We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linehan's B & B - quite simply a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Ranked #43 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Linehan's B & B - quite simply a great place to stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I have been to Kilarney many times and have stayed in a number of vicinities ranging from in town to being on the border of Muckross. I have to say my stay at Linehan's wins hands down for the following reasons:

1) The location - you are right in the middle of the excitement, whether it be catching a few drinks with friends or having a fine family meal -you have peace of mind that you can do what you like, be as late as you like, knowing that you are not far from home. No cabs, no cold walks home - simply trot a few steps next door and you are in ready for a night cap [Barry's tea in my case].

2) The staff - The landlady sets a benchmark for customer care. No matter how big or small the request [morning alarm call, organising taxi's or simply requesting milk to be warmed] the landlady made sure we [as a family] were looked after. My experience of Linehan's is that 'Customer is king'. As a customer I and my family felt very looked after and our weekend's stay was very peaceful and relaxing which was surprising for a B & B in a busy town location.

3) The craic - If its fun you are after and a true experience of the 'irish way' then look no further. From auld fella's sipping a few pints at the bar downstairs and telling a tale or two, to the couple in the back tasting the fine irish stew - the stories of old are modernised to a fresh new perspective. On racing day - the locals flock next door to put on a bet, then watch the race over a pint of the blackstuff - all the while the atmosphere exults excitement. This has to be experienced first hand and cannot be paraphrased by story.

In summary - great location, great comfort, fantastic atmosphere, fabulous food and an experience that will stay with us for some time. I will definitley be returning in October.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mail4kennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    34
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
47
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Couldn't have picked a better B&B. The staff was very friendly and it was a perfect location. Breakfast was included which we didn't realize until the next morning. I forgot my converter (from the U.S.) and they were able to help with that as well. The beds were comfortable and good size rooms. I will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

this place is great !!!! the location is right in the centre of Killarney where you can get a real taste of ireland, the room was perfect, comfortable bed and the shower pressure was excellent which can be a problem in a lot of other places in Killarney that i have stayed in. Freshly cooked full irish breakfast in the morning was a great start to our day, cooked to perfection, our hosts were excellent making sure we well taken care of and gave us great advice on where to go during the day, it's such a beautiful area with so many beautiful things to see, my wife and i were delighted with our stay and if you like to support family businesses this is the place for you, it also has free wi-fi which is great, definitely under priced for the area and for what you get for your money, my only problem is that i don't get to go there often enough

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is the ideal location for sight seeing and socialising in Killarney. It is located in the centre of town. This is a family run business and the owners are absolutely stunning, they couldn't be helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable with a fab shower. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and delicious! I would definitely recommend this B & B and I will be staying here the next time I visit Killarney. Another bonus is the bar attached, a real locals bar with a wonderful atmosphere...great for meeting locals and having a bit of Kerry banter.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I loved this place. Great location, within walking distance to everything. Great price. Clean. Friendly and accomodating staff. They let me use their cell to call the riding stables! Siobhan was such a sweetheart. We were tired of traditional Irish breakfast; they didn't have oatmeal on the menu but Siobhan made it especially for us and earlier than her usual time because we had to leave for the riding stables early in the morning! You have to ask the bartenders to buzz you in after dark in order to get to the rooms upstairs. My boyfriend thought that bugged a little. I thought it helped us get to know the bartenders more which was fun. The bar downstairs was lively but not rowdy which was perfect. It was clean and the room was pretty spacious. I can't wait to come back here.

Room Tip: We had a view of the city below through big windows, small but nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorCervantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

we were very happy with our stay, the b b is right in the middle of killarney , free wi- fi was handy too, really great for a one night stop. Breakfast lady was really friendly and her food was good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galwaylad11058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2011

a trip to kerry was decided between a few friends. Two of us stayed at dan linehans and the others stayed more upmarket but out of the town. Boy were we glad. The rooms were grand and most importantly everything was on the door step. The bar was good laugh with music. Mirrored glass windows from the bar to the street gave us hours of amusement.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theguru61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Failte Hotel
Failte Hotel
#38 of 38 in Killarney
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#32 of 140 in Killarney
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSorleys Entertainment Venue
McSorleys Entertainment Venue
#40 of 47 in Killarney
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Heights B&B
Hilton Heights B&B
#95 of 140 in Killarney
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laune B&B
The Laune B&B
#129 of 140 in Killarney
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 140 in Killarney
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B

Property: Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Address: 13 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms en-suite with power showers, top quality beds, hypoallergenic duvets, flat screen TVs, free wi-fi internet access and an all new breakfast menu. Breakfast is served until 11am. Check out at midday. Dan Linehan's traditional Irish bar in Killarney town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing