very well presented,both breakfast and dinner and fantastic desert.Very nice bar which also served food.Overall great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing