We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food at it's best!”
Review of Bricin Restaurant

Bricin Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fine food at it's best!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A gem in Killarney town. It has it all, good value for money with a choice of set menus or the á la carte that has it all. It does tend to get busy and you should book ahead but it's worth it. The standard is high and the service is attentive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly_Mackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,085
    269
    62
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The food was perfect. Three of us ate there, and each of us had something different. Everything was to our liking. They even had gluten-free options. The owner stopped by to chat, making sure everything was satisfactory. Service was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the Boxty”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great food and service. The seafood chowder is very rich and delicious and there are several Boxty choices - very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shellsreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 765 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It was our first night in Killarney and we were just browsing menus as we were walking up the street. I noticed that Bircin's was touting their boxtys, they were on the early bird menu and I couldn't recall having had one before, so we stopped in. I was pleased to see, after returning to our hotel room after dinner, that Bircin's is rated number 2 out of 140 restaurants in Killarney.

The restaurant is up a flight of stairs (and the restrooms are up another flight). The decor was stunning and had a very opulent, old Irish, feel to it. The early bird menu is 19 Euros and one may select a starter (I had the seafood chowder - excellent) and a main (I had the lamb boxty) or a main and a dessert. The service was excellent and the manager made a point of visiting each table. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Early Birds Get's the Best Food in Killarney”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

During our brief visit while passing through Killarney, we chose one of the first restaurants on our way from the parking lot. The early bird price was definitely an inspiration and the menu options. The restaurant was located upstairs through a tasteful gift and souvenir store. When we walked upstairs, we were fortunate to get a seat for a reserved table that was later that evening. With hunger and limited time, we decided on the seafood chowder, deep fried Camembert, hake and salmon gratin, lamb and vegetable boxty, Irish soda bread with walnuts accompanied by a bottle of Kenmare red ale and a glass of red wine. My husband and I shared with each other to be able to sample the choices from the menu items. After completely cleaning our plates, we were delighted with the total charges as our pocket books were stressed from eating in Ireland at various restaurants. The service was excellent and the dinner was one of the best at any price!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherrieseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bricin Restaurant also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Bricin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing