We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great, comfortable stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
The Living Room in the Coach House The Living Room in the Coach House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The Priory Coach House and Courtyard
The Living Room in the Coach House
The Living Room in the Coach House
The Living Room in the Coach House
View of the Stairs in the Coach House
The Kitchen in the Coach House
Stairs in the Coach House
Bedroom in the Coach House
Bedroom No. 2 in the Coach House
Bathroom in the Coach House
Coach House Sign
Coach House
View from Aghadoe of the Lakes
Derrynane on the Ring of Kerry - 90 minute drive
Ballaghasheen Pass 25 miles away
Half way up Torc Mountain (10 Minute Drive Away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kristin L
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Priory -- on very short notice -- in February 2013. Given how close it was to our arrival date, we didn't know what to expect. But we were so pleased. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. The living room with the peet fireplace was warm and comforting (since we stayed during February). We ate breakfast every day at the house and dinner one night. All the tools you'd need were there. The bedrooms and bathrooms were both super comfortable. Considering how old the property is, the renovations on the place were truely spectacular. Couldn't recommend it more highly.
(Oh, and the location was great. We stayed 4 nights and used it as the base of our operation to visit Limerick, Ardfert, Ring of Kerry and Cork .... especially in the winter it isn't crowded in the least there -- despite what Rick Steves may have to say.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The historical charm.
Liked least: Nothing. It was great.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacMc61
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just gorgeous..”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

I found this place by accident on the Net and I'm so glad I did. it was just gorgeous in so many ways. We stayed in Teach Mor. The stonework was beautiful and everything had been thought about and provided for, down to bedside reading lights. Tim gave us some tips on local entertainment which we thoroughly enjoyed and also some travel tips which proved very valuable.My own gripe is ....that we couldn't stay longer!! However, Tim issued me a challenge and I have to come back within a certain time and i hope to meet that challenge and stay for at least a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The buildings in which the accomodation was provided. Location great too.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
1 review
“Exceptional stay at the Priory”
Reviewed 13 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This is a special place to stay with so much character and the host, Tim, is truly wonderful. He organized a musician to come and entertain the friends and families staying in his cottages; we enjoyed lively music by the fire with new friends - it was fabulous! The cottages and property are so lovely; all modern amenities with a cozy historical setting. Great location if you have a car; but even if you don't, taxi is 5 euro to town (or 15 minute walk) for grocery shopping and 10 minute walk to the abbey. Renting a bike was also a great idea to see the beautiful area. This is a perfect base to explore the area and you can really settle in to the cottage as your home. They had a high chair for our little boy and a playground on site; a magical place for the little ones to explore. Overall, a memorable stay and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cozy fire and Tim's unexpected yummy pancakes
Liked least: nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila H
Picton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodations”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed for two weeks with friends in the two bedroom cottage.
Everything was perfect:Tim and Bernedette, our hosts, everything we could possibly want in the cottage, the beautiful grounds, and many extra. Our stay will be a trip to remember fondly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how our host and hostess made us feel so welcomed and at home
Liked least: nothing to dislike, above and beyond amazing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAlexan...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Stop Looking! The Priory is PERFECT”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My family of 12 stayed at the Main House of The Priory in August 2012. Tim and Bernadette have transformed these buildings and grounds perfectly - with wonderful attention to detail and character. The main house is not just a house...it's a home. We felt so welcome and comfy. From Bernadette's homemade scones, to a welcome dinner that Tim's brother made for us our first night, to their children and dogs who blended in perfectly with our crew, we were completely at ease and comfortable. The home is wonderfully situated a short walk from 3 pubs, and an easy walk or drive to Muckross House and various trails and sights around town. Each morning Tim would greet us, listen to our plans, and give us even better suggestions to perfect our day. He would arrange drivers, boatmen and solo hikes. And his cheery "top o'the mornin' to ya" made our trip the quintessential Irish family gathering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tim, bernadette, the kids, the dogs, the house, the location
Liked least: washer and dryer took too much time
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraniumT...
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a perfect vacation in every way.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed two weeks at The Priory in "An Tigan",a one bedroom cottage. It has a fully equipped kitchen and very comfortable living room and bedroom. First Class accommodation.
It was off the main street which made it very quiet and private. The location is perfect for walking to town or the National Park. We rented bicycles and toured the park for 7 days. Just beautiful. (Tim's friend rented the bicycles to us at a reasonable rate.)
Tim and Bernadette and their family are very helpful with suggestions and even came to the door one morning with homemade scones for breakfast. Tim was working everyday at planting flowers so I am sure by now it is like a botanical garden. Many of our friends are hoping to visit the same place. It is a beautiful part of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful kitchen since we like to cook meals at home some of the time.
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superkChe...
cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything Needed for a Great Trip”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Myself, my husband and our two kids (ages 6 and 8) stayed at the Priory Killarney (in hte Teach Mor cottage) in April for one week and it was marvelous! I have since advised our friends to look no further - this place has it all. Amazing location - perfectly situated if you want to tour the Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula, Gap of Dunloe...and very close to downtown Killarney. Amazing hosts - Tim and Bernadette were wonderful and warm and always available to answer any questions. Our cottage was impeccable, clean and very roomy and comfortable. We enjoyed coming home to our cottage and relaxing in front of the fireplace. I will recommend this place to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing