We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carranross House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carranross House
Ranked #47 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Above and beyond!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Just want to say a huge thank you to Mary who really made our stay great! We were doing the Ring of Kerry charity cycle and Mary let us bring our bikes in, made us scones and flapjacks for our early (5.45am) breakfast AND got up to cook us eggs! So helpful and accommodating! The beds were super comfy, rooms really clean and it was a bare 10 min walk into town. Ample parking around too! Thanks again Mary!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Griffitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a great stay in Carranross in Killarney. The location (easy walk to town), gracious and welcoming host and value for money all added up to the perfect stay. Mary suggested many different places for us to visit with her local knowledge and experience as a tour guide. We very much enjoyed her home baking, and slept soundly at night after all the Kerry sight seeing. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyTravellerMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had a wonderful time! Mary was a great hostess and many times gave me a ride to the town center and Killarney National Park since I was traveling alone and had to other transportation other than bus or walking. She even picked me up at the airport and took me back to the airport. The room was great with a lovely view out the front. Mary was full of information and we shared mutual personal information. I would love to go back there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Mary was a great host and nothing was too much trouble for her. She was more than happy to help us plan our activities and recommended places for us to eat.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfasts were very good and Mary's home baking was a bonus.
If I have to mention anything, and this is minor, it's that my scrambled egg was put onto a cold plate, so wasn't very warm when I got it. But like I say, minor and can be easily rectified.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A short walk from the train station in Killarney, ideal because it is not in the middle of the noise of the city but close enough to enjoy it as well. Mary is welcoming and loves her metier. The bedroom is super clean, comfortable, warm and silent. Her breakfast is varied and tasty. Mary can book tours and helps you get located. From Killarney you can do wonderful day trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a wonderful time in Killarney for St. Patrick's weekend. Mary & Eva were very welcoming, with lots of local recommendations/advice. Their home is very clean & comfortable and we had a large bedroom & bathroom. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts with a great choice. This B&B is ideally situated being a short stroll from the town centre with Muckross House and the Lakes of Killarney a short drive away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bohsdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Greeted by the friendly owner of the lovely bed and breakfast.
Very clean house and room. The bed was very comfy and bathroom was nice.
A five minute drive to town which has numerous pubs, restaurants, cafes, shops and night clubs.
Taxi cost 6 euro back to the B&B including a tip.
Lovely night sleep and had a gorgeous breakfast the next morning. We had the choice of a full Irish breakfast, scrambled eggs or home made pancakes.
This stay was reasonably priced and I would definitely recommend anybody to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uplands99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunn Court House
Dunn Court House
#60 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shraheen House
Shraheen House
#35 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robeen House
Robeen House
#13 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#41 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carranross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carranross House

Property: Carranross House
Address: Carranross House 65 Park Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carranross House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carranross House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing