We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Anthony's Lodge B&B
Ranked #72 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Although the GPS could only take us to the general vicinity, reading signs helped us find our way to this centrally located B&B. it is on the main road just outside the city centre. True Irish hospitality. The owners were very helpful with local attractions and directions and the breakfast was great. We were two friends traveling together and we lucked out with the back bungalow suite, it had two separate bedrooms and a full living room, kitchenette/ diner. It might have once been a garage that was subdivided and converted but as it was so large I think it was probably a rear bungalow. Make sure you see Muckross House, Ross Castle, and the falls nearby. A great starting off point for the ring of Kerry and the Dingle peninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Everything at St Anthony's Lodge was wonderful. Our hostess,although somewhat under the weather, baked her trademark fruit scones which are part of her breakfast menu.The scones we could not eat were packed for us for later. The accommodations were lovely with a real feeling of 'home' and the food was delicious. It was also an easy walk into Killarney which was nice after a day of travelling.

Room Tip: Although it is situated on a main road we did not hear any traffic noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed at the St. Anthony`s Lodge in August 2013. Had the most amazing time ever. The rooms have all the amenities a person could need for resting sleep and to relax, so comfortable and spacious. Met with Marie the owner of the house who is so friendly and nice and willing to help if you need anything. The breakfast was also really delicious and very nice waited at table.
I would recommend this house, close to Killarney town and the National Park a short walk away. Thank you Marie and hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nata_Dima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here and enjoyed our visit so much. The location is a short distance from the center. The room was nice but a little small. Mary was at all times pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was very good. Would return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ylva b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked months in advance to be sure we had accommodation on arrival at Killarney. We are a middle aged Australian couple on a motorcycle tour around the UK and Ireland. Upon arrival at the B&B Mary berated us for being late and told us she thought we weren't coming. She then showed us up the very steep and narrow staircase to a twin room. When querying our booking for a double she insisted that we had booked a twin. She also complained about the agency we booked through, Booking.com. Whilst unpacking the motorcycles downstairs, two young men arrived to find their booked twin had been given to us. I spent time debating the router and WIFI situation with Mary's son before he finally acknowledged the problem wasn't my phone and by then it was well after 11pm. We also had to pretend to not hear Mary and her son fighting in their private residence. All these issues were disappointing and make for a travel story but upon jumping under a cold shower because the hot water is turned off overnight, well lets say the visit became a nightmare. Even at 4am there was still no hot water and no host to address the issue! Upon leaving in the morning i expressed pur disappointment and Mary refunded half the room rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MotorcyclingRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were greeted at the door by Mary our hostess. A lovely lady with a twinkle in her eye and though we were a little early, assured us it was not a challenge and showed us up a very narrow staircase to our room. The room was charming, but more then a bit "snug". Never had to climb into a bed from the bottom before! Did make it a little difficult if you had to get up in the night. The "ensuite" was nice and clean but for us ladies it was not set up to put on make up, as the light over the sink did not work. We stayed 2 nights....the breakfast was awesome. The scones to die for! Great job, Mary. She obviously takes great care in her decor of her charming cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

They say the hostess makes the best indicator of how well your stay is. With that said, my daughter and I got a real kick from meeting Mary. She has just the right amount of grit, attitude, courtesy and humor. What a treat it was to meet her. She is a non-nonsense, take no prisoners type of personality. The house is situated about 1.5-2 miles from Killarney itself. She advised walking, I would not. This B&B is on the main drag, easy to find, and across the street is a Catholic Church in case you want to attend services. Only think lacking is wash cloths for our faces, which we found strange to be true of all the B&B's in Ireland - hmm? Mary had a man help do breakfast, her son perhaps? Her dining room is tiny and tightly fitted, but breakfast was good, especially her scones - they are to die for! We liked staying here and will be remembering Mary for her sharp wit and grace for a long time!

Room Tip: Be careful of the very steep and extremely narrow stair case to get up to the rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooffwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,361 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
606 reviews
0.7 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Anthony's Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Anthony's Lodge B&B

Address: Saint Anthony's Lodge Park Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £86 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Anthony's Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Anthony's Lodge Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Killarney is a charming, family run B&B which offers true Irish Hospitality in Killarney, Ireland's most popular tourist destination in Ireland A Modern Detached B&B Killarney on the main Cork Road with four en suite rooms all offering TV., tea/coffee and hair drying facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your St. Anthony's Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing