We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B durinng the whole journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Valley Farmhouse
Grünstadt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B durinng the whole journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

we had a very pleasant stay at the River Valley Farmhouse. A marvelous view from the house, every morning the breakfast of our choice on the table and a heartily welcome from a kind Lady when we came back from our daily activities. if we ever come to Kilkenny again we would ask for a nother stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    12
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Absolutely loved our stay here, located in the most ideal setting with such friendly hosts.

Stunning place to stay! Lots to see and do in Kilarney and very central to everything. Extremely scenic views to wake up to every morning. Amazing stay.

Caroline and Deirdre

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazaline11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a wonderfully relaxing 3-day stay in this lovely home just outside Killarney. The rooms are spacious and half have a view across the valley. The O'Sullivans were hospitable and ever-present for anything we needed. The location is great for exploring the Ring of Kerry or Dingle. Breakfast was varied, fresh and filling. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, and 6 have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSPisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at River Valley Farmhouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would welcome your friends and family if they wish to stay in our B+B.
Thanking you,
Alice+Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We concluded our very recent trip to Ireland at the O'Sullivan's B & B. It was a fantastic, traditional, beautiful and very comfortable bed and breakfast. The views were majestic of Kilarney's countryside as their home is situated on a very private, but very accessible road. Ms. O'Sullivan often a varied breakfast menu which we thoroughly enjoyed. I got to partake in her "stir about" (i.e., porridge) that was delicious. Further, we had a great time chatting with her and her husband Pat. They provided a lot of information of places to see and where to eat for lunch and/or dinner. The room where we stayed was pristine, as was their entire home. We got a great feeling from these folks, even went to the same church they attend. This B & B is situated close enough to the center of Kilarney without, however, your sacrificing the privacy and peacefulness of a farmhouse set in a rural and very pretty setting. If you are looking for some old-fashioned and exemplary hospitality, we cannot recommend this place enough to you. Slainte. Jim and Michelle

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at River Valley Farmhouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Hello,
Thank you kindly for your generous review of our b+b. It is always a delight when our guests feel comfortable and relaxed in our home. There will be plenty 'stir about' on your next visit.
Thank you,
Alice+Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Though only stopping for one night on a whistlestop tour of a week in Ireland, Alice made us very welcome. Accommodation clean and comfortable. Views to die for and a superb breakfast.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cartrefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed in this little gem of a B&B while touring around Kerry, it was a fantastic find. Alice made us so welcome and at home. An Irish breakfast to remember - delicious and it set us up for a day of sightseeing. Rooms were really comfortable and clean, great to have coffee and tea facilities after a long day of exploring the beautiful countryside. Could not wish for a nicer place to stay while in Killarney. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairelouisemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at Alice's 3 nights when visiting Kerry and very much appreciated it's location close to Dingle peninsula and Ring of Kerry.
Alice was a very welcoming and warm hostess, the room was spacious and comfortable with tea/coffee facilities, and the Irish breakfasts were delicious and fresh.
We felt so at home, after three days, leaving Alice's, was like leaving a Grand Ma's house, and whenever we go again to Killarney we'll stay at River Valley Farmhouse

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
4.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
8.3 mi away
Salmon Leap Farm
Salmon Leap Farm
#5 of 47 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Valley Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley Farmhouse

Property: River Valley Farmhouse
Address: Minish, Cork Rd, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Valley Farmhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Valley Farmhouse is a 200 year old farmhouse with modern facilities just 5km from Killarney town. "Le Guide Routard" recommended. Warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Valley Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing