We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Indeed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

A friend and I stayed at this property early August 2014 for three nights.
After booking the hotel online, our initial contact with the hotel was just a bit frustrating: finding the right entrance is quite a hassle! We tried entering the coordinates - which failed at the last roundabout - and using Garmin's preset address - again, left us stranded just before the end. All in all, the property could do with a signpost or two ...
Apart from that, our experience was extremely positive; the staff are very friendly and know their stuff, the rooms are very spacious, clean and the beds are beyond 4*. On our first night we experienced some water pressure issues with the power shower - and a new head was installed the following morning as we came back from breakfast!
We also had a last supper the the lobby bar and I would highly recommend it: again, the staff are amazing, the Guinness is exceptional and the food is very good indeed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear jcr86,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. It's great to learn you enjoyed your time with us and I really do appreciate your feedback on the rooms and bar. I've noted the difficulties you had in locating us and I'll work to improve the directions etc. that we have on our website.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    585
    216
    61
    35
See reviews for
408
639
58
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in Galway for 2 days, and overall enjoyed the room. The room was big, comfortable and the bathroom was great. However the noise from the street was really annoying throughout the night. The only other thing to consider is that the beds have a fitted sheet and thick duvet-no sheets. So you could end up really warm.
The staff was awesome-we got to check in right to our room, they gave us a great tour recommendation for visiting Kylemoore Abbey, Connemara, and a few places along the way, and answered all of our questions. The breakfast buffet was nice, though it can fill up quickly. WOuld definitely stay again and recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear katie z,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and your recommendation really is important to me. All the team here work hard to make everyone's stay enjoyable and they are a great source of local information. If you are back again by all means request a room on the inside, some rooms are more affected than others but I'm sure we have a room that will suit your needs.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here on a very warm night (for Ireland) in July. Our room was spacious with a nice bathroom. Our only complaint was the noise, both outside and from guests in the hall. The bed had only a very heavy duvet for covers, much too heavy for a warm night. Consequently, I ended up sleeping with no covers. A separate sheet would have been nice.

We enjoyed the meals in the Tribes restaurant. The food was tasty and cooked to perfection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear TravelinGal2010,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay in the Clayton Hotel. I really do appreciate your feedback as I often find that our guests comments can help us become better at what we do. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and certainly we'll take your suggestion regarding the bed covers on board and see if we can adopt something that will help improve the comfort of the rooms.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

stayed foe 3 nights rooms large clean and bright .room service great breakfast was lovely.bar food excellent and great value.the highlight was the staff all very friendly and welcoming especially the staff at reception.well done can't wait to go back !

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tadhg167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear tadhg167,

Thank you for posting a brief but glowing review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. It's great to learn you enjoyed so many aspects of your time with us and I do hope it won't be too long before you are back to stay again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel just gets it. Really modern, great services. Fantastic wifi. Best staff I've talked to in a hotel for a while. But the best thing is their food, good god its delicious. Everything from the desert right through to breakfast. Its 100% bang on. The only complaint i have is that the noise from the traffic is really bad. Need stronger windows.. But that's the only bad thing about this hotel. Love it here and will be back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Pauric H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'll certainly share your comments on both the food and the staff with all the team here and I know they will be very happy with your acknowledgement of their hard work. Hopefully we'll see you back here before long.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland/UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked the Clayton as we were attending a wedding in a venue nearby without many rooms to stay. We telephoned the Clayton to let them know our check-in would be late and politely they thanked us for letting them know. When we did eventually check in (at 10.00pm) we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who told us they had upgraded us to an executive suite (Room 403) which was a lovely surprise! We entered the room which was fabulous! We really did not want to go back to the wedding reception after being in it! Wet room and deep bath were excellent, bathrobes and slippers provided and living area so spacious. The bed was the most comfortable we had ever slept in! Swivelling TV/mirror a great idea too. Breakfast was very good too!! Thank you this was a great stay!!!

Room Tip: 403 was spacious and just perfect! Quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear AJS088,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us so much and I do hope we'll see you back here again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Arrived late in Galway with no hotel booked. After driving about for a bit arrived at the Clayton Hotel! They could not have been more welcoming! Was checked in and had a great room within a few minutes. The room was fantastic, big comfortable bed, with flat screen TV and a modern, clean bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was very nice with all the usual fare on offer. Fantastic room and a great nights sleep for a reasonable price. I was set for an enjoyable day in Galway. I will stay here again when in Galway again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBoyOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear DublinBoyOnTour,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and I'm really glad that you ended up here rather than anywhere else in your search for a bed. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some pointy in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing