We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suite time had by all!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Hi all, Stayed here at the weekend with my wife and daughter 18 and two sons 4 and 19 months.Booked a superior suite as our daughter had spent the whole season working and no weekend off since May,and we decided to treat her (and us). Concerned at first about bringing young lively rogueish little boys to a 5 star for various reasons. Tolerance,food and facilities etc, however from the of the receptionist and concierge where very friendly and helpful to us all and talked football with 4 year old. The suite was lovely,clean,comfortable and on the top floor with a nice touch of fresh brown soda bread cheese ham tomato and onion in a fridge well stocked with water fresh orange juice and yoghurt for the boys.Dinner on Saturday night was very nice in a lovely dining room and very attentive staff. Oysters and dover sole on the bone with a nicely chilled Sancerre for me, Venison and Kerry beef with a rioja for daughter and wife. Little boys well looked after with soup and pizza,lovely atmosphere in the dining room and super Christmas trees dotted throughout the ground floor.Requesting the cheese plate tea/coffe and petit fours to be delivered to our room 1/2 an hour after dinner was no problem and arrived bang on time. Lovely breakfast next morning in the same room with lots of fresh and tasty selection,and for me a Hotel that actually does have a fish of the day for breakfast and it changed!, seabass on Sunday morning and Hake on monday morning, to many places advertise it but always say its off the menu or out of stock. The leisure area is superb with a pool so crystal clear and temperature just right,the jacuuzi lovely also but do get the sauna fixed and look at the spray shower pressure beside the plunge pool. Really enjoyed our stay at the Park,good porter to be drank in the bar on Sunday afternoon where Kerry manager Jack O Connor was relaxing. A lovely hotel with friendly staff,great food,facilities and gorgeous rooms well worth the extra cost. Thanks folks, see you in January 2012.

Room Tip: go for the suites and feck the begrudgers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niall41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH-Kerry, Director of Sales at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Dear Nial41,
We are delighted that your family break was as you hoped, and we thank you so much for the very kind words you have shared on this site.
We are delighted to welcome families to the hotel, and offer family programmes at poignant times during the year, usually centreing around the Children's Holidays - midweek, Easter, Christmas, Summer.
We'll look forward to welcoming you and your troop back again next month.
With warm regards for the festive season
Niamh Burns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here for 1 night during our trip around Ireland on our honeymoon and thought thte hotel was very nice. Not amazing per se, but certainly very nice. Perhaps a very solid 4 or 4.5 star, but definitely not a 5-star hotel. I booked this via American Express Platinum's Fine Hotels and Resorts program and was surprised when I arrived at the hotel.

The service is what stood out. Clodaugh at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was average, large, but filled with random pieces of furniture. I was never really able to get that comfortable. Bathroom equipment was okay, but again, old. Location was fantastic, right in the heart of the city center and you can easily walk to various restaurants and shops in Killarney.

Overall, a very solid consideration for anyone traveling to Killarney.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNG1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I loved Killarney Park, the room was beautifully decorated, luxurious and spacious with a beautiful seating area with fireplace - what a treat. Food was fabulous and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and will definately return. The only negative I have about this hotel was the spa, it was very basic for a 5* hotel. Only water was offered in the relaxation area, no fresh fruit or herbal tea offered. The treatment wasn't personalised to my requirements or my skin type, it was expensive and I've experienced better spas for less. But as for the hotel, staff, bedrooms, restaurant, bar - most definately 5*.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

On our 25th Wedding anniversary, 4 years late, we stay at 4, 5 star hotels around Ireland and the Killarney Park Hotel was our favorite. What set it apart were the people who managed and worked at the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite (suggest you join Leading Hotels of The World), which had a gas fireplace. We especially enjoyed breakfast in the monring, seated before a wood burning fire. Teh evening expereince in the hotel pub was great as we relaxed with while dring our favorite pint of beer. Finally, the hotel owner greeted us twice and asked about our stay and yes, once saw us walking around town and went out of his way to say hello and ask us about our stay at his hotel. Will definitely go back again! Thank you all at the Killarney Park Hotel for making our anniversary especially special! By the way this was a golfing trip and we would stay here and venture out since the town is also a great place!

Room Tip: Suggest joining Leading Hotels of The World. $ 100 and sets you apart from the rest in all aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The best place on our golf tour. The service was outstanding and the beds and the rooms were so comfortable. Great location. Within walking distance to the darling city where you hear some of the best pub music in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for one night with our 21mth old daughter. From the moment you drive into the grounds you know there is something special about the place.
Unfortunately our little girl felt unwell on the first night so we had to check out early the next day - the staff were brilliant for everything that they done for us. They constantly checked to see how she was doing and when we had to leave early - they obliged in every way.
The bar food and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel itself is spotless - it was a pity we couldn't enjoy it more but we will go back again to sample the rest of the hotel.
One small fault is the television setup - this could do with upgrading to an interactive system (i.e. movies on demand, etc...)

Room Tip: no tip really - the room we got was spacious and comfartable - it was a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

From the moment we checked in at the Killarney Park to the moment we left... the service was second to none. What a breath of fresh air to book into a hotel with such welcoming staff, fantastic food, in a clean and comfortable space. A lovely atmosphere, where nothing was too much for the professional staff.... a wonderful stay was had by all.

Room Tip: If possible... book a suite.... it is definitely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,328 reviews
3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,609 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 X3VW, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £167 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing