We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded and Friendly”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #15 of 183 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mississippi
Level Contributor
471 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Crowded and Friendly”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was the first stop on our pub crawl. When our tour group entered Murphy's Bar, it was essentially standing room only. My wife and I each got a huge glass of wine, of which we had drunk maybe half by the time our tour manager said we had to leave. My wife talked to different groups of people, some of whom were enjoying their meals. The atmosphere seemed quite friendly, and the bar, like many we encountered in France, seemed to cater to whole families, as one young couple had their 6-month-old baby with them. You would never see that in the U.S. I can't really comment on the food, as we didn't eat there, but it certainly looked appetizing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good Afternoon from all in Murphys.

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time here with us in Murphys.

I hope we will see you again soon to sample some of the food as well as the wine.

We hope you will return to us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    389
    80
    43
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Murphy's Bar”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had a late lunch at Murphy's. Great service and good pub food at reasonable prices. Would visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoCork146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your lovely recent review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great local pub!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having read the reviews of Murphy's Bar in Killarney we decided to give it a try - it did not disappoint! The service was great and food portions generous. We went early in the evening - too early for the live music - but my husband did enjoy the televised sports events. We will return the next time we're in Killarney and would recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank somebodysmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good Afternoon from all in Murphys,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time with us and that you are already planning to come back to us when you return.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crowded but good food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Waited to be seated but food was great! Enjoyed the Kerry mussels which could have served two but save room for dessert.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bansheecary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good Afternoon from all in Murphys.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time here with us.

I am especially delighted to hear you enjoyed our fresh Kerry Mussels.

I hope we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food and great entertainment”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Go early for dinner and secure a good seat for the traditional Irish music that starts later in the evening. Bar can get a little crowded, but if you're at a booth it is very comfortable. Food and drink were all very good. Atmosphere was fun (world cup was playing on the tv, then live music started after).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bhampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good Afternoon from Killarney.

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time here with us.

I hope we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing