We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and cheap”
Review of The Sugan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sugan Hostel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great and cheap”
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

The location is great, close to everything, the boss is very friendly ad caring he'll gives you good advices if you want, and the price for the 8bed dorms breakfast included is more than reasonable. I recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aillish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    38
    18
    12
    12
See reviews for
5
44
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

In fairness the hostel has a good location and reasonable facilities, however the owner is one of the most despicable, insulting person I've ever had the misfortune of dealing with. I had an issue with the hostel, which the slightly less ignorant receptionist couldn't satisfy, and following listening to the two of them rudely and condescendingly discuss my issue, I was angrily called an 'idiot' by the owner because of the query I had. Whether my issue was absurd or not, I have never been so insulted in my life! I would never suggest that anyone should ever give this hostel business. They do not deserve it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hega18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We enjoyed staying at this hostel in Killarney. There were a couple of things we disliked but were no major problem.... The shower was one of those push button timer systems with a shower head that injected water at you and the breakfast room was small and really poorly lit (like mood lighting for Breakfast). The hostel was central, the parking was only 100m up the road and very cheap, you can hire bikes from there, the bed was comfy and despite some of the reviews about "the guy with the Mohawk" he was really pleasant and always joking around with us. I'd definitely go back to stay here.

Room Tip: Maybe the communal showers were better than the private room but not a real big problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The scenic Sugan Hostel is really at central point within Killarney Town, close to the Station and close to centre. The host, Martin, gave us a really warm welcome and was always frriendly and willing to answer all our questions. We started with these place because it is so easy to reach from Kerry Airport and within our 3 weeks holiday in Eire we came back 3 times to this famous hostel. Behind this small red front we found always a comfortable stay. Book early, often it's fully booked!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Met-Aengus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Horrible and rude costumer service at the reception. Sat, 28 July 2012. We went to ask for a room at the hostel the person working at reception with a mohawk was extremely unhelpful and sarcastic in his attitude. He obviously felt that the hostel had a type and we didn't fit it. Even though they had two spare beds in a hostel he still said that we should go to the B and B. I can't believe that the managers would appreciate this advice considering the economic climate. We were touring around and hadn't booked a room, we showed up and asked for the prices and availably of a room and he quoted us the price of a double room and then laughed when we said we would take it and said do you really think it is still available?His attitude was something I have never come across anywhere in Ireland or in the world as a very experienced traveller.

Room Tip: Pick a B and B just around the corner if you can afford it as the people are so much more polite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pablo_Vergara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hostel is in a perfect location just on the edge of the city center it is walking distance to everything. We stayed in a private room and it was fine by hostel standards. The rooms seemed to be very dark, I sort of felt like I was in a dungeon. We were there 3 nights and the owner was great, he made us laugh on many occasions. The bed in our room was a little lopsided as well. This was our only stay in a hostel in Ireland and I would have to say it was nice for a hostel but the bed and breakfasts are a better value and you get more for your money. Depends on what you are looking for I guess.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Quite nice hostel, very good location. A pub just besides with live music.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#8 of 47 in Killarney
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Railway Hostel
Railway Hostel
#41 of 47 in Killarney
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
3 Lakes Hostel
3 Lakes Hostel
#12 of 47 in Killarney
35 reviews
3.1 mi away
Killarney International Youth Hostel
3.7 mi away
Douglasha House
Douglasha House
#1 of 4 in Fossa
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sugan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sugan Hostel

Property: The Sugan Hostel
Address: Lewis Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Sugan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing