We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay.”
Review of Salmon Leap Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salmon Leap Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed here over Easter for a couple of nights.Perfect for what we wanted.Relaxing scenic surroundings about a ten minute drive outside Killarney.We had a large ensuite room that had two double beds and one single and provided ample space for our family.Power shower was excellent,beds were comfy,breakfast was very good.Our host,Sean was very welcoming and full of local knowledge.Thoroughly recommend this b and b farmhouse.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaritaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Salmon Leap Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2010

This B and B was one of the best we stayed in. The very large room and bathroom were immaculately kept and very comfortable. The great service was provided with a friendly smile and a sense that nothing was too much trouble for the hosts who are all family. We were there to see the place from where our ancestors emigrated to Australia, and Shaun was very helpful with detailed maps showing the area of interest. He is genuinely interested in the history of the area and loves to share his knowledge.
This is a beautifully restored farmhouse with tons of room and in very quiet area. Although it is on the main road and easy to find, there was no traffic noise. The breakfast was served with old fashoned grace in a beautiful family dining room and was delicious and perfectly cooked. This B and B is close to Killarney and the lovely Ring of Kerry and the surrounding area is picturesque with many things to do.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milfycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This beautiful family run guesthouse is one of the best I have stayed in. From the moment I arrived and throughout my stay, Sean could not have been more helpful. The room was big, warm and comfortable, with a lovely ensuite. I was there for a walking weekend with friends and as we were scattered around the area, Sean dropped me up to my friends house each morning.

The farmhouse is ideally situated on the N22, the road from Cork to Killarney. This means that there is easy access to West Cork, the Ring of Kerry, and Killarney is just up the road and Dingle is 1hour and 15 minutes away. It is surrounded by mountains and there is a trail walk on the farm itself.

For value for money, comfort and care I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone who wants to see Kerry.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniemike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at Salmon Leap along with some friends and could not have been more pleased. From learning about the ancient Christian archaeological site on the property to the suggestions regarding the National Park etc; Sean's advice was spot on. It is the perfect starting place for touring the Ring of Kerry. My only regret was we didn't allow 3-4 more days here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This was a really friendly, clean farm bed and breakfast. The classic farmhouse is beautiful and the farm setting is delightful about 10 miles out of Cork. On the negative side though, it is fairly expensive at Euro35 each per night even though we were sharing and spent 2 nights there. There was no kettle for a hot drink option in the room and no WiFi which is available in town at a high price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukmelvilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salmleap, Owner at Salmon Leap Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2011

We are pleased to provide free WiFi at Salmon Leap Farm for 2011 onwards especially as many guests have asked for this service. Regards, Sean O Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Arriving on a damp summer's evening, we were impressed by the genuine welcome from Sean (the owner), who took the time to get to know our interests and purpose for visiting Ireland, and graciously offered to show us around his property. He was also very helpful with suggestions regarding dinner options, and gave us some great tips for our next day's travel.

As for the accommodation: the guest loungeroom was luxurious; the (ensuite) bedroom was comfortable and clean; the breakfast room was bright and cheery; the breakfast was exactly what we asked for; and the garden was beautiful. Sean has certainly set the B&B standard very high at Salmon Leap, something we remembered fondly on our travels around Ireland when we encountered other, less inspirational, accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My wie and I just returned from our trip to Ireland and Scotland. We had the 'pleasure' and I mean pleasure, of staying at the Salmon Leap Farm about 11 km outside Killarney. If you are planning a trip to Ireland and want to have a location where you can see numerous places and return at night to a great B & B, then this is the place. You can travel to the Dingle Penninsula or the Ring of Kerry from here. Or if your travels include Cork and Blarney Castle, or to Cobh where many ooffthe Irish Immigrants began their jouy from (Including the last port of call for the Titanic), then this is an easy location to operate from.
Now about the accommmodations. The room was large, the ensuite shower was the best on our travels and the food was delicious to say the least. On our arrival we were greeted with tea and a snack that set the mood for the stay. Sean, his wife and Mother all made sure thaat our stay was absolutely the best. A simple question would be answered above and beyond just a simple answer. There is a common area for guests to enjoy and meet one another. There are also several books in the common area that show the birds, wild flowers, and wildlife that one might encounter while on the farm.
Everything on the farm is eco friendly and well deserving of the environmental award that this B & B have received.
Another thing not to be missed while there if you are interested in Celtic History, is a trip with Sean to the on-site burial grounds dating back to between 600-1200 AD. I had the pleasure of going with Sean and having him explain the importance of this historic site out in the field behind the farm. The short walk with Sean's historic explanation would be worth the stay if nothing else was. It took about a half hour to walk out and back, but was well worth the time. See Sean to arrange a time for this facinating explanation of history. This is truly an AWEME place and when we plan our next trip too Ireland, my wife and I will plan our visit around our stay at Salmon Leap Farm.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akfishguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
12.1 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
7.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#12 of 38 in Killarney
527 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
92 reviews
14.2 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmon Leap Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Leap Farm

Address: Glenflesk, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salmon Leap Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: This farmhouse is over 200 years old and is situated in the picturesque Glenflesk valley. We are located nine miles east of Killarney town on the N22 road. We have six comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. There is also a guest sitting room. There is a no smoking policy at Salmon Leap Farm. Salmon Leap has private parking, central heating, power showers, TVs in bedrooms and is approved by the Irish Tourist Board. This is an ideal base for touring the South West of Ireland. For visitors interested in walking or hill walking, we offer advice on a number of local hill walking routes. We can adapt the walks to suit your level of fitness. We can also organise walks for beginners and more advanced hill walkers in the Killarney area. Please contact us directly by email for further information. There is a site of archaeological interest at Salmon Leap Farm. It is an early Christian burial ground dating from 500AD to 1200AD. We are located within easy reach of the world famous Killarney Lakes, and are an ideal base for touring the Dingle Peninsula and The Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salmon Leap Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing