We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality, beautiful location!”
Review of Shepherds Lodge

Shepherds Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shepherds Lodge
Ranked #85 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality, beautiful location!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed 1 nite plus most of the 2nd day. Lovely B&B with a spectacular mountain view of Killarney National Park just outside of downtown Killarney. We were given terrific advice on how to spend our day around Killarney and can not imagine a better day! We started with a horse and cart ride to Muckross House and around the lake closest to town...then we rented bikes and took the boat ride with Duck to Upper Lake where we hiked and rode to the Gap of Dunloe then back to town. Simply said it was a wonderful day and we thank Sheila. The perfect end to our Ireland adventure!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCShelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The room was beautiful! Especially the bathroom! Sheila was warm and welcoming and very accommodating! We had a beautiful view of the National Park from our front window as well as the field of cows out front. It was quiet all night and we were finally able to get a great night of rest! Breakfast was delicious and filling.

Room Tip: Try and shoot for a front of house facing room. Great view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and slept like a dream.Very friendly lady and beautiful room with big bathroom. Ideal situated in town close to town centre.Close to national park .They have beautiful horses too.Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noordmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 2nights on 5 and 6th of July. The rooms were very clean and well decorated. Location is excellent as there is little traffic noise and yet it is close enough to centre. The owner did an early breakfast for us as a special request.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeGalwayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Shepherds Lodge is conveniently located on a quiet side street just outside bustling, touristy downtown Killarney. In fact, it is just five minutes from beautiful Killarney National Park. The property itself isn't especially fancy, but it is comfortable in a "feels like home" sort of way. The owners are exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable and do their best to ensure you have a pleasant stay. We highly recommend Shepherds Lodge to other travelers visiting KIllarney and the beautiful Ring of Kerry!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

stayed at the shepherds lodge in june with my partner, we booked it on the net under special offer. when we arrived we were greeted by sheila. she was a very welcoming host and advised us on how to spend our time while visiting killarney, this included tours, entertainment and eating out. our room was spacious with very nice decor, with free internet connection. i had the full irish breakfast for the 2 mornings we stayed and my partner had the poached eggs!!!! said they were delicious, i really liked the home made friut bars and the fruit bread, i took some with me for my lunch!!!.
we took a tour on the horse & carriage with martin who is sheila's husband he gave us a excel tour of the park and it wasn't expensive, we took some fab photos and learned alot about the history about the area.
a taxis was arranged for us when we decided to hit the town to experience the night life!!!
killarney is a great place to visit, full of nice places to see, great night life ans friendly people. the shepherds lodge is in a nice quite location but also convienent to all the "must visit places". we meet some other guest here who we made friends with and shared some common interest.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Good base in order to visit the ring of Kerry.

Very friendly owners. Clean room and well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petervanburen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
1.5 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carriglea House
Carriglea House
#8 of 46 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
#80 of 139 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherds Lodge

Property: Shepherds Lodge
Address: Loreto Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shepherds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing