We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind after golf”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #15 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to unwind after golf”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Irish stew was exceptional and the Smithwick's was cold! Could watch golf from the US after dinner!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Good Afternoon from Murphy's Bar lovely to receive your very positive review passed it on to the Team here and they are delighted....thanks

Kind regards

Sean Murphy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    402
    81
    43
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
“Great craic,great entertainment”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is one bar I would highly recommend.The staff and the food were second to none.The bar owner makes you feel very welcome.I will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Hello from Killarney and Murphy's Bar....great to read your review on your experience here with us. We value all feed back from customers, especially when it's positive. Thanks so much

Kind regards

Sean Murphy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“A Must Visit!”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Just got back from Ireland and loved my stay in Killarney! Murphy's Bar & Restaurant is a must visit; great food, great people and great service! Kate our waitress was very friendly and welcoming. The food was so good and reasonable we ate there 2 nights and enjoyed both occasions. Everyone right down to the locals who played music made you feel at home!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must visit place in Killarney”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Just finished a weeks holidays in Killarney and had been told inadvance to visit Murphy's Bar & Resturant and now glad we did. The food was excellent and very good value too. The staff were excellent and could not of been more welcomming, there was one bartender called Kevin who had all the charm and charisma to entertain the guests single handed with stories of Killarney and where and what to do while visitng in Killarney. A real charmer!!!!!!!
Cant wait to come back and would recommend this placde to anyone!! We will be back for sure.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Good Afternoon from Killarney John,
Many thanks for your kind review. We love to hear back from customers especially the happy ones. Kevin is still smiling after reading your review as am I.
We all look forward to seeing you back in Killarney in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Sean Muprhy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service Is Key!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I'll just start by saying, I am by no means a food critic and will never profess to be, but it doesn't take a rocket scientist to understand when you are being rushed, your table is rudely being cleared and your bill being forced on you, that service is definitely lacking in this place, and all of this at about 9:30? Don't get me wrong, we all enjoyed our food and we enjoyed "our" company but that's where it pretty much ends. It seemed that the reason we were being rushed out is because all the guests who were in our side of the pub had gone through to watch Traditional Music in the other side of the pub! Does that warrant the rush? Not sure I'll be coming back here soon

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Good Afternoon Anthony,
Thank you for your recent review. Firstly I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your food but very disappointed to hear about the level of service you experienced and apologise . Squires is a stand alone bar which is open until 11.30pm, you should not have been rushed . We pride ourselves on our customer service here in Murphy's & Squires and without your customer feed back we cannot improve on this. Your comments have been brought to attention of the staff and we hope that this experience does not deter you from calling again.

Kind regards
Sean Murphy
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing