We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gleneagle River Apartments
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went here for a weekend break with my family. We had two apartments, they were excellent very clean, warm and well equipped. It was also very reasonably priced and we had use of all the facilities of the nearby hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Gleneagle River apartments in the first week of April with family. We were stunned when we walked in at how large these apartments were for the price we paid.

Two full sized bedrooms. On with a large double and a single. The other with 3 singles. Could easily accommodate six people. Two bathrooms - large with complementary toileteries. Full sized kitchen, dining room and lounge. Working tv and DVD. French doors leading out into a shared very large stretch of garden. It is fenced off, so safe for children.

Being part of the Gleneagle River Hotel, all their facilities can be made use of - including the pool, gym, children's club, teen room, babysitting services and nightly entertainment shows.

Superb location, opposite the Killarney National Park and a short drive into Killarney town centre.

Excellent retreat. Planning on visiting again soon bringing the rest of our very large extended family.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TaprobaneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed here for a week in September 2012. Myself, wife and 2 year old . Apartment was very clean , fully equipped and spacious.

Kitchen has full cooker including oven, washing machine, drier, dishwasher , fridge freezer and all utensils. Iron, Ironing board and clothes rack provided too.
Living room/dining area very large had a dining table with seating for 6. 2 lounges in living room(both 2 seaters) facing the TV , TV Even had DVD player hooked up.

2 bedrooms one with double and single bed, the other had 3 single beds. The room with the 3 single beds was en-suite/electric shower.
Main bathroom has a shower unit in the bath, very very good flow . Water always seemed to be hot and we didn't turn heat on ourselvs.

Hallway very large easliy held our 2 bicycles with room to spare.

Grounds, facing the gleneagles pitch and put course there is a very large garden behind the apartments. The garden runs along the river(well fenced off)

Location about 10-15 minute stroll outside town of Killarney. 10-15 minute stroll in other diredction and you are in mucross park.
Apartments are behind the Brehon hotel and close(2 mins walk) to the Gleneagle hotel.
All facilities at glen eagle can be used as if you are a guest of the hotel. The swimming pool is (I think) a 25meter pool and has a large and seperate child paddling pool.
There is a childs play room in hotel(5 eur per hour) with slides vall pool and various toys /books. This was a nice surprise for us and 2 year old loved it in there.

Didn't try the restaurants.

over all really impressed and enjoyed our stay. Would I recomment it , ? definitely.

perfect? No(can be a bit of noise from corridor).
5* standard? No some fittings a bit tired/worn/plasticy.

Exceeds expectations? Definitley.
Will we be back? Yes!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I were looking for accommodation for a mid-week break in Killarney with my husband and uncle and I decided an apartment rental would be ideal for our needs as opposed to a hotel. We stayed at the River apartments for 4 days and we were delighted with the standard of accommodation.

They were clean and very well maintained, lots of room and with a fully equipped kitchen, 2 large bedrooms, sleeps 5 and 2 bathrooms. They are ideally located, near to all the town amenities and we were able to use the leisure facilities in the Glen Eagle Hotel. The reception staff on arrival and departure were fantastic with plenty of Irish welcome and smiles and I would not hesitate to recommend these apartments to any group, family or couple - there are very keenly priced at low season and would be worth it for a short break....needless to say that I will be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-smoking or smoking room at booking as both are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHolidaymaker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed in The River Apartments for a family holiday and found the apartments very clean,comfortable and most importantly spacious for a family of 5.Great location just behind the Brehon Hotel and walking distance to Gleneagles where you could avail of the facilities.The staff in both Gleneagle and Brehon are very helpful and courteous.Superb location for all the tourist attractions Killarney has to offer and walking distance to the town itself.We booked The River Apartments as our children are 13,11 and 10 yrs who could avail of all the activities the Gleneagles hotel had on offer on their website for both on and off site who would be charged accordingly,however I telephoned the Gleneagles on the morning we arrived to find out what time that days activities would start,to be told that there was no childrens entertainment until the following week,I then asked if the teens room would be opened for my older child to be told that would not be opened either until the following week.I enquired if there was a charge for the use of the towels for using the swimming pool to be told that there was a €1.00 charge per towel per person,there was also an additional charge for any extra towels that may have been required in the apartment,so we saved some money and brought extra towels from home.The pool was great,however,there was a school trip to the pool on our first day and they were given inflatables to play with,when the school trip left,all the inflatables were taked away,as there were only a few people left in the pool and I asked a lifeguard if we could play with one of the plastic balls and he said no,if we wanted to play with one,we would have to buy one at reception.Theres so much to do and see in Killarney would definately stay in The River Apartments again and would recommend them to anyone visiting Killarney.

Room Tip: Would definately recommend The River Apartments for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed in the Gleneagle River apartments in December 11. We booked two apartments side by side as we had a group of 8 staying after a wedding in Tralee. The apartments are located behind the Brehon hotel no problem to find. They are about a 3 minute drive to Killarney town centre. On a nice day it would be fine to walk to the centre. They are directly accross from the Killarney National Park.

The apartments were lovely, my friends couldnt get over how big and clean both apartments were. The underfloor heating is amazing but be warned it can get extremely warm if left on for too long. Each apartment had two bedrooms. One had a double bed and a single bed and a shared bathroom and the other had 3 single beds and an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen/sitting room was a great size with two large couches a table and six chairs. We decided to cook dinner in the apartment so we took a trip to tesco about ten mins by car. Everything we needed for cooking was available in the apartment it was great and such a good way to save money. The beds were very comfortable also everyone had a great nights sleep.

My only fault is the 10 o clock check out i suppose its the same with all apartments. But we didnt surface until about 11 so it was half 11 by the time we left. The cleaning staff were waiting about 15mins for us but they didnt put us under any pressure to leave.

Overall these apartments were excellent, in a great location, well equipped and really good value. We have looked to book these apartments for St Patricks Weekend but unfortunately they are sold out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Together with colleagues I stayed here for a week, for business and also for holiday. The check-in for the River apartments was in the Gleneagle hotel which went very smoothly, even though there was a huge crowd of people waiting for the check-in. The apartment buildings were located next to the river surrounded by fields, and a mini golf court is on the other side of the parking place.
We had our apartment on the 2nd floor, which was very convenient since it could be a bit noisy in the hallway because a couple of apartments are located in one building.
Our apartment was very spacious with 2 large bedrooms and 2 en suite bathrooms. The kitchen and the living room were equipped with everything we needed: 2 sofa’s a nice kitchen table and chairs and also all pots and pans were available. There was even a storage room with an ironing board.
In the refrigerator some milk, bread and butter were provided as well as cereals and tea bags were in the cupboards. This was excellent since we were a bit hungry when we arrived. During our stay we noticed that the central heating was set to a quite high temperature, and we didn’t manage to turn in down, but it wasn’t annoying. The service was very good, we had a problem with one of the toilettes and within 30 minutes someone came to solve the problem.
The location of the apartments is ok, since you can go for dinner or a drink to the Gleneagle or the Brehon. And if you want you can walk to the city center, although it’s a walk of 20-30 minutes. The national park is definitely worth a visit (or two) and also the gap of dunloe has stunning views.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.0 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,277 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,109 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
2.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gleneagle River Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gleneagle River Apartments

Property: The Gleneagle River Apartments
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gleneagle River Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 300 metres from the Gleneagle Hotel - Killarney's exclusive self-catering Gleneagle River Apartments, with their tranquil surroundings and fabulous location, are the epitome of self-catering luxury in Killarney. Designed to a 4 star standard, each spacious self-catering apartment has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a family room and sleep 4-5 people comfortably. While visiting Killarney, residents of the self-catering River Apartments can enjoy exclusive use of all of Gleneagle's extensive leisure facilities, and can also avail of discounts to certain scheduled events in the INEC. The River Apartment Self Catering - Killarney Facilities include: Kitchen - Refrigerator -Tea/Coffee - Microwave - Toaster - Fan Assisted Oven & Hob - Large television with Multi-Channel TV - Direct dial telephone - Iron & Ironing board - Travel Cot & Highchair available - Linen & Towels supplied. Our Housekeeping service is also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Gleneagle River Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing