We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Ranked #42 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its Best”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed last summer during Killarney race week in July. I just phoned out of the blue the day previous to arriving and dropped very lucky.
On arrival I was helped upstairs with my bags. The Bed & Breakfast is above a pub (all run by the same people) in a main street in the town centre. With the aid of my disabled badge I parked immediately opposite in the public car park and the car didn't move from Sunday afternoon until Friday morning. I was able to go to the races in a taxi, the rank is a full 25 yards away.
The room was very clean and comfortable and although a little noisy, that was expected as I was staying in the town centre, there was no bar noise from downstairs though. The room was en-suite and there was plenty of room in the shower room and hot water was available all day. The one possible comment is that the showers are fixed nozzle, not a wand, but if that is all you have to complain about, you really do need help yourself.
The real plus point is the hospitality and attitudes of the people that run the place. It is family run, mother, daughter and son and all are very nice people who do there best to look after you. There is plenty of choice for breakfast and I am sure if they don't have it on the menu they would it get for the next morning if you asked and it is all cooked fresh.
The pub downstairs is just an extension of the hospitality in the bed & breakfast. I am a journalist among other things and had some work to do on a couple of mornings, I was able to sit in the bar downstairs and use the wifi and was treated to tea and coffee free because I was a guest upstairs. All followed by a very good lunch (I had to pay for that). At the same time I had a good chat with the locals as they came in and out for what appeared as much a social visit as a drink and I became quite friendly with a number of them.
The pub itself is right in the middle of the entertainment area of Killarney and as it was Race Week there was plenty going around town. Those liking a traditional Irish Music night would be well served, there are disco's going on around town and one pub up the road called "Tatler Jack's" doesn't get going until about 11pm, but it was great fun, with a band on into the early hours.
Dan Linehan's also takes part in that traditional Irish custom of the "Stay Behind" or "Lock-In" so you won't go thirsty. In the day if you like a bet you can watch all the racing channels on the pub television and even nip into the bookies next door without even getting wet on a rainy day. I understand that the pub has won an award from one of the satellite racing channels as a racing pub.
All in all it was a great few days that I will repeat and recommend anybody does. If you like Irish pub culture and enjoy meeting people it's great. Proper hospitality, great value for money and very nice people.

Room Tip: Ask for Siobhan when you phone. I am sure she will all she can to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank originalpuskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    33
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
46
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We spent two night in this lovely B&B. The rooms were tidy and clean, only a bit cold. The pub below is great if you wanna be part of the Irish culture. The highlight was the amazing breakfast in the morning (still in love with the banana and blueberry pancakes!!!)
The staff was very friendly, welcoming and helpful, they even changed the television programme for us so we could watch the german football teams in the pub.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 1000Berlin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now, with friends & my husband & wouldn't think off staying anywhere else now, the staff are so helpful & the breakfast times are great, the ladies were so accommodating, we didn't have to worry about getting up at silly o'clock after a night out to get the breakfast, which by the way has to be the best in Ireland ( & i have travelled a lot around Ireland & stayed in B & B). The Beds are extremely comfy, & the rooms themselves are spotless..Great central location, with parking across the road, pub down stairs has a fantastic atmosphere & the locals are very friendly.. & when your tired out from your day, or just had a few to many, you can go to sleep not hearing a thing from the pub.... which is why i have given them a 5* rating.. AMAZING Cant wait to go back again...this time with the kids

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank OneHit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Dan Linehan's Bar and B&B they have the 'trilogy' when you want a short break in Killarney. I have spend three weekend at Linehan and the hospitality and quality of service is absolutely brilliant. The staff are always at hand to go the extra mile whether it is information on the local golf courses or even a arrange a local guide to drive you around the 'Ring of Kerry'. The bar is right in the middle of the town and is well worth the visit. We have stayed there each year when we cycle around the Ring of Kerry in the summer. Some of the staff even cycle with you for the craic...You can not beat it on value, friendliness and comfort. Well done to everyone at Linehan's for your hardwork.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Whenever I head to the 'Kingdom' there really is no other place I'd like to stay other than Dan Linehans Bar and B&B. I have stayed here on numerous occassions. It is a fantastic location for shops, sights, resturants and nightlife. My main reasons for staying at this particular B&B is the fantastic guest service we always recieve. Hannah Linehan and daughter Siobhan are amazing hosts they instantly make you feel welcome and nothing is a bother for them to do. The staff are also fantastic providing a great atmosphere and top service in Dan Linehans Bar. The rooms are lovely and extremely clean. The food is delicious 'Proper Homecooked food', my favourite is the 'Full Irish breakfast' a great way to start the day in lovely Killarney!!!
Would strongly recommend Dan Linehan's as part of your holiday experience.
Romona Elliott

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gallagher77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INdia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have stayed in this B&B on a number of occasions as I found it to be the best B&B in the location for a number of reasons. It's a lovely pub in the centre of town, close to everything. The B&B upstairs is quiet, clean and comfortable. The hosts are very welcoming and nothing is ever a problem. My favourite part of staying here is the bar itself, great atmosphere, friendly locals and the most entertaining landlady in town with her love for Waterford on show behind the bar!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lilmaori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Recently spent a third time at Linehans B&B which was another great weekend! It's in the perfect location if you're looking for something right in the town next to the shops & nightlife. The food at Linehans is absolutely delicious & the staff couldn't do enough for us. Great atmosphere in the pub & we can't wait to visit again this year. I highly recommend you give Linehans a try if you are visiting Killarney you won't get better value for money & a better service!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank pinkilee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Failte Hotel
Failte Hotel
#38 of 38 in Killarney
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#30 of 140 in Killarney
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSorleys Entertainment Venue
McSorleys Entertainment Venue
#40 of 47 in Killarney
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Laune B&B
The Laune B&B
#129 of 140 in Killarney
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Heights B&B
Hilton Heights B&B
#113 of 140 in Killarney
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B

Property: Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Address: 13 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms en-suite with power showers, top quality beds, hypoallergenic duvets, flat screen TVs, free wi-fi internet access and an all new breakfast menu. Breakfast is served until 11am. Check out at midday. Dan Linehan's traditional Irish bar in Killarney town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing