We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a city getaway”
Review of The Gardens B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gardens B&B
Ranked #56 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a city getaway”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I had one of the best days of my life here: woke up in a calm, cozy room with a blue-sky, mountain view outside; grabbed an all-included Irish breakfast downstairs with the kind staff; took a <2 minute jog to get to the national park where you can see epic castle and mountain views; skyped with your friends over lunch b/c the connection actually works in the room (rare in Ireland); hired a bike for an afternoon ride along the Kerry trails to Muckross House and the gorgeous setting there; grabbed some local baked goods; then, watched the sun set over vantage point off the mission road jogging trails; then come back at dusk which is perfectly safe in killarney. So, overall, a comfortable, low-key hotel that's perfectly positioned for light outdoor activities.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is probably better than the 1st if you can swing it: doors open from the inside of the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaspard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    34
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
35
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here as a group for the rally of the lakes, and all I can say is that we will defiantly be back next year! The rooms were lovely and we lived the fact that our cars were in a good carpark. The service was brilliant, they offered us breakfast very early as we were heading to the rally stages very early. Also only a short walk into Killarney town. Can't wait for next year !!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kickn_it_sidwayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The location is fantastic - so close to the town centre and the National Park. Staff were helpful. The garden at the B&B is lovely and the breakfast quite nice and filling, however, we won't be staying again as the room was very musty and the bed felt damp. I think if the rooms were freshened up we would go back...a coat of paint, some new furnishings and an exhaust fan in the bathroom and this place would be wonderful. We were travelling with another couple and their room was exactly the same as ours.

Room Tip: we had rooms on the ground floor so maybe an upstairs one would be better.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zippyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

we had been booked to stay at Countess House down the road, but when we arrived we found a note saying that there had been an unexpected family emergency and we had been booked at the Gardens down the road. We were apprehensive at first, but then it turned out to be a really nice place. The road up to the property is charming and the parking lot is good sized. The room was nice enough. It was an older property, but I think that added to its charm. The breakfast room was very nice. High point was the warm and friendly employees. Low point was the wireless service. You had to go to the lobby to logon to your laptop and even then it was iffy! Oh, and bring your own loofa or washcloths - they dont provide washcloths here which we thought was weird!

Room Tip: Try for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch0671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We enjoyed or 2 nights we spent at The Gardens. The hospitality and food were great!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Myself and my friend spent a lovely, relaxing weekend in Killarney. We managed to find the Gardens B&B online and booked it for the three days we spent in Killarney. It is located approximately 2 minutes walk from the Town Centre and Killarney National Park. So, it is very accessible to the town itself, yet still has the feel of the countryside with its beautiful gardens. The rooms are clean and spacious and well worth the very reasonably price 35 euros per night which includes a very tasty full Irish breakfast. Excellent value. The staff are very friendly and always looking to assist you. The Husband and Wife owners are very nice, approachable people who were happy to assist us by providing information on local attractions. All in all, exceptional good value, great location, great breakfast and wonderful people. We would definitely recommend The Gardens B&B if you're intending a visit to Killarney. Enjoy. Michelle & Hayley 18/Aug/2010

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeycomb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2010

we viewed on the net and liked what we saw. when we arrived we were showed to our room which was on the ground floor the room smelt very musty no small window to leave open for ventilation no window in the bathroom poor lighting room in general needes to be updatd
breakfast basic.we asked for a change of room none available. we had booked for three nightsbut only stayed one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irish031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#6 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#34 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#32 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ros Villa B&B
Ros Villa B&B
#63 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens B&B

Property: The Gardens B&B
Address: The Gardens Countess Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardens B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Gardens B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing