We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, excellent food!”

Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 183 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcoming visitors and locals alike for over 100 years, Hannigans Bar & Restaurant is one of Killarney's best-loved and much-acclaimed historic drinking and dining establishments.Enjoy all-day dining from 10.00am to 9.00pm with superb, locally sourced produce, cooked to perfection and served in cosy, candle-lit surroundings with a friendly and professional service. A la Carte & Evening Specials Menus - Served from 6.00pm to 9.00pmLunch Menu - Served from 12.30pm to 3.00pmSandwiches, Toasties, Wraps & Snacks - Served from 10.00am to 6.00pmHannigans Restaurant Killarney -A dining experience featuring the finest seasonal Irish ingredients, beautifully executed and dedicated to diners who enjoy comfort,atmosphere, superb service, reasonable prices and most of all,good, simple food. The Brewery Restaurant- Where opulent wood panelling, ornate ceilings and delicate crystal chandeliers echo fond memories of times bygone and sets the perfect scene for freshly prepared breakfast, candlelit evening dining or contact us about private gatherings of up to 100 people. The Brasserie - Keep an eye on the Jaunting Cars with freshly brewed coffee and homemade scones... the perfect way to start your day! Also the perfect private party venue with private bar. The Library -Enjoy the joy of Afternoon Tea with a friend in The Library or curl up with your favourite book and a mug of hot chocolate. Contact us below to book afternoon tea.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent service, excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were very pleases with our dinner experience here. Our server was fantastic, everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Highly recommend it!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear JennyB,
Many thanks for your review of Hannigans Bar & Restaurant. We genuinely love to hear that our visitors enjoy their experience with us and would recommend us to friends. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With kind regards,
Tanya O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    167
    47
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great friendly service and first class food.We will be back again.Always looking forward to meeting John and Brendan they both give great service with a smile.All the bar staff were very pleasant and cheerful. Keep up the good work.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank failte52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear failte52,
Thank you for your lovely review. There really is nothing nicer than seeing patrons return again and again to our restaurant and compliments to our team are always passed on and much appreciated. John and Brendan are super and are more than happy to offer all sorts of chat, advice and tips to diners! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Tanya O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We went to hannigans resturant for dinner which was absolutely fantastic the food was just A1.And Brendan the waiter was so helpful does his job very well. Whenever we go to Killarney in future we will be dining here . Even considering stayed in the International Hotel itself

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maud11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear maud11_12,

I am delighted you found your dining experience at Hannigans to be fantastic. Brendan is indeed super and I will certainly pass your compliments to him. We look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Killarney and of course invite you to contact us with regard to staying at the hotel on your next visit – with our elegant and exceptionally comfortable guestrooms and extensive facilities within the hotel, you will not be disappointed!

With thanks for taking the time to review Hannigans, kind regards,
Tanya O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We found Hannigan's by walking by and looking at the menu. We all ordered the same thing and all four of us thought the fish and chips was the best we've ever had. Light, fresh and amazing. I only wish I stayed in Killarney for two nights so I could go back to Hannigan's again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Edward M,

With a heading like that, we are delighted you chanced upon us on your walk around Killarney! We have a great selection of seafood on our lunchtime and evening menus, including Oven-Roasted Monkfish Tail, Baked Fillet of Cod, Pan Seared Salmon, Lemon Sole Fillets, Surf ‘n Turf and a Seafood Pancake. I am delighted you all enjoyed your fish and chips and, given that you didn’t have the chance to return again, I hope that you found somewhere nice on your travels outside Killarney!

With many thanks again for your kind review,
Tanya O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch today. I had the minute steak potatoes, veg and portion of chips, my wife had the soup and a toasted s/w, couldnt fault the food. Would recommend the food to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardO71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killarneyinter, Guest Relations Manager at Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear EdwardO71,

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted to see that you and your wife both enjoyed your meals with us. The grilled minute steak, served with onions, mushrooms and a creamy pepper sauce and a selection of side-dishes is indeed delicious and, at €13.50, is a lunchtime favourite. Of course, soup and a sandwich is always a popular lunchtime choice and we offer a wide selection of made-to-order sandwiches, wraps, ciabatta specials and many more.

With thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, kind regards,
Tanya O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Hannigan's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing