We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel brings new meaning to personal attention. Everyone - from housekeeping to front desk to restaurant staff - is attentive and friendly. The food was great, the bar was fun, our events were excellent, the hot tubs were wonderful. I just can't say enough good about this place. The rooms were spacious with king sized beds and a roomy area for relaxing. The gardens out back that we looked down on were a delight. The location can't be beat for sightseeing, shopping, and eating. And I have never seen such a clean bathroom in a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimima24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Park Hotel, we really appreciate the feedback we get from our guests.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and that our service and attention to detail has impressed you. For a town centre hotel, having as much garden space as we do is a lovely feature of the hotel and offers guests a somewhat removed feeling from the town centre location.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome you here to The Killarney Park Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    135
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
307
643
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our first time to stay in this hotel and the experience was 5 stars all the way. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so we were brought to the library for tea while we waited. The staff we met when we arrived on Sunday 27th October were really friendly and accommodating, we had our little 21 month old with us and they were great with her. Our room was beautiful when we got there; we were staying in a junior suite which was a nice treat. The Hotel has a really nice bar that does wonderful food and the bar itself is nice a cosy and relaxed with really friendly staff also.

The breakfast layout each morning had wonderful selections and having stayed in 5 star hotels in the past the Killarney Park are miles ahead in their presentation and different breakfast options. The hot food is freshly cooked to order.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the Monday night and we were really impressed by the food that was served to us. We both had the chateaubriand which was cooked to perfection and served to us by friendly waiting staff.

The pool area was really nice also and the outdoor hot tub was a nice surprise.
Overall we were extremely impressed with this hotel and we are looking forward to our return visit. The hotel is so central and there was no need for taxis to bring us in and out of town.
I really don't like to highlight anything bad about this hotel but there was just one thing that I feel could be improved. The restaurant manager that was on when we had dinner on the 28th October did not come across as being very friendly, we had our Daughter with us and he came over to seat us, he did not strike up conversation with us, he came over to us twice to see if we were ready to order but my wife was trying to settle our child first so we weren't ready, he didn't come back a third time and we got a lovely waitress who was patient and also very informative about the menu. The manager came back to clear the table and I tried to strike up conversation again but got no were, we felt we weren't good enough for him to have a conversation. Having said this I don't want one person to take away from our overall wonderful experience.

The real difference that the Killarney Park has over other 5 star hotels we have stayed in is simple, the staff with the exception of the restaurant manager are exceptional, they are the reason why we enjoyed our stay so much, the staff in all areas of the hotel were so pleasant to us at all times, Your staff are the key to your success to please don't let standards slip.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Park Hotel, we really appreciate all guest feedback that we receive.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and to hear that you felt very welcomed. Travelling with children can sometimes be a challenge and we always strive to help families and make them feel as relaxed as possible here at the hotel. While it is pleasing to read your positive comments, it is with great concern that I have learned management in the restaurant did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way. I would also like to assure you that we will take this feedback on board as an opportunity for our improvement.

We have a great team of staff here at the hotel and I am delighted that they have impressed you. Be assured that your comments will certainly be met with appreciation from them.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome your family back here to The Killarney Park Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Niamh O’Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

This was our favorite hotel on our tour of Ireland! When we arrived, my husband asked for dinner recommendations since it was our anniversary and they upgraded us to a bigger suite(so sweet)! It was probably the nicest room we have ever stayed in! We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent! The staff was helpful, and super friendly. Also, It is within walking distance to everything in town. If you stay in Killarney, you should stay here!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Park Hotel, we really appreciate all guest feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killarney and more importantly that your enjoyed our hotel. I am happy to hear that you loved your room also and they made your anniversary a little more special.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back here at The Killarney Park Hotel in the near future. Killarney has a lot to offer to its guests and hopefully you will come back for more exploring.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had another great stay at the killarney Park this weekend. We were lucky to be upgraded to one of the contemporary suites. Loved the tv in the bathroom, and the pop up tv at the end of the bed. We lounged in front of the gas fire in the sitting area, reading the Sunday papers after a 7km walk around the National Park, which is just across the road. Had a great sleep despite the stormy weather. The room was so well insulated that the wind just lulled us to sleep. The attention to detail from all the staff is amazing and I cannot emphasise enough how helpful and friendly they are, especially Aine, who met us on arrival and showed us up to our room, and also Hugh. We soaked in the hot tub and enjoyed the sauna too in the leisure centre and felt so relaxed afterwards. Would love to stay long enough to work my way through the choices for breakfast. I loved the omelette, but must try the steak and eggs and French toast next time. Every item served is so fresh, from the wide range of dried and fresh fruit, the delicious freshly squeezed OJ, to the pastries, breads, scones, etc. We were so full after breakfast that we didn't have the full afternoon tea experience but I can recommend the carrot cake and scones , which we ate in the drawing room. The waitress asked us did we want to change our order as the scones would take 10 minutes to bake. Thankfully we didn't change our order as the scones were perfect. The evening meal was also very tasty. The hotel has a mix of gas and open fires with plenty of sofas dotted around. We parked up the car on Saturday and didn't drive again until we left to come home. The hotel is so central to everything in the town that you can walk everywhere and still so quiet that you feel you are in the countryside. We enjoyed the lady pianist who played in the bar on Saturday night and also the male pianist in the dining room. We felt as if we were treasured friends and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilfool1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate every review that we receive here for our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and thank you for your lovely review! Our breakfast here in the hotel is beautiful and is something that we pride ourselves on. I am delighted that our hotel served its purpose in helping you relax and that you got a chance to explore the nearby Killarney National Park.

We hope to welcome you back here at The Killarney Park Hotel soon where you can sample the food that you missed on this visit. Aine and Hugh will appreciate your kind words.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Last holiday before my wife gives birth in December. Was upgraded to a very comfortable suite with seating area and cosy fire. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel retains an old fashioned feel but has all the modern touches you would expect. A good location close to the town restaurants and bars. Handy for the national park and Ring of Kerry. The Ross sister hotel has a funky bar and restaurant which we used. Killarney is a very beautiful part of the world and even in October the rain held off mostly, with a few sunny days! Great stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

With all but two stops done, the Park in beautiful downtown Killarney tops the list. After a warm greeting by the manager, we went to our spotlessly clean and spacious room, warmly decorated and ready for a rest. When dinner time came, we found a gracious, richly decorated dining room served by a prompt and helpful staff. An easily manageable and hot shower, directions for pub music down the street and an ample dinner set the stage for a solid night's sleep. The AM breakfast when beyond the beyond with options for Irish, American or whatever you wanted meal.
Like the phyisical plant and the service, the breakvast too was tops for the tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Travelling with another couple we spent two nights at the Killarney Park Hotel in September. Killarney is a great town for walking and enjoying its many attractions. The area has fine parks and historic sites. Great bar area for drinks before dinner. Restaurant is first-rate for both food and service. Though on the expensive side, overall cost of a stay is a bit lower than other similar venues and the vale is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,509 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Property: The Killarney Park Hotel
Address: | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing