We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly welcome & clean rooms”
Review of Carranross House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carranross House
Ranked #48 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly welcome & clean rooms”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Mary was a great host and nothing was too much trouble for her. She was more than happy to help us plan our activities and recommended places for us to eat.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfasts were very good and Mary's home baking was a bonus.
If I have to mention anything, and this is minor, it's that my scrambled egg was put onto a cold plate, so wasn't very warm when I got it. But like I say, minor and can be easily rectified.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A short walk from the train station in Killarney, ideal because it is not in the middle of the noise of the city but close enough to enjoy it as well. Mary is welcoming and loves her metier. The bedroom is super clean, comfortable, warm and silent. Her breakfast is varied and tasty. Mary can book tours and helps you get located. From Killarney you can do wonderful day trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a wonderful time in Killarney for St. Patrick's weekend. Mary & Eva were very welcoming, with lots of local recommendations/advice. Their home is very clean & comfortable and we had a large bedroom & bathroom. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts with a great choice. This B&B is ideally situated being a short stroll from the town centre with Muckross House and the Lakes of Killarney a short drive away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bohsdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Greeted by the friendly owner of the lovely bed and breakfast.
Very clean house and room. The bed was very comfy and bathroom was nice.
A five minute drive to town which has numerous pubs, restaurants, cafes, shops and night clubs.
Taxi cost 6 euro back to the B&B including a tip.
Lovely night sleep and had a gorgeous breakfast the next morning. We had the choice of a full Irish breakfast, scrambled eggs or home made pancakes.
This stay was reasonably priced and I would definitely recommend anybody to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uplands99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our stay at the Carranross House was great. Mary was a very welcoming host and offer great service. The pancakes at breakfast were so good! Very well located and easy access to the attractions and restaurants. We are highly recommended this place and will come back for sure when will return to Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My friends were in need of a B & B recommendation in Killarney - with so many to choose from I hoped my choice with Carranross House was the right way to go. It was more than the right choice! My friends were thrilled and very comfortable staying at this B & B. The owner, Mary, extended herself to their needs and made them feel more than welcome and at home. They were pleased with my recommendation and I'm pleased that they were so happy with their stay. Great B & B all the way around!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osagegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

While the parking area may be a bit dicey when Mary is full, other than that, wow - what a great stay. We met so many interesting people. Mary speaks fluent French. She is a most gracious host. Our room was spot on with a large bathroom and a big room and bed - just as she promised. The rate was right and there was a discount for an extended stay - we stayed 4 nights. Her dog is fun to play with and her daughter is a lovely young lady, delightful to talk with. Need directions to anywhere around, just ask Mary.
Be careful with the round-a-bout near by as folks don't like to yield. Aldi's is so near by to pick up snacks, water, fruit etc.
Mary let us eat our take out Chinese dinner in the dining room.
You can not go wrong while staying here - she is close to the major roads and the downtown area.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 02corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#6 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dunn Court House
Dunn Court House
#58 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ros Villa B&B
Ros Villa B&B
#63 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Applecroft House
Applecroft House
#24 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carranross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carranross House

Property: Carranross House
Address: Carranross House 65 Park Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carranross House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carranross House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing