We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Salmon Leap Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salmon Leap Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is an excellent B&B run by experienced hosts. The O'Donoghues are very well organised and offer a first rate breakfast and a lovely home that is cosy and quite charming. The "showerdome" is also an invigorating experience! We would be very happy to return there whenever we visit SW Ireland again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stood here for a night in May 2012 and it was great. The son and mother owner were very hospitable and warm. They were very attentive to our needs and made our stay lovely. The bed and breakfast was very charming and had a wonderful atmosphere with views of mountains and farmland. The breakfast and breakfast dining area and living room area with fireplace was very cozy and homey. I would definitely recommend this quaint bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimV27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Coming from a tiny country and being un-used to road trips, we spent a fair amount of time locating the property (even though we were told we were 10 minutes away from the farm, when we stopped to ask for directions, we still missed a turn. Guess we were not used to the sign-posting system).
However, I was glad that we booked and found it eventually. Sean is a very obliging and gracious host and we truly appreciate him taking the time out to take us to the ancient grave stones on the property and explaining their history to us. Sean makes it an effort to be there for the guests - he was behind the counter at 10 odd at night and up early the next morning seeing to our breakfasts.
The rooms are spacious and clean and I especially like the provision of the organic shower gel and shampoo in keeping with the concept of it being an eco-friendly property. One of the rooms we had looked out to the fields where the cows are kept and the toddler with us was so delighted with the view!
So, thank you Sean and staff for making our trip so memorable and special!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairychandelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Beautiful accommodation lovely breakfast. Very Clean and owners very friendly.
Added touches choice of a hard or soft pillow. Shower Dome on the shower units organic shower gel and shampoo.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I stayed with Sean and his family in early April. His wife was there when we arrived rather late in the day, around 9pm, as we were caught up driving the Gap of Moll/Dunloe. She was a warm, welcoming person with a lot of welcome recommendations for what to do in the area. We had suffered a flat tire on the Gap of Dunloe that day so she immediately called Sean who arranged for us to have our tire changed early the next morning at a shop he regularly does business with. We were also interested in doing the Skellig Michael ferry tour the next morning, so Sean called before we woke up to check on weather conditions. On our second day, I fell ill from poorly prepared food, and Sean was more than accommodating, asking if I wanted tea for my stomach and offering to make food later the next morning than normal.

The house itself has a warm inviting feel with a quaint brook in front with a beautiful garden. Views from rooms include mountains and surrounding countryside. Bathroom with very modern showers and other facilities.

Sean also went out of his way to give us guidebooks on places we were going as well as translating "We are pregnant" into Gaelic to take photos with to announce our upcoming arrival.

Would definitely recommend and also will stay again when we return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of Boston
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast about 10 minutes out of Killarney. The property is a working farm that has been in the innkeepers family for centuries (over 300 years old). The property is beautiful with rolling hills in front and meadows leading to mountains in the distance behind. The brook babbles out front. Right off the main road for easy access to your destinations in town or in the country side. The room we had was nicely appointed with a view of the mountains. Bed super comfortable. Inn keeper is nicely present but not over intrusive. Breakfast is in the old part of the house. It was the most classic bed and breakfast we stayed in our week long trip. Most of the others are more like ranch or actually built for the purpose of housing tourists. This one has some style, and a bit of history to seep into.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank votenochains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My granddaughter and I spent a restful, fabulous evening at Salmon Leap. Loved the fire and the relaxing family room and even played cars with the grandson! Such gracious hosts and felt so at home in Ireland because of their hospitality. Helped us plan our next day and sent us on our way refreshed and full of expectation. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
12.1 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
942 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,158 reviews
7.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,478 reviews
8.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#24 of 38 in Killarney
1,254 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#2 of 47 in Killarney
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmon Leap Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Leap Farm

Property: Salmon Leap Farm
Address: Glenflesk, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salmon Leap Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: This farmhouse is over 200 years old and is situated in the picturesque Glenflesk valley. We are located nine miles east of Killarney town on the N22 road. We have six comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. There is also a guest sitting room. There is a no smoking policy at Salmon Leap Farm. Salmon Leap has private parking, central heating, power showers, TVs in bedrooms and is approved by the Irish Tourist Board. This is an ideal base for touring the South West of Ireland. For visitors interested in walking or hill walking, we offer advice on a number of local hill walking routes. We can adapt the walks to suit your level of fitness. We can also organise walks for beginners and more advanced hill walkers in the Killarney area. Please contact us directly by email for further information. There is a site of archaeological interest at Salmon Leap Farm. It is an early Christian burial ground dating from 500AD to 1200AD. We are located within easy reach of the world famous Killarney Lakes, and are an ideal base for touring the Dingle Peninsula and The Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Salmon Leap Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing