We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly.”
Review of Carranross House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carranross House
Ranked #55 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed here at the start of December while in Killarney on business, Mary runs a very warm and friendly guess house, the room was as good as any hotel I have stayed in and Mary made me feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortsDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

This B&B was really a good address. Mary was very friendly and she gave us good tipps for our trips in irleland. The breakfast was perfect, every day we could choose another meal: scrambeled egg with salmon or egg with bacon or omlett or pancake or .... I want to get the recept for the hand made cake and bread !!! The room was very clean and had a good standard. In the queen size bed we slept well. The Carranross House was only 10 minutes walk from the town centre with a lot of pubs. Additionally the location near to Moucross House and Castle ... is another advantage. So we really can recommend this B&B and probably we will come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have a very pleasant stay and the hostess Mary was very friendly and even sent us a welcome message before we arrived. We didn't have breakfast with her as it was not included in our booking. She briefed us in details the attractions around.

The room was spacious and clean, and self-contained in every aspect. It was very value-for-money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watakeet_boris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I was a very happy traveler when I stayed at the Carranross House last month. Mary is a gracious host who makes your stay her top priority. I was surprised by how large our room was! The beds were super comfortable and the shower was very relaxing. The house is about a 15 minute walk from the downtown area, which provides a nice variety of restaurants and shops. The Carranross House was by far the most cozy and accommodating B&B I've experienced while in Ireland. I know where I'll be staying the next time I'm in Killarney!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I had great stay over a bank holiday weekend.Great location and base from which to go from and get to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANTHONY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here with my mom for a weekend in Killarney, and we had a ball. Mary was super sweet and went out of her way to help us enjoy our stay. She even took photos for us when my mom and I went kayaking in the park, and emailed them to us. The location was nice- a pretty easy walk in to town but far enough out to be quiet and peaceful. We slept great! I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CortneyCopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Carranross House was one of my favourite B&B's in Ireland. It ticks all the boxes, location, comfort and hospitality! The room we had was massive and was extremely clean and even had a bath. This is the perfect base for exploring the ring of Kerry and Killarney town centre, as it is only a 15 minute stroll into town. Mary was a great host who was able to provide a great deal of information about the local area. Make sure you stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,326 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carranross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carranross House

Address: Carranross House 65 Park Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £81 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carranross House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carranross House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing