We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the rest..”

Mac's of Main Street
Ranked #22 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest..”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Was down in Killarney recently with a group of friends for a night out, we decided to go for a fry up the morning after the night before.

After asking around we were advised that Macs was the best spot in town for our needs... It didn't disappoint.

The staff were very friendly and efficient, the food was top notch and reasonably priced - I will be back.

Thanks to all in Macs for your hospitality.

Helpful?
Thank GalwayPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    186
    75
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent food and staff so friendly”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

went here for breakfast yesterday August 18th with my mum daughter and grandaughter we had 3 large breakfasts and one vegetarian breakfast which were really nice and big also. It was served with lots of toast and beautiful brown bread. The lady that served us was so nice and friendly and took time to speak with my Grandaughter who is a little chatterbox. Will definetly be back here next time in killarney.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeankiely07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I visited macs restaurant last week with two if my friends and one of their 20 month old daughter. Staff we're very welcoming and seated us, helped us with our buggy and straight away got us a high chair. I have to say they went above and beyond for us. The food was a dream. I had the chicken ciabatta which was amazing. Portions sizes very generous. Baby bowl came out straight away too which was very efficient by our waitress. To top it off we had the ice cream to finish which was just amazing. I will definitely be coming back to macs in the future!!!! Great atmosphere, fabulous food and fantastic service!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrelandSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exactly what it says on the menu”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have been here for lunch several times and have had the chicken wrap and wings. Both were exactly as ordered and the portion size is very big. It's excellent value for good quality food. Would recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cara23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful ....”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

So went to macs for a treat with my 5 year old and 18month old . The restaurant was busy but ee were seated straight away , we ordered fast enough and waited , didn't wait long for dinner , noone offered high chair so said I'd wait til food came , our waiter dropped food and was gone , so he left 3 forks and knives , one for an 18 month old ??? Nobody came near us then til we were leaving , couldn't ask for high chair or teaspoon , which I thought would be common knowledge that babies eat with spoons ... The meat was nice but potato and veg were tasteless ... Won't b going back.. Definitely need to get some sort of training for their staff , as all waiting staff ask is everything ok , but not there :(

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yreehaluap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Mac's of Main Street, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Hi Yreehaluap,

Macs of Main Street are currently in a reviewal stage of our customer service and actively implementing new systems to ensure our high standards are being met to consistently meet the standards that our customers deserve. We are currently purchasing more high chairs to meet the high demand. We appreciate you pointing out any flaws in our previous systems and we can assure you that our staff training is an ongoing process. We hope you shall return as we appreciate your custom and hope you have a very nice day.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac's of Main Street also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Mac's of Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing