We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guesthouse on our whole irland trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lake lodge Guesthouse and would advise it for 100 %. The rooms are very clean and arranged lovely. You enter the house and feel immediately like at home. The owners are so friendly! They recommended wonderful tours through the kilarney national parks to us and had a lot of other helpful hints. The breakfast was awesome - the best pudding ;) we liked it there so much, that we elongated our stay there! Thanks for all!
Sabrina and Steffen

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sesafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

great guest house, very warm welcome. denis and marie make u feel more then welcome and are very down to earth and easy going . breakfast is the best you will get anywhere. proper fresh food!! room was more then what you would expect with a Jacuzzi bath and all. will definitely be back again. thanks - the lads wit the red mini !!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Lake Lodge on our recent vacation to Ireland, and seeing the sights near Killarney. Hosts Dennis and Marie very welcoming, with Marie being informative and offering suggestions for the day's activities. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The Irish Breakfast in the morning very good, and Marie was accommodating to request. We would definitely stay at the Lodge again if ever in Killarney, and would recommend. The lodge is easy to find and near the Killarney National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in this guest house on Saturday night last, and it has made a lasting impression on me! We were unable to make the 6pm check-in deadline and the owners kindly allowed us to check-in at 8pm after I telephoned them explaining our delay. They were so so welcoming. We were given a choice of room, both were beautiful. The owners were so friendly I could have chatted to them forever! I would really recommend a stay here, they are so accommodating. Prices very reasonable too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Lake Lodge….in a word: home! For a month, that is. Our "slow travels" brought us to Killarney for the month of October. When our apartment accommodations didn't work out and we needed to find long-term lodging in a pinch, owners Marie and Dennis quickly accommodated us and made us feel like their extended family. Upon arriving in their lobby seeking a room (admittedly, a bit stressed) their friendly, good-natured ways put us at ease and within a few hours, we were happily settled in our bright, lovely room. There are so many wonderful things to say about Lake Lodge, where do we begin? The location on Muckross Road is ideally situated between Killarney National Park and the town center (pubs, restaurants, retail stores). Our only mode of transportation all month was our feet, and the location worked out perfectly. The property itself is beautiful, welcoming, extremely safe and absolutely pristine. Same goes for the room. Every detail is attended to, and it's obvious that Marie, Dennis and their staff have great pride in every nook and cranny of Lake Lodge. The cleanliness factor was off the charts! Our room was immaculate, from the sheets to the walls to the closets to every square inch of the bathroom. (Our moms would approve, haha!). The bed was very comfortable, the water was always wonderfully hot and we had fresh linens and soap daily. Being runners and avid walkers, we were always ready for breakfast at 8 am sharp, and Dennis and Marie kept us well fed. We enjoyed lingering over breakfast in their warm, beautiful dining room, which Marie keeps polished to a shine. We were also impressed with the assortment of juices, cereals, teas, coffee, fruits and hot offerings (full Irish all the way on down to eggs cooked to order, whatever makes guests feel at home). Our favorite part of Lake Lodge, though, was our hosts. Dennis and Marie showed us true Irish hospitality, always with a smile or a wink or a great recommendation, and we will always remember our special stay in Killarney thanks to them. We highly recommend Lake Lodge, and can't wait to stay again. Look no further, book today for an exceptional value and memorable Irish experience. Dennis and Marie, we sincerely thank you and wish you all the very best. You are a class act. May our paths cross again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraMikeMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Fine bed and breakfast just outside Killarney. It is a short walk into town and close to most attractions. It is owner run with Marie like a typical irish mammy. The full irish breakfast was nice with selections of breads, jams and fruit. The rooms are spotless and ours could have fit 3. The bed was comfortable and on suite is sound.

Would have no problem staying here again and have recommended it to friends. Don't change a thing!

Room Tip: book early in summer months as it gets busy, no harm to call ahead and book direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

i booked through booking.com. nice hotel we arrived early as we where driving the ring of kerry and Denis was kind to give us the room keys so we could take our time. the room was a little bit small but Marry did apologized for that , this was the last room available. it was fine the bed was comfortable. the breakfast was great and so delicious with many option. the house is close to the city center. 10 min by walk or 2 min drive. we enjoyed our stay Denis and Marry are so lovely thank you for that pleasant stay. i just suggest that they put a boiler and some teas and coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 143 in Killarney
463 reviews
1.4 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#16 of 143 in Killarney
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#38 of 143 in Killarney
150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#19 of 143 in Killarney
271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ashville House
Ashville House
#12 of 143 in Killarney
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £114 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Lodge Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lake Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing