We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!!”
Review of Countess House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Countess House
Ranked #126 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My husband and I stayed in several B&Bs in Ireland on our trip and this one was by far the best. Rose is a gracious hostess with an acute attention to detail. She is personable and helpful...supplying maps and advice on places to stop by in the area.
The B&B is in an ideal location...within a short walking distance from multiple shops and restaurants yet set back just enough so it is very peaceful at night for sleeping. The rooms are beautiful...tastefully decorated and spacious. And the food....well, you'll just have to try it for yourself. We'd be hard pressed to find a place with a better breakfast!! To anyone traveling to Killarney, don't miss this place!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12Travel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2009

As a resident of Dublin, I've been to several B&B's across Ireland to get away from the city for a weekend. It can be daunting to choose one, especially in a town like Killarney. Countess House has by far been the most excellent experience and now I will definatley be making Killarney a regular stop at the Countess House. Rose takes such good care of each of her guests from the fantastic breakfasts as mentioned above to great directions, tour arrangements and local tidbits. She suggests the best places to eat in Killarney and knows where all the hot spots are to go out at night. The rooms are wonderful and you feel as if you are right back at your own home. Everything is clean and comfortable. The location could not be better, either. A quick walk to the train station and town, as well as the National Park! If Kerry is the kingdom, then the Countess House surely is the palace!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublingirl0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Staying at the Countess House B&B was a wonderful experience. The hostess Rose and her family were wonderful. From the time we arrived until the time we left we had nothing but the most curteous of service. The B&B is located adjacent to the heart of downtown Killarney and is less than a five-minute walk from all the shops, restaurants and attractions in downtown area. Rose was a wonderful hostess and was of tremendous assistance to us in securing seats for a tour of the Ring of Kerry, finding us locations to dine at in the evening after we returned from our daily excursions and of helping to 'plot' our journey going forward as we left her establishment. The B&B is immaculate and has all that a traveler making their way around Ireland could expect and more for accomodations. The traditional Irish breakfasts in the mornings were to "die-for" and fortified us each day for the travels that we undertook around Killarney. I would strongly recommend staying at the Countess House B&B for any traveler who wants to stay at a great place with warm and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalwayBay1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Rose is the owner of this family run b&b in Killarney, Ireland and she is a great hostess. Very pleasant and extremely helpful organizing taxis, bus trips, places to eat and shop. The b&b is hardly a 10 minute walk from the train station, and 5 minutes walk to the central shopping and pub areas in Killarney. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms and clean carpets. The house itself is not that old, however, the way it is is decorated gives you the feel of an old, warm, cozy country inn. Rose's cooking was so good!! And pleanty of food, too! I travelled with my four teenagers, and they never left Rose's breakfast table hungry. We travelled to Dublin, and then London, England and our Countess House experience was the best because it was small and very comfortable. We decided you could stay in a hotel in any city anywhere in the world and it would be pretty much the same. I cannot say enough about staying in an Irish b&b like Countess House in Killarney. Our stay with Rose was better than our friend's stay in a beautiful local hotel. Killarney is a beautiful small town, very clean and everyone is so friendly with plenty to do and see. I would go back to Killarney and I would definitely stay at the Countess House again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank IrishOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank HS2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostoncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acrespi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countess House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countess House

Address: Countess House Countess Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £62 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine Irish welcome awaits you at Countess House. Our luxurious Bed and Breakfast is family run and boasts 16 bedrooms. The house is situated in a quiet peaceful location and is a three minute walk into Killarney town centre. It is also en route to the Ring of Kerry, Muckross House and Gap of Dunloe. All guest rooms are spacious, en suites with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Our emphasis is on friendly personal service backed by the highest standard throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Countess House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing