We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B of our trip”
Review of Salmon Leap Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salmon Leap Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B of our trip”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

From the moment we arrived, Sean made sure we had whatever we needed. The place was very clean and comfortable. Also, it seemed very "green" with separate trash cans and such. It does offer free wifi on the main floor. I was able to use it from my room, but my husband could not. Make sure you have Sean take you out back to see the historic site. It is not a lot too see, but the history and story of it is worth it. It also gives you a chance to get to know a very nice man. TIP- If your bathroom has a skylight in it, like ours did, close the bathroom door before you go to bed. The light from it might wake you up earlier than you had wanted. Breakfast was delicious. If I get back to Ireland, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and two girls over Easter and had a lovely time.Was here previously four years ago and happy to report that nothing has changed.Its an old farmhouse about 10-15 minutes drive from Killarney.Great location for touring around the fantastic scenery of Kerry.
The farmhouse is just on the N22 but at night the quiet and dark were just incredible.Coming from Dublin or indeed any large city you will be struck by this straight away.It made for really relaxing nights sleep.No traffic noise, house alarms, etc fantastic.
Sean took great care of us and has the knack of being around whenever you need him for directions or advice whilst being totally non obtrusive aswell.
Breakfasts were hearty and filling and the shower in our family room was probably the most powerful I've ever encountered!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaritaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 3 days with Sean at Salmon Leap. We can't thank him and the family for their amazing hospitality, nothing is to much trouble for them all. Stayed in many B&B's and this is certainly up with the best. The purpose of the trip was walking in the National Park and Dingle peninsula which was stunning as had amazing weather over Easter. If you're visiting Killarney I can't recommend highly enough. Thanks Sean......

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I recently spent a short weekend in Ireland and our first nights stay was at the Salmon Leap Farm. What a wonderful experience! From the moment we walked in the door, Sean took care of our every need, even down to supplying us with a UK outlet adapter since we did not bring one ourselves.
The room was cozy and spacious, with plenty of room. Breakfast the next morning was our first introduction to a real "Irish breakfast" and it did not disappoint! Again, Sean went above our expectations with the wonderful service and food, as well as friendly conversation.
We felt right at home. The B&B was a short drive from Killarney, but very well worth going out of town for the experience we had. My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's across the US and Europe and we both agree, this was the best experience we have had. If we ever are in Ireland again, we will be making our way back to the Salmon Leap Farm!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I can't even say how much I loved this entire property and it broke my heart that I was only there for about 18 hours! Arriving in the dark evening, Sean met us at the door and offered to help with bags. Once checked in he had offered tea in the sitting area which we took him up on. It was such a cozy home it felt like we were visiting family. We sat next to the fire in the sitting room in pajamas, sipping tea and eating shortbread and Sean ended up chatting with us for close to an hour about local wildlife, culture and this history of the property. When we retired for the night I had the amazing Shower Experience (power showers are outfitted with a steam dome... trust me - do yourself a favor and get a shower dome) and then the best night's sleep.

The next morning I ate breakfast under a picture of JFK while watching local sheep graze out of the window. Sean's son Peter entertained us with his hot wheels and it continued to feel like we were visiting relatives. I was glad I asked to tour the properties burial and alter stones dating to the year 400 because it puts the world into perspective and Sean's knowledge of history was inspiring. I would love to go back here on my next trip!

Room Tip: There are room original to the home (350 years old) and those that were added later for the B&B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Sheila and Michael O'Donohugh really know the meaning of Cead Mile Failte (a hundred thousand welcomes). The hospitallity of Salmon Leap Farm is everything you could ever want. Add to that the stunning location, excellent salmon fishing and the proximity to Killarney and the Ring of Kerry and you have the perfect B&B for 1 one or a week!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizchriswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We loved our two nights and Salmon Leap. The common area was so welcoming and we spent some time both evenings by the fire as well as tea at our arrival. Our host, Sean, was very accomodating and attentive. Breakfast was lovely and the room was very comfortable. Also, the shower was really something special - a "showerdome" that creates a steam bath! We loved our stay here. I wish we had had more time here to see the farm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
12.1 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
943 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,162 reviews
7.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,479 reviews
8.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,256 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmon Leap Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Leap Farm

Property: Salmon Leap Farm
Address: Glenflesk, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salmon Leap Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: This farmhouse is over 200 years old and is situated in the picturesque Glenflesk valley. We are located nine miles east of Killarney town on the N22 road. We have six comfortable bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. There is also a guest sitting room. There is a no smoking policy at Salmon Leap Farm. Salmon Leap has private parking, central heating, power showers, TVs in bedrooms and is approved by the Irish Tourist Board. This is an ideal base for touring the South West of Ireland. For visitors interested in walking or hill walking, we offer advice on a number of local hill walking routes. We can adapt the walks to suit your level of fitness. We can also organise walks for beginners and more advanced hill walkers in the Killarney area. Please contact us directly by email for further information. There is a site of archaeological interest at Salmon Leap Farm. It is an early Christian burial ground dating from 500AD to 1200AD. We are located within easy reach of the world famous Killarney Lakes, and are an ideal base for touring the Dingle Peninsula and The Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Salmon Leap Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing