We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gleneagle River Apartments
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I were looking for accommodation for a mid-week break in Killarney with my husband and uncle and I decided an apartment rental would be ideal for our needs as opposed to a hotel. We stayed at the River apartments for 4 days and we were delighted with the standard of accommodation.

They were clean and very well maintained, lots of room and with a fully equipped kitchen, 2 large bedrooms, sleeps 5 and 2 bathrooms. They are ideally located, near to all the town amenities and we were able to use the leisure facilities in the Glen Eagle Hotel. The reception staff on arrival and departure were fantastic with plenty of Irish welcome and smiles and I would not hesitate to recommend these apartments to any group, family or couple - there are very keenly priced at low season and would be worth it for a short break....needless to say that I will be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-smoking or smoking room at booking as both are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyHolidaymaker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed in The River Apartments for a family holiday and found the apartments very clean,comfortable and most importantly spacious for a family of 5.Great location just behind the Brehon Hotel and walking distance to Gleneagles where you could avail of the facilities.The staff in both Gleneagle and Brehon are very helpful and courteous.Superb location for all the tourist attractions Killarney has to offer and walking distance to the town itself.We booked The River Apartments as our children are 13,11 and 10 yrs who could avail of all the activities the Gleneagles hotel had on offer on their website for both on and off site who would be charged accordingly,however I telephoned the Gleneagles on the morning we arrived to find out what time that days activities would start,to be told that there was no childrens entertainment until the following week,I then asked if the teens room would be opened for my older child to be told that would not be opened either until the following week.I enquired if there was a charge for the use of the towels for using the swimming pool to be told that there was a €1.00 charge per towel per person,there was also an additional charge for any extra towels that may have been required in the apartment,so we saved some money and brought extra towels from home.The pool was great,however,there was a school trip to the pool on our first day and they were given inflatables to play with,when the school trip left,all the inflatables were taked away,as there were only a few people left in the pool and I asked a lifeguard if we could play with one of the plastic balls and he said no,if we wanted to play with one,we would have to buy one at reception.Theres so much to do and see in Killarney would definately stay in The River Apartments again and would recommend them to anyone visiting Killarney.

Room Tip: Would definately recommend The River Apartments for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed in the Gleneagle River apartments in December 11. We booked two apartments side by side as we had a group of 8 staying after a wedding in Tralee. The apartments are located behind the Brehon hotel no problem to find. They are about a 3 minute drive to Killarney town centre. On a nice day it would be fine to walk to the centre. They are directly accross from the Killarney National Park.

The apartments were lovely, my friends couldnt get over how big and clean both apartments were. The underfloor heating is amazing but be warned it can get extremely warm if left on for too long. Each apartment had two bedrooms. One had a double bed and a single bed and a shared bathroom and the other had 3 single beds and an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen/sitting room was a great size with two large couches a table and six chairs. We decided to cook dinner in the apartment so we took a trip to tesco about ten mins by car. Everything we needed for cooking was available in the apartment it was great and such a good way to save money. The beds were very comfortable also everyone had a great nights sleep.

My only fault is the 10 o clock check out i suppose its the same with all apartments. But we didnt surface until about 11 so it was half 11 by the time we left. The cleaning staff were waiting about 15mins for us but they didnt put us under any pressure to leave.

Overall these apartments were excellent, in a great location, well equipped and really good value. We have looked to book these apartments for St Patricks Weekend but unfortunately they are sold out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Together with colleagues I stayed here for a week, for business and also for holiday. The check-in for the River apartments was in the Gleneagle hotel which went very smoothly, even though there was a huge crowd of people waiting for the check-in. The apartment buildings were located next to the river surrounded by fields, and a mini golf court is on the other side of the parking place.
We had our apartment on the 2nd floor, which was very convenient since it could be a bit noisy in the hallway because a couple of apartments are located in one building.
Our apartment was very spacious with 2 large bedrooms and 2 en suite bathrooms. The kitchen and the living room were equipped with everything we needed: 2 sofa’s a nice kitchen table and chairs and also all pots and pans were available. There was even a storage room with an ironing board.
In the refrigerator some milk, bread and butter were provided as well as cereals and tea bags were in the cupboards. This was excellent since we were a bit hungry when we arrived. During our stay we noticed that the central heating was set to a quite high temperature, and we didn’t manage to turn in down, but it wasn’t annoying. The service was very good, we had a problem with one of the toilettes and within 30 minutes someone came to solve the problem.
The location of the apartments is ok, since you can go for dinner or a drink to the Gleneagle or the Brehon. And if you want you can walk to the city center, although it’s a walk of 20-30 minutes. The national park is definitely worth a visit (or two) and also the gap of dunloe has stunning views.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed at the River apartments at the Gleneagle Hotel for the halloween break and I have to stay it really ticks all the boxes for a family holiday. The aprartments are extremely spacious we had our two young children and our au pair with us and there was plenty of space. There was a welcome pack of breakfast cereal, bread, milk etc. which meant we could have a cup of tea and snack when we arrived. The apartments were serviced three times during the week and general standard of cleanliness and facilities was excellent. The major plus with staying in these apartments is that you can use all of the facilities in the Gleneagle Hotel including the kids club, swimming pool, play area etc.. The apartments are actually right behind the Brehon Hotel which serves great bar food and is really nice for an evening drink. We went to see Imelda May in the INEC one night and our little boy went to Barney there during the day so there really was something to keep everyone happy. Our au pair used the shuttle bus service to Killarney town. Overall I would definitely return and I think that it would be hard to beat the facilities combined with the freedom self catering offers. We have stayed at the Brehon many times before (pre small children!) and it was great to be so close to it but with the space and facilities of an apartment.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
Thank MARPADJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fleima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,311 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Place Apartments
Park Place Apartments
#1 of 47 in Killarney
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
595 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gleneagle River Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gleneagle River Apartments

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: £95 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gleneagle River Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 300 metres from the Gleneagle Hotel - Killarney's exclusive self-catering Gleneagle River Apartments, with their tranquil surroundings and fabulous location, are the epitome of self-catering luxury in Killarney. Designed to a 4 star standard, each spacious self-catering apartment has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a family room and sleep 4-5 people comfortably. While visiting Killarney, residents of the self-catering River Apartments can enjoy exclusive use of all of Gleneagle's extensive leisure facilities, and can also avail of discounts to certain scheduled events in the INEC. The River Apartment Self Catering - Killarney Facilities include: Kitchen - Refrigerator -Tea/Coffee - Microwave - Toaster - Fan Assisted Oven & Hob - Large television with Multi-Channel TV - Direct dial telephone - Iron & Ironing board - Travel Cot & Highchair available - Linen & Towels supplied. Our Housekeeping service is also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gleneagle River Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing