We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undercooked chicken is NEVER acceptable and sometimes dangerous”

Salvador's Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 185 Restaurants in Killarney
Price range: US$14 - US$36
Cuisines: Irish, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Specialising in homemade pizza!Grills, salads, fish, chicken, traditional Irish......Lots of wine, beer and desserts!!!Kids colouring menu!!!!!Perfect place for a casual meal any time of the day!
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Undercooked chicken is NEVER acceptable and sometimes dangerous”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I am always in favour of locally run restaurants and have promoted Salvadors in the Forums on more than one occasion. However after tonight's meal, I will do so no more.

Four of us ate there. We ordered a Salvador's Special (chicken with a spinach stuffing wrapped in bacon), Chicken Goujons, Pizza Americana and a Chicken Fantasie (Chicken in a mustard and onion sauce served on a bed of mash). We had side orders as well.

The meals arrived promptly and appeared to be fine. Nothing extraordinary. My meal (chicken fantasie) was a little less fine that the others. The initial piece of chicken I tried was tough. Not what you expect. And the potato was very lumpy. However when I cut into the second piece of chicken it was pink inside. Most disconcerting and not acceptable. At that stage I spoke with a member of staff and returned my meal, declining the offer of another meal because at this stage I was not comfortable.

The chips tasted unpleasant and we ended up leaving those too.

The staff did apologise, but I still believe that in a situation where undercooked poultry is being served to customers, there are potential health risks.

We paid the bill and left quickly and I picked up a microwave meal from Tescos to eat back at our rented house. We won't be in a rush to return.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bean_Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    173
    102
    61
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Great food and good service - especially any of the pasta dishes I tried

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelIreland87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Left hungry”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Went with my husband and son. Food is all freezer food just heated up. My mash potato had lumps of raw potatoe inside. Truly awful. Sons burger was awful processed meat and frozen chips. Toilets a disgrace. Never go here. Leaving hungry is never acceptable

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daffodilbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend it.”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We ate here recently and were appalled to pay what we did for what we got. From the not so friendly waiting staff to the substandard bland food, this place was a big let down.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dont even consider this for food”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in Killarney and we went looking for food. We were cleverly duped into entering what seem to be a traditional irish pub from the outside advirtising only to discover a modern looking sleek bistro type restaurant.The lack of people inside should have warned us but we didnt listen to that inner voice. We ordered from a very basic menu and waited.The service from the non irish staff was very cold and abrupt.My wife ordered Fish,chips and mushy peas while I went for the basic burger and chips.At approx €17 each we expected a decent portion of food . The food arrived.A burger with bacon on top and chips was all I got. No salad, no garnish.Basic but edible.My wifes dish arrived and a timble of mushy peas along with a piece of battered fish and a handful chips. MY advice -dont eat here, total ripoff,and nothing irish about athis as Irishpeople know value of good portions and vegetables.,This is a placve out tto make a qucik buck on the back of Irishness and duping tourists into a false setting of Irishness.We paid about€33 for 2 miserley mains when we could have easily spent half that in the chipper down the road and got traditional irish fare with good manners included.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WildIrishRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salvador's Restaurant also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Salvador's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing